We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place on the beach”
Review of Clef des Iles

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Clef des Iles
Ranked #17 of 35 Hotels in Mahe Island
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Great place on the beach”
Reviewed 2 June 2012

I looked for beach chalets with two bedrooms for our trip to Seychelles and stayed in 5 different places. Proximity of a good beach was a priority as well as not having to cook dinner ourselves.

Our first stay was at Clef des Iles. It has a wonderful location right on the beach at Beau Vallon. The building is new and nice. All appartments are sea-facing. They also provide airport transportation by request.

As for the bedrooms, the master bedroom is really nice with a wonderful view to the sea. It has a balcony but there is no furniture (I would have liked a couple of chairs). The second bedroom is clearly for children. It is okay for one adult (single bed) but definitely not as nice as the master bedroom.

There are two small toilets, both downstairs and upstairs. Nice batroom is downstairs. The bedrooms are upstairs, as well as a living area with tv.

Fruit and juice are provided daily. There was a also a starter package for breakfast enough for two mornings for two adults. They also do the cleaning daily (including dishes)(not so everywhere we stayed).

Baobab pizzeria is in the same building. Good pizza for very cheap prices. It gets crowded after sunset so one must hurry. And the service is not always very friendly but still, the location is unbeatable on the beach and food is good and cheap.

We really liked the place. The only negative thing is that it gets very hot upstairs where the bedrooms are and we had trouble sleeping. There is no air-con (there is a fan though but in this heat it doesn't really help and makes the room "windy" to my taste). Adding air-con would be great.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kauris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    28
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
57
66
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

This was our choice for the last two nights in Mahe. If you ever dreamed of a flat with the sea RIGHT AT YOUR DOORSTEP, this is the place for you! When the ebb is high, the sea actually reaches the gallery. The Beau Vallon Beach is the busiest in Mahe, and the most popular one. Two kilometers of white sand, restaurants, watersports. There is no snorkel there, but it is located by just a Diving Agency. Very close (walking distance) to convenience stores and groceries. Three Restaurants and pizza shops across the road. Cute restaurants and some shops within a 10 minute walk.
A HUGE two-storey flat, right ON the beach. Very well decorated. They provide a cellphone with preset numbers for service and deliveries. Very well equipped. They provide upon arrival, and replenish daily, a fruit tray and things to cook your own breakfast. It is the true concept of a "seaside" “self catering”!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viajera-del-62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
612 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 903 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We spent Christmas and New Year 2011-2012 at La Clef des Iles: my husband, my mum and I. We had planned the trip for well over a year, and had wanted to surprise my mum with a dream holiday that she would never forget. We had a wonderful time and were not disappointed in any way. In spite of a slight hiccup at check-in where we were initially placed in the wrong villa and then moved (to a far nicer one - the best one actually, called 'L'Ilot'), everything went without a hitch. The owner-managers, Stéphane and Marquise, really go out of their way to help you with everything, and are lovely. As we wanted to stay at 'home' for New Years Eve and cook/relax with a meal (we love cooking), Stéphane drove us to a cash-and-carry where he shops, and where we got 25% off some wonderful French products such as fois-gras etc, as it's the cash-and-carry where hoteliers shop. Such kindness and thoughtfulness at every turn. We used the local bus services for the entire trip, except for hiring a car for one day at the very end, and I must say I have never felt so comfortable in my life as I did in Seychelles. The people accept you - as a tourist, you are not stared at, or made to feel 'different'. Mum and I were often up early and clearly the only 'foreigners' taking the buses in to town with all the local people going to work, and we just felt so comfortable. This can be a rare thing, even in your home city sometimes! So, all-in-all, I would advise anyone to stay at La Clef des Iles, unless you are someone who likes a 'resort' atmosphere. If you like a down-to-earth (yet modern and luxurious) home-away-from-home where you can be independent, cook for yourself and really lay back and relax, it's the place for you! Just don't tell ALL your friends - we want to keep this treasure hidden a little! ;-) ENJOY.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank tjh2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Words can not explain how perfect the location is. The douplex is soooo romantic and we got used to the hot nights. We listened to the sound of the waves and the exotic birds at night. In the daytime we snorkeled just on the right side of the house, by the rocks, and saw the most fascinating fish.

If we ever come back to the Seychelles this is were we will want to be!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrs N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puget Sound
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Great accommodations right on beautiful Bean Vallon beach. If can't enjoy yourself here then you just aren't trying! First step out the front door and you have sand between your toes. Large comfortable duplex units with kitchen, living room, dinning room, 2 bedrooms, 2 baths, TV room, and waves lulling you to sleep at night.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank compassNSEW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Located on the finest section of the long. lovely Beau Vallon Beach, Clef des Iles is a Swiss-managed slice of paradise. Our 2BR/1.5BA duplex was gorgeous, and allowed us to step right out onto the beach from the dining room. We were lulled to sleep at night by the sound of the waves (and occasionally awakened by the subwoofers of passing d-bags, who pause at the scenic spot to let everyone know that they are REALLY LOUD at 2am or so), and awakened by chirping tropical birds who perch on the 2nd floor balcony.

The duplexes are decorated in a lovely, understated style that is comfortable and perfectly suited to the laid-back atmosphere: neither fancy nor shabby, they achieve that elusive quality that might be called the Haute Beach Shack style. The owners, Marquise and Stephane, have also achieved the ideal balance between pampering guests and leaving them alone. In the first column, you have the daily maid service (a boon when you're tracking sand into the apartment and amass a pile of dishes on the sink and wet beach towels on the bathroom floor) and the morning delivery of a plate of fresh sliced local fruit; you can also avail yourself of a local masseuse who makes in-calls. In the second column, you have all day to do nothing or anything you want. There's a comfy couch in the living room, thoughtfully set up so you can recline while watching the beach scene: from the beautiful bodies (and occasional appalling budgie smuggler), to the fishing boats, and the colours of the sunset.

For amusement, try snorkeling or scuba diving in the local marine reserve (for this, I *highly* recommend Blue Sea Divers, the dive shop conveniently located next to Clef des Iles, with its staff of marine biology students and highly competent local divemasters), or visiting the giant tortoises at the Berjaya Hotel and Casino about 1km down the beach--while there, you can walk around the dismal property and thank your lucky stars that you picked Clef des Iles!

In the week we spent there, we were only bothered by three things:

1) The aforementioned nighttime noise from the street.

2) The lack of air conditioning. With temperatures in the high 30s (high 80s in Fahrenheit), and humidity that must have been about 80%, even late at night and first thing in the morning, the electric fans and sea breeze just didn't cut it. If you like heat and humidity, you'll love this. If, like me, you actually get heatstroke and hives from it, try to time your stay for the coolest season of the year--if there is one so near the Equator. We spent a few sleepless nights because it was simply too hot and muggy to get any rest. But we're Northerners, so your mileage may vary.

3) Monsieur Claude, the Clef des Iles go-to taxi driver, dispatched for airport transfers and other guest travel. To put it as delicately as possible, he is not a nice man and should be avoided if you wish to maintain the serene disposition that is otherwise inspired by a stay at Clef des Iles.


Overall, this place was so delightful that I would hesitate to review it, just because I would selfishly like to see it remain small, quiet and "undiscovered" by people other than me. But since it's extremely unlikely that I'll be fortunate to visit the Seychelles again in the next decade or so, I have nothing to lose by singing its praises, and the owners certainly deserve every kudo that comes their way.

Room Tip: There are only four duplexes, so I believe they're equivalent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Aurelia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 371 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

My wife, mother-in-law and I stayed here over New Year and we loved it! Not only is the country wonderful but being able to cook for yourself and sample all the local produce is an experience to repeat over and over again...

The houses are at the northern end of Beau Vallon and this is by far the best bit with amazing views, sea and sounds. The beds are comfortable, the bathroom is great and the kitchen does everything you want it to... Stephane and Marquise are genuinely nice and care about making sure everyone enjoys themselves and they will not hesitate to give you recommendations of where to go and, more importantly, where not to go!!

The bus stop to go to Victoria is just 30 seconds' walk away, Mike's store does all the besic needs (milk, sugar, great bread etc...) and is very reasonable too!! Pizzeria Baobab is fantastic and the beach is marvellous.

People say Beau Vallon gets busy but that is in comparison to other beaches on the island; because it is so long, it never feels crowded and the great thing is being able to set up the loungers right by the doorstep and get prime spot!!

As it is right by the sea and there is no stagnant water, there are practically no flies, mozzies etc.. which means you can enjoy cracking sunsets from the balcony of your bedroom. We have only just come back but we are checking dates for a return trip ASAP!!

A great base for these idyllic islands and great accommodation with your feet literally in the sea!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ManuelLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mahe Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles
1.1 mi away
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Berjaya Beau Vallon Bay Resort & Casino - Seychelles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove
1.6 mi away
Sunset Beach Hotel
Sunset Beach Hotel
#3 of 3 in Glacis
339 reviews
13.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Seychelles Allamanda Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clef des Iles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clef des Iles

Property: Clef des Iles
Address: Beau Vallon, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Region: Seychelles > Mahe Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 35 Hotels in Mahe Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Clef des Iles 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clef des Iles is composed of 4 duplexes located literally on the beach. Each duplex (around 120 m2 each) has two large attic bedrooms facing the majestuous Silhouette and North Island. The kitchen is fully equipped and internet is freely available through a wireless system. This ideal “on the beach home” is surrounded by charming restaurants and offers easy access to water sport facilities. The discrete Clef des Iles team takes care of daily cleaning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Priceline so you can book your Clef des Iles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clef Des Iles Hotel Mahe Island
Clef Des Iles Mahe Island
Clef Des Iles Seychelles/Mahe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing