We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, even better staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown/Medical Center
Ranked #19 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location, even better staff!”
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this location for one night. The rooms were pretty clean, the furniture was a bit worn down. We stopped here for ease of travel and it's convenient locations .

The staff, however, is the nicest staff I've ever come into contact with. It's safe to say I've spent several hundreds of days in a hotel and this by far is the best staff I've experienced. They went over and above friendly. I went to the front desk and asked for a certain drink they didn't have in stock and one of the employees ran to the store to get one for me! There wasn't one employee who didn't ask if I needed assistance of any kind. This staff....the entire staff needs a raise.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Adalis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynsee B, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown/Medical Center, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Adalis, it was our pleasure running to the store to get you a red bull! We will make sure next time we are stocked for you in our market! I know you were traveling through Albany, however we hope that if you are in the area in the future that we will be able to accommodate your stay! Hope you had a nice easy trip back to PA! Thank you very much for posting a review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    63
    17
    4
    6
See reviews for
48
35
18
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I stumbled into this hotel after being denied a room I had already paid for at another Hotel. I walked in at 5:30AM and was greeted by Erica, a most pleasant and effective person who made the check-in quick and painless. Being sensitive to my late arrival and long trip the staff did not bother me until I woke the next morning which was slightly after their stated check out time. I came downstairs and was met by a full staff which was more than attentive to our needs. Frequent trips to and from the nearby hospital were required and we couldn't have made it as easy if we had been locals. The shuttle was flexible and absolutely focused on making our stay convenient. It goes without saying that the rooms are new, clean and well appointed. Any obvious flaws were hidden from my view or simply didnt exist in the first place.

Besides the flawless operation of the entire establishment the Front desk personnel knew our names by sight and were sure to let us know upon our departure that we didn't have to be staying there to stop by and say hello. Thomas and too many other names to mention here made a difficult trip up to see an ill relative a bit more bearable. Thanks and See you again someday.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynsee B, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown/Medical Center, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
On behalf of the Marriott TownePlace Suites, it was such a pleasure having you stay at our property, as we wish it was under better circumstances. Our apologies for the unfortunate situation you encountered at the previous hotel you went to, however, we are delighted that we had the opportunity to accommodate your overnights providing you with service that alleviated outside stresses through this difficult time. Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on our hotel! Our staff will be ecstatic to hear your kind words regarding their service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordanstown
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 1 week in February with my son who was doing his Bar exam. Hotel is clean , rooms are spacious and well equipped with a kitchen and there is a complimentary breakfast. The staff in this hotel were amongst the friendliest I have met and make the stay worth while. The shuttle drivers, Leshawn Ryan and Angelo were so helpful and to have a complimentary shuttle is a huge bonus when you have no car. The reception staff were informative and the greeting was warm and genuine from Jonalene. We couldn't have been more comfortable during our stay. The bonus is that Andy's Italian Deli is just around the corner which is a wonderful food store selling the best subs I have ever tasted - and huge ! Also New World Bistro within easy walking distance and excellent food( but be sure to book)
Would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel

Room Tip: Ask for top floor if intending to work
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colinoo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynsee B, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown/Medical Center, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
We love Andy's Deli and New World Bistro! This is great to hear that you enjoyed them as well! I'm glad you had such a great experience throughout your stay with us. Our shuttle drivers LaShawn, Angelo, Ryan and our Front Desk Associate Jondelle, will be ecstatic to hear that they had such a positive impact on your stay. Thank you for choosing our hotel, we hope to be able to accommodate your overnights next time you are in Albany! We wish your son the best of the luck!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We stayed here with several other couples during a family celebration. The rooms were great, large enough for a toddler to run around. There was a kichenette with a good-sized refrigerator, stove, microwave and dishwasher. The cupboards had dishes, utensils and pots and pans. This would be an excellent choice for a long stay. The free shuttle gets you anywhere you'd want to go in Albany. The staff was very friendly and accommodating and there's free parking.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynsee B, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown/Medical Center, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate you taking the time to reflect on your stay with us. On behalf of the Marriott TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown/Medical Center, thank you for choosing our hotel! We look forward to accommodating your future stays in Albany!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

If you going to albany then dont think twice about this towneplace. One of the best hotel staff I ever seen who always egar to help you with all sort of requirements!! I love the free taxi support im the range of 5miles. All in all one of the best place to stay in albany

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Shobhit C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynsee B, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown/Medical Center, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you for promoting our hotel! We appreciate your kind words regarding our staff and encouraging others to stay with us when they are in Albany! Hopefully we will be able to accommodate your future stays when you are back in the area. Thanks for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2014

A really nice hotel, clean, modern rooms and great facilities but the biggest attribute by far is the staff - extremely helpful, friendly and go way out of their way to help you!!! I stayed here for the bar, which was stressful and they reassured every bar taker they spoke to, and went as far as sending good luck letters to everyone the night before the exam - totally over and beyond what was expected :)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMK12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynsee B, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown/Medical Center, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
We are so glad that throughout this stressful time, you were able to have such a great/positive experience at the TownePlace Suites! Our staff will be ecstatic to hear your praises. Best of luck on your results for the exam!:-) On behalf of the Marriott TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown, thank you for choosing our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Head
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

Great hotel and staff great big well appointed rooms with modern furnishings , great breakfast in the mornings. Complimentary papers.Convient to the Capitol and state office buildings. Large indoor pool however the fitness room is small with only 3 pieces of equipment yet the hotel has seven floors of guests rooms . Complimentary coffe and snacks available all the time. The rates are reasonable for the accommodation and amenities . All the rooms are suites with fully equipped kitchens and the beds are very comfortable with Marriott bedding. This hotel is mainly for the business traveler and also provides free local shuttle service and plenty of free on site parking. The outdoor patio area is small for the hotel size and has a barbecue .

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynsee B, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown/Medical Center, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you Mike for your review! We are glad to hear you enjoyed staying at our hotel, that you were able to utilize the amenities offered and that the bed was comfortable! We look forward to having you back when you are in Albany next. Thank you for choosing the Marriott TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown/Medical Center!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany Medical Center
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Renaissance Albany Hotel
3.5 mi away
TownePlace Suites Albany University Area
1.0 mi away
Hilton Albany
Hilton Albany
#16 of 50 in Albany
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown/Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown/Medical Center

Property: TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown/Medical Center
Address: 22 Holland Avenue, Albany, NY 12209
Region: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Albany
#14 Business Hotel in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown/Medical Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore all that downtown Albany has to offer from TownePlace Suites by Marriott Albany Downtown/Medical Center. Our all-suite hotel in Albany, New York offers an exceptional location near the city's most desirable locations including the Empire State Plaza Convention Center, Times Union Center and SUNY Albany. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown/Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Albany Downtown / Medical Hotel Albany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing