We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Restful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown/Medical Center
Ranked #21 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
Welland
Level 6 Contributor
371 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Clean and Restful”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

A clean and quiet property, it was a pleasure to stay here. The staff are pleasant and efficient – a small problem with our reservation was resolved quickly and to my complete satisfaction. In addition, I had forgotten to use my AAA discount with the initial booking, but they took care of that right away. There are not many places to eat in the immediate vicinity, but a walk about 4 blocks in either direction along Delaware will take you to a number of restaurants and shops. The surrounding neighbourhood felt perfectly safe – it’s not a gated community but we were quite comfortable wandering around. On a side note, if you decide to go downtown to eat, parking is a real problem. It seems a shame, but if you want to eat and aren’t able to walk far, you might be better off heading back to the suburbs to dine. I wasn't aware of the shuttle service, but that might be a good option as well.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Professor04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynsee B, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown/Medical Center, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
The pleasure was all ours! My apologies that you were not educated on our shuttle service by our staff! I hope in the future you are able to take advantage of it, it is available Monday through Friday 6a-10a then in the evening 4p-9:30p and will transport our guests to and from locations within a 3 mile radius. Thank you for choosing the Marriott TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown/Medical Center!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    62
    17
    4
    6
See reviews for
47
35
18
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jefferson City, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

From the moment we walked in and were greeted by friendly front staff offering to make us dinner reservations and offering us the hotel shuttle to take us to dinner. The room was up to date with many portals for all our charging needs. Bed was very comfortable in the suite we had. Breakfast was adequate.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RussellMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynsee B, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown/Medical Center, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review! I'm delighted that you experienced friendly service and a comfortable bed! We look forward to accommodating your future stays in Albany!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2014

TownePlace Suites has been amazing for our family. We have been in and out of Albany due to medical treatments for a family member and the staff, especially Jondelle, have been incredible. The property is always clean and well appointed and every staff member we have spoken to has been so kind and compassionate through this difficult time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynsee B, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown/Medical Center, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
On behalf of the Marriott TowePlace Suites, thank you for choosing our hotel! Jondelle will greatly appreciate that you mentioned her by name! We are extremely fortunate to have such dedicated, caring and genuine individuals as part of our team. The TownePlace Suites is your home away from home and we wish you the best of luck!! If there's ever anything else we can do please do not hesitate to let us know!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
299 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This is a good property located conveniently located near the Albany VAMC and other medical facilities. The only bad thing about this property is the location is right at the edge of "your safe walking around" and "I would not walk that way, especially after dark". The staff was awesome the entire time. the room was great, bed soft and the housekeepers keep the room fully stocked and clean. I do wish they would keep the hot tub temp a little higher as all week it did not seem to be hot except for wed night. I would stay here again if in town, just need to be aware of your surroundings in this part of town. Thanks to the staff for a great week!

Room Tip: the rooms on the parking lot side are quieter as the street side you get ambulances...only because y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger47993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynsee B, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown/Medical Center, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback! It was such a pleasure having you stay with us and I'm ecstatic that our staff providing you with such great service! We look forward to seeing you again, and if you ever have any questions regarding the more attractive routes in Albany please do not hesitate to inquire at our front desk! Have a wonderful rest of your summer and the TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown appreciates you choosing our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed for two nights while visiting family at St. Peter's Hospital. The rooms are standard, as would be expected for a Marriott property and I didn't use the amenities, but the service received by the staff was exactly what anyone staying to pay a hospital visit needed -they were polite and accommodating. I asked for a taxi, not thinking of other options without a car, and they reminded me that they have a shuttle service to cover 3 mile distances. I was running out the door without breakfast (complimentary) and the desk clerk and shuttle driver went to the pantry to put something together for me. Totally appreciated and was very happy about my choice of hotels.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCvsWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynsee B, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown/Medical Center, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback! I'm glad that our staff was able to make your hospital visit to Albany easier. We hope all went well! Our staff genuinely appreciates your mentions of their service and hope to have the opportunity to serve you again. Thank you for choosing our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This hotel is not an easy off/on a major highway and was in more of a residential district ofAlbany. I guess it would be convenient if you needed a long term stay visiting someone in the hospital and you didn't mind the condition of the hotel. I would not suggest staying there if you plan on doing things in Downtown Albany and plan on walking. While it is only a 25 min walk it is not through the best of neighborhoods.
As far as the hotel itself goes the Suite room we had was a decent size but was in pretty rough shape. The couch and chair were torn, tattered and dirty. The couch and chair were a combo of material that crunched when you sat on it and pleather. It was decorated with a plastic bolster pillow. My shoes were sticking to the wannabe hardwood floor (linoleum to look like hardwood?). There was one unknown chunk of something on the bedroom carpet...if it wasn't a piece of chocolate I don't want to know what it was. The mattress on the pull out sofa was gross. Sheets for the pull out were found in the closet and were clean but slightly worn and tattered. The bed in the bedroom was clean and the sheets were fine.
The Kitchen had full refrigerator/freezer, microwave and was equipped with necessary items if needed which was nice.
The bathroom was big, not elaborate, but it appeared to be clean.
The breakfast was make your own waffles, cereal, toast, some yogurt parfaits...not much else.
Free coffee was available all day in the lobby but it was lukewarm and they did have free granola bars for a quick snack with the coffee which was very nice.
The best part of the hotel was the very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank likesnicethgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vahan V, Manager at TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown/Medical Center, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Won't Be Going Back;
We thank you for your review and are glad that you enjoyed the complimentary coffee and granola bars, our full kitchen amenities, and our staff. We take your concerns seriously and like to know when we fall short of our guest expectations. Our standard is to have every guest room clean and ready for our guests. We do hope you will consider us if you visist the area again. We do provide a shuttle service to downtown, and when it is not available we will make alternate travel accomodation for you.

Thank you,
Vahan Vrijian
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest Hills, New York
Level 6 Contributor
650 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 468 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

From the moment we walked into the modern lobby and greeted by the friendly professional receptionist, Michael we knew this hotel was a cut above others. This is a model of how a hotel should operate. Michael and Alyssa set the positive tone and all employees we were in contact with the three nights we stayed at this lovely hotel all portrayed the same upbeat enigmatic attitude.

We were greeted by all employees with genuine smiles. Michael went above and beyond good customer service when he left the desk to assist my husband on the guest computer. When the task was completed he asked us if we needed anything else. Alyssa also exemplified going the extra mile when we asked if there were any books available. She searched the lobby and showed us books and games that we could borrow. The hotel was very busy for the July 4th holiday weekend but this service was repeated again and again.

Our spacious, clean well-appointed suite was decorated in a modern motif with views of mountains in the distance. All the amenities one needs for a night or extended stay were available in this suite, including a full kitchen. Our comfortable, king size bed, fluffy pillows and quiet room made for a great night’s sleep. The separate living room area was a wonderful place to relax on the comfortable couch or watch the large flat screen TV. The windows open; I mention this because this is an amenity that is important to me and not always offered in hotels. It is also essential when cooking is allowed in rooms which I will discuss later.

The complimentary shuttle will drive you to and from the hotel within a three mile radius. Perfect for a safe night out enjoying cocktails. Onsite parking was complimentary. Wi-Fi was fast and also complimentary. A guest computer is available in the lobby. Shops, restaurants and the Albany Health Care Center are walking distance. 24hour coffee and tea with snacks were available in the lobby. A guest laundry is available. The fitness center had two treadmills an elliptical machine and fitness ball. The large TV in this room helped pass the time while we worked out.

Breakfast was included and more than ample. Highlights included but not limited to homemade oatmeal with all the fixings, bagels, bread, muffins, yogurt parfait, hard boiled eggs, fresh whole fruit/fruit salad and the make your own waffles. This was one of the most varied and extensive complimentary hotel breakfasts I have had the pleasure to have.

The hot tub and pool were so relaxing and both were the perfect temperature. The pool area, as was the entire building, was well maintained and clean.

A comment about "the smell" that others have reported. The hotel was very clean and I did not detect the smell of "urine". I am in the medical field and I know this odor. Also I live in a large co-op building and when an occupant cooks this can easily be smelled in the halls and even in other units. The suites in this hotel have microwaves and electric stoves. Odors are normal and may be the issue. An open window helps reduce ambient odors.

I look forward to my next visit to Albany and will stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gershwin12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynsee B, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown/Medical Center, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
The TownePlace Suites is delighted that you were able to enjoy the amenities that we have to offer! Alyssa, Michael and myself truly appreciate your reflection on their customer service throughout your stay with us. Our hotel staff takes great pride in their positions, especially these two, and for a guest to recognize them by name is such an honor! Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such a detailed review, we will see you again when you return to Albany! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany Medical Center
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Renaissance Albany Hotel
1.0 mi away
Hilton Albany
Hilton Albany
#16 of 50 in Albany
1,103 reviews
3.5 mi away
TownePlace Suites Albany University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown/Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown/Medical Center

Property: TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown/Medical Center
Address: 22 Holland Avenue, Albany, NY 12209
Region: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Albany
#14 Business Hotel in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown/Medical Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore all that downtown Albany has to offer from TownePlace Suites by Marriott Albany Downtown/Medical Center. Our all-suite hotel in Albany, New York offers an exceptional location near the city's most desirable locations including the Empire State Plaza Convention Center, Times Union Center and SUNY Albany. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown/Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Albany Downtown / Medical Hotel Albany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing