We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW, Thanks Flory for your super service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Jamelah Beach Guest House
Ranked #16 of 49 Mahe Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nuremberg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“WOW, Thanks Flory for your super service”
Reviewed 27 December 2012

After I had broken my leg on La Digue, I had to go to the hospital on Mahe. To get on the condor flight I had to get a certificate from the airline which said: fit for fly. The attest, I got from the doctor who did the x-ray was not enough.
So Flory, the managerlady took over and made phonecalls with the right persons for almost 2 hours and finally drove me to the hospital again for the final doctors signing.

By the way Florys husband made a very tasty dinner ending with the best passionfruit cake I have ever had.

I saw only 2 relaxed dogs, which dont disturb at all.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 557Peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    34
    10
    3
    6
See reviews for
27
54
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
224 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 554 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Jamelah compound consists of an apartment building and a house with several rooms en suite. Located on the water. Driving south from the airport on the east side of Mahe, there are signs for many such set-ups -- a plethora of places to suit every budget, style and taste. This property is decidedly downmarket, but not without potential if ownership is motivated to upgrade which they appear to be on the verge of doing. But, for 50 euros, single rooms in the house are ok. Spacious, with view of the water, balcony, good AC, TV and internet. Bathroom though small, especially shower. Traffic noise, curtains let in the early light (eastern exposure) compromise a good sleep as do the incredibly uncomfortable and low quality pure polyester bed linen. Breakfast is a few pieces of sliced bread and your choice of warm beverage -- barest minimum. Management (Italian?) seems new to the business, interested in guest comfort and is proactive especially in regard to accomodating families and offering tours, rentals and services. (Their restaurant recommendation specialized in french fries, pizza, and family fun environment -- avoid unless this is what you're after.) While there is a beach on this property it is a wading type environment, and is fed by a bordering stream where the rocks were covered with a greenisn slime substance. But other beaches close by, with public transport right out front. If arriving after dark, your reservation must be pre-arranged. They turn in early here, and the dogs are turned out.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paubranco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We have chosen Jamelah Apartments for our 2 weeks stay in November 2012. We were travelling with 20 month baby. Everything, starting from e.mail correspondence with the hosts prior to our arrival, together with welcoming us, our stay throughout, up until the last day when we were allowed to stay until evening (late flight) was GREAT! The host (Flory) is helpful and charming and you can be sure that she and her staff will look after you with the smile!
In the price you'll get a good size apartment, with larger than average bathroom, fully equipped kitchen, some sitting area, satelite-tv, comfortable bed, a cot (if you are with the baby), air-con, and a balcony with peaceful view on palm trees, sand and sea..
We got 'Apartment no 2' on the top floor, in the dwelling closer to the sea, and in our opinion, the location of this apartment is the best over there!
From Jamelah you can travel everywhere easily (best to rent a car) and it takes minutes to reach the best beaches in Mahe, local shops or the capital city.
If you are looking for independant accomodation, would rather avoid crowds and 'posh' company of '5* resort' people, enjoy preparing your own meals, feel safe and very comfortable just like 'at home' - then these apartments are perfect for you! We sinceraly recommend !

Room Tip: Second dwelling (closer to the sea), definately top floor !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sebastian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

It was really amazing vacation. We stayed at Jamelah Apartments for three weeks in August, 2012. It is a windy season however almost the whole vacation was sunny. The hotel is situated in the district Anse Aux Pins. In August the ocean in this region is not deep because of the riff and it is not very comfortable for swiming or snorkeling. However maximum it takes about half an hour to reach any beach of Mahe island by bus or even less if travel by car. It should be noted that shallow ocean has its own advantages. In the night you can walk away from the coast and see all the stars in the sky above your head. I think in its own way it is very romantic.

The environment of the apartments is very nice, the staff is very friendly, the manager Flory does her best to make your vacation easier. Particularly, she lent a snorkeling equipment for my wife, advised us the boatman who makes cheap excursions to the islands, bought us cheap tickets to Praslin and La Digue, helped us to buy frozen fish and recieve permission for the fresh one to take it to our place, advised us how to achieve places of interest, good beaches, cafes, discotheques, cheap taxi drivers and so on. She is very good in her business and her help is invaluable for us.

The water is a problem on Seychelles and there are days when there are no water at all in some places. I should say that in Jamelah Apartments there was no such a problem - we cooked and took a shower whenever we wanted to.

Once more - the environment is very friendly and relaxing - hotel is not big and you can get acquainted with all the neighbours - the garden is very nice - there are two dogs and four turtles who are very friendly too.

Concluding my review i have to say that Seychelles is a real Paradise and small hotel as Jamelah Apartments is the best choice for calm and not expensive vacation.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alexey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

I have spent a month at jamelah appartment I have been going there for the last 5 years I will not change for a big hotel its practical to travel by bus or rent a car it's not far from town or any beaches it's well situated the owner is very nice she speaks french and English fluently.

You can ask her for any informations she is willing to do anything friendly

Room Tip: By the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Benjamin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

When we arrived there were only an impolite cleaning lady who just showed us the room. She did not even say hello to us. The room was very nice including aircon, balcony and a fully equiped kitchen. The fridgerator was big enough. Jamelah is located on the beach that is not very good for swimming.

The Anse Aux Pins area including the whole southern area of the Mahe is like "dead". Lots of hotels and restaurants are closed over 10 years ago and they still appear in the maps. Car rental is highly recommended because Mahe and distances are big. The hostess Jessica can arrange a cheap car rental. Streering wheel is on the right side so it's a bit difficult at the start but i got used to it in a day.

The breakfast was a disappointment including only coffee and bread. We bought fruits and yoghurt to complete the breakfast. We recommend to buy breakfast groceries on the market. Nearest little market is next to the street.

The garden is unclean. Five dogs were running free, so if you are afraid of dogs or have a little children, this is not for you. There are also three giant turtles that are living in dirt. The fence was also broken so they were also walking free. We felt sorry for them and gave the some fruit skin.

The Mahe was all in all a bit disappointment compared to Praslin and La Digue.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jani K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mahe Island hotels
9.0 mi away
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles
9.0 mi away
Berjaya Beau Vallon Bay Resort & Casino - Seychelles
5.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Seychelles Allamanda Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
AVANI Seychelles Barbarons Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Roussette
Hotel La Roussette
#5 of 49 in Mahe Island
153 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Triskell
Le Triskell
#2 of 8 in Victoria
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jamelah Beach Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jamelah Beach Guest House

Property: Jamelah Beach Guest House
Address: Au Cap | Anse Aux Pins, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Region: Seychelles > Mahe Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Mahe Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jamelah Beach Guest house and Apartments is situated on Mahé island, less than 10 minutes drive from the International Airport and about 25 minutes drive to the town centre, Victoria.The guest house is built on a private property, with white sandy beach directly by the sea. Located on the east coast we benefit from wonderful sunrise and the moonrise .Each apartment is self-catering and has an open plan layout with double bed with bathroom. Their is a kitchenette and sitting area. The apartments are fully air conditioned with individual private balcony with sea view. We also have giant tortoises on the property as our large slow pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jamelah Beach Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jamelah Apartments Hotel Mahe Island
Jamelah Beach Guest House Seychelles/Mahe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing