We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing honeymoon destination”
Review of Morgan State House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Morgan State House
Ranked #1 of 6 Albany B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2013

For our honeymoon we had a busy schedule, first visiting the Big Apple for a few days being a complete tourist sightseeing and all, followed by a few days in a cabin in the woods with nothing near within a 45 minute drive and many long hikes, and closed with a couple of days at the Morgan State House to completely relax and chill before a long flight back to Europe.

We had booked the Artist Room at the top. Our jobs dropped when we first entered the room. Breathtakingly beautiful, the pictures online don't do it enough justice! Not to mention the super huge bed, divine soft blankets, snuggly pillow fort, rain shower and 2 person bathtub. It was the best possible and fitting end of our honeymoon for sure. Crazy enough, we spent most of our time chilling in the comfy chairs, watching cartoons on television, but it was in style! =)

Staff was incredibly attentive and helpful. Breakfast was similarly great and relaxed, being able to sniff around the kitchen to find and take whatever you wished for, including the biggest muffins I've ever seen and delicious cookies.

Now home, we are still talking about the amazing room. Certainly will come back again if we find ourselves in Albany. Absolutely recommended.

Room Tip: Room in winter with the wood burner on should be incredibly romantic.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (372)
There are newer reviews for Morgan State House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 372 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2013

I so enjoyed the stay at the Morgan State House. After a grueling day of meetings, it felt wonderful to kick back in a place that felt like home. It is in walking distance to many restaurants and bars and the people are very kind and accommodating. I would recommend it to anyone visiting the capital city on business or for pleasure.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alitelsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

From the first minute here, you know you're with friends. Everything is natural and easygoing. The rooms are big and very well equipped. Wonderful bed. The breakfast is in a homely communal kitchen with one big table, so you can chat easily with other guests. The area is historic and within easy reach of the rest of Albany.

Room Tip: The annexe at number 399 is just as good as the main house.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky0210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

The Morgan State House is a beautiful house. Excellent furnishings inside with an amazing back patio make staying here a joy! The staff is very charming and accommodating. I encourage anyone traveling to Albany to enjoy their amenities.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

This place is just simply amazing. If you are looking for a place that is quaint and quiet with a lot of character than this is the place to stay. The bed is extremely comfortable. I would stay here again anytime. If you are looking for a normal hotel atmosphere than this not the place. Everyone needs to realize that this is an old mansion turned into a bed and breakfast hence why I chose it. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I plan on staying there for every visit I take to Albany which is a few times a year.

It is also walking distance to many great restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

The website and our booking agency never mentioned the 4th floor walk-up to our room; other reviews regarding this room fail to mention that also, as did the owner when our confirmation email arrived. No help with bags and the young man who was on watch when we arrived was scruffy and shockingly unhelpful; he never told us that we could access the guest house directly through the alley/garage from the parking area behind the house-instead allowing us to haul our own bags around the block and back to the entrance. When we expressed a little dismay that our room was on the 4th floor (no lift), he said (quoting directly) "are you asking me to help you with your bags?" making it clear that he had no intention of helping. His job was to take our money, hand out keys and return to his nap.
The room was lovely and immaculate but we still would not stay here again as it seems pertinent to mention the stairs and lack of help (or at least for our arrival). A pitcher of ice water would seem a nice touch for the 4th floor occupants rather than requiring that they hoof it up and down 4 flights of stairs to the kitchen.
Also, for those who are less familiar with urban life, the location is only "great" if you are comfortable walking in dodgy urban areas. Just to highlight this fact, we became part of a couple's domestic dispute as we were trying to leave the gated parking area located behind the guesthouse (again, if the young man on arrival watch had bothered to let us through the garage behind the parking lot, we would have felt safer).
We would give this accomodation less stars if not for the 5 minute conversation we had the morning we left (after one night) with the woman who we assume is the owner of the establishment. She was friendly and helpful, but it is still her responsibility to let guests know IN ADVANCE that the room they have chosen is 4 flights up with no lift. Bed and Breakfasts are not for everyone and this one was definitely not for us.

Room Tip: Ask what floor your room is located-this establishment has no lift and (depending on whose on call f...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmasue1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Right in the centre of Albany and near to the restaurant street of Lark street and opposite Washington park we arrived on a very hot day that moved to torrential rains and storms. Even that could not spoil our stay very lovely rooms with great individual character. Sadly the equally great public spaces were a bit too hot or (the garden) off limits because of rain.
Breakfast was serve yourself so not really anything to write home about but perfectly adequate.
Would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Room 2F is amazing large light with a great bathroom, however for Bookworms Room 2B has its own smal...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfhmgusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.7 mi away
Renaissance Albany Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton Albany
Hilton Albany
#16 of 50 in Albany
1,143 reviews
4.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morgan State House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morgan State House

Address: 393 State St, Albany, NY 12210-1201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Albany
Price Range: £110 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Morgan State House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Morgan State House is an elegantly restored 19th century building with no elevator. It is located in the Washington Park Historic District and is close to many of Albany’s downtown attractions. Suites at the Historic Inn and apartments at the Washington Park State House have seating areas, work desks, and cable TV. All suites and some of the apartments are equipped with free wireless. The apartments have kitchenettes or full kitchens, as well as elevators. Breakfast is included at The Morgan State House every morning. We are a non-smoking inn and are unable to accommodate children under 16. Laundry service and dry cleaning are some of the many amenities the hotel provides. The New York State Capital, a National Historic Landmark, is one mile from the Morgan State House. Albany International Airport is a 20 minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Morgan State House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgan State House Hotel Albany
Morgan State Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing