We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Probably more fun in the rain” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vallee de Mai Nature Reserve

Vallee de Mai Nature Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of Seychelles' two UNESCO World Heritage Sites, this ancient forest is home to the wondrous Coco de Mer palm, which has the largest seed in the world, and many other birds, plants and reptiles, many of which are found nowhere else in the world. Visiting the Vallee de Mai is a step back in time and a unique experience.
East Sussex
Level Contributor
136 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Probably more fun in the rain”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Interesting trip though there isn't a great deal to see. The tour was already full so we had to make our on way around but that was OK. Our guide book advised going to the Valle de Mai in the rain to see more wild life and that was good advice and you actually don't get so wet under the canopy of trees.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank RandDtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,781 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    799
    589
    308
    61
    24
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Coco de Mer heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

What a special place, take a guide. Albert was brilliant and as he said if you don't take a guide, it is like watching TV without sound and he was so right. What interesting, fascinating trees. A prehistoric forest with some petrified trees, a real must do stop whilst on Praslin

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank GolferSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Unique couple of hours in a beautiful unspoilt landscape”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

We spent a couple of hours walking around the smallest national park in the world. It is a relatively easy walk around, although the paths can be quite steep and muddy, but then you're in a rainforest. The plants and palms are interesting, you can get a guided tour if you wish, but we preferred to walk around at our own pace.

There are three or four different circuits you can chose depending on how energetic you feel. There is a shelter around halfway, which although up a steep climb, rewards you with a fantastic view of the canopy and distant ocean. We sat quietly for 15 minutes or so, and had two birds come and perch right next to us. Lovely to be that close to nature.

All in all, a very nice few hours, easy'ish walking and if you're lucky and it's not too busy, you can enjoy the tranquility of the place without noise from other visitors.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank foxyfoxholes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
107 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

We did a day trip including a trip to Vallee de Mai and a visit to Anse Lazlo. Vallee de Mai is very interesting and worth the visit. Remember to take insect repellent though!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank AS-reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Back to nature”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

This is worth a visit the home of the famous rare coco de met palm trees. Walking around the site reminded me of Jurassic park. We really enjoyed ourselves looking up at the huge palms and other vegetation. The ideal place to visit if you've overdone the sun the day before as its very shaded. Take a sensible pair of shoes. I wore flip flops and struggled on some of the paths. Well worth a visit.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank ANG263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vallee de Mai Nature Reserve also viewed

Praslin Island, Seychelles
Praslin Island, Seychelles
 
Praslin Island, Seychelles
Praslin Island, Seychelles
 

Been to Vallee de Mai Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing