We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“your home away from home”
Review of Morgan State House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Morgan State House
Ranked #1 of 6 Albany B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“your home away from home”
Reviewed 8 March 2008

Everything about the Morgan State House's accommodations were wonderful and I definitely intend on staying there again on any return trips to Albany. My fellow traveler and I appreciated the "home-y" feel and the casual, friendly demeanor of the staff- They were exceedingly (genuinely!) hospitable and probably the friendliest (chattiest) I have ever encountered in my travels, ever. Upon your arrival they will provide you with a key to the establishment (along with your key to your room) and a phone number that you can call if you need anything after 5 when the staff goes home. FYI- the house key can be a little troublesome which can create problems when it's -2 degrees outside, snowing, and you're returning from a nice dinner but you can't get inside, let alone lock the door after you once you do get inside. When this happened to us we just called the number provided and a friendly member of the staff was there in 1 minute (literally) to assist us. Also (obviously) there isn't an elevator so I wouldn't suggest staying here if you have a problem with stairs.

The room was surprisingly spacious and the bed was extraordinarily comfortable (I believe the beds, plush mattresses, and their accompanying sheets are actually considered to be one of the main points for celebration in the establishment). For honesty's sake it is important to note that I think my companion and I were in the nicest "deluxe" room (the larger of the two rooms on the fourth floor with a HUGE bathtub and separate walk-in shower with a skylight) and from the brief glimpses I had of the other rooms they were considerably smaller than our accommodations were.

Breakfast in the morning leaves a little to be desired but was ideal for those that are more on-the-go. For the two days that we were there it consisted of coffee, orange juice, tea, fruit, boiled eggs, bagels, and English muffins. The kitchen has a refrigerator that is always full of these same items as well as few others that you can help yourself to throughout the day/night.

One last thing- the location is fantastic. Still, the cold weather meant that most of my sightseeing was done from the comfort of a taxi.

Personally, I prefer not to stay in huge hotels that lack originality or warmth and the Morgan State House reminds me of my own house- vintage, comfortable, and inviting.

  • Liked — The establishment, our room, the friendly demeanor of the staff.
  • Disliked — The house key
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank charlegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    85
    17
    11
    3
See reviews for
23
161
50
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
New Windsor, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2008

During our most recent stay at the Morgan State House, i actually proposed to my girlfriend and she said "yes." Our room (4B in the guest house) was absolutely amazing in every way. The room definately had a romantic feel, which helped the proposal for sure. From the large soaking tub to the amazing skylights and fireplace and of course the huge, comfortable bed, everything was perfect!
We had stayed in room 501 (next door in the Washington Park State House) last year as a little getaway and fell in love with the Morgan State House. This time was no different, just a chance for the two of us to get away for a night. Little did my girlfriend know that it would be the night i proposed to her. Earlier in the day we had in-room massages, which were so relaxing and definately recommended!
Our two stays at the State House have been absolutely incredible. The staff is always so pleasant and helpful and gave us great restaurant advise.
Because of our great experiences with the State House, my fiancee and i plan to stay there anytime we are visiting the Albany area. I would stay there over a hotel anyday, hands down.
From my experiences, i would highly recommend anyone to stay at the Morgan State House when staying in the Capitol region.

Michael S.
Westchester County, NY

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank BFD1054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upstate NY
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2008

I have stayed at the Morgan State House in Albany, New York (just off Washington Park) on several occassions and I simply love staying there.

This is not a "hotel"... but rather a B&B. The facilities and staff are all top-notch. On my most recent visit, the owner (Chuck) went out of his way to sort several "off-menu" requests and at times of the evening that I would not have expected someone to answer the call, much less respond.

Coffee and crullers in the morning... peaceful... centrally located (one block from Lark Street... the Albany art district that serves-up a gastronomical adventure), easy access...

One time, they even let me use their facility without charge so that I could change for a formal function (being a semi-regular probably helped here... but maybe not).

Simply outstanding...

  • Liked — Having tried many other accommodations in Albany, this is simply the best.
  • Disliked — Being a
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ParisJF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2008

Stayed at the Morgan State house in February 2008 for a few nights whilst I visited the city to take the bar exams.

Not only was the hotel one of the cheapest in the area considering the great demand for rooms at that time, it was absolutely exceptional.

The staff were very friendly and went out of their way to help us throughout our stay.

The room was well decorated and clean. The bed was very comfortable and the kitchenette provided all the equipement we needed to cook our lunches and dinners. All in all we were very impressed.

The breakfast layout was slightly different, but fantastic nonetheless. Each morning the food is laid out in the main kitchen on the ground floor, and guests are encouraged to come down and help themselves to the array of food available. A large table is provided, and also a REAL log fire, which all made the experience that much more comfortable, cosy and enjoyable.

The only points I would suggest for improvement is the fact that our bathroom in the bedroom did not have a scrubber to clean the toilet ourselves, and also the fact that guests always have to lock the main door behind them when leaving the main exit, can be sligthly frustrating. (An automatic closing/locking door should be installed.)

Essentially the Morgan State House was all we could ask for and more. It exceeded our expectations, and we would definitely visit it again. The staff were amazing, and so was the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Traveller0078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westchester, ny
1 review
Reviewed 20 February 2008

What a gem! A gorgous room, the most comfortable bed, relaxed but elegant. Beautiful view of the park through leaded windows. Walk to the best restaurants. A fantastic continental breakfast the next morning. A must if in the Albany area.

  • Liked — beautiful room
  • Disliked — parking a bit tough
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank samdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2008

I have stayed twice at the wonderful Morgan State House. It is comfortable and they are good with late arrivals, which is not always the case with B and Bs. There are some rooms with full kitchens. Great if you have business at the Capital or LOB - they are both a stone's throw away.

  • Liked — proximity to capitol
  • Disliked — some parts of the neighborhood did not feel safe after dark
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tsooz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the berkshires
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2008

A late weather-related need to stay overnight in Albany was the excuse for my second stay here, and it was just as terrific as the first time. The property is magnificent and just feels like you are at home in the lap of luxury being coddled. I view the Morgan Statehouse as the best inn in Albany.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank willy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
0.7 mi away
Renaissance Albany Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hilton Albany
Hilton Albany
#16 of 50 in Albany
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown
4.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morgan State House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morgan State House

Property: Morgan State House
Address: 393 State St, Albany, NY 12210-1201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Morgan State House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Morgan State House is an elegantly restored 19th century building with no elevator. It is located in the Washington Park Historic District and is close to many of Albany’s downtown attractions. Suites at the Historic Inn and apartments at the Washington Park State House have seating areas, work desks, and cable TV. All suites and some of the apartments are equipped with free wireless. The apartments have kitchenettes or full kitchens, as well as elevators. Breakfast is included at The Morgan State House every morning. We are a non-smoking inn and are unable to accommodate children under 16. Laundry service and dry cleaning are some of the many amenities the hotel provides. The New York State Capital, a National Historic Landmark, is one mile from the Morgan State House. Albany International Airport is a 20 minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Morgan State House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgan State House Hotel Albany
Morgan State Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing