We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A Real Find!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of New World Bistro Bar

New World Bistro Bar
Ranked #2 of 680 Restaurants in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Manlius, NY
Level Contributor
53 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A Real Find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Late night nash! Everything was closed around the hotel. My son did a quick search and found this gem. A quaint restaurant in an up and coming neighbourhood? The decor is simple with exposed beams and brick. The menu was amazing...we had a difficult time to decide. BTW, their choices on the Gluten Free Menu are fantastic! White wine Sangria...excellent! Asian guacamole was freshly made. Festive Olives were warmed...delicious! GF ($2.00 extra) Pizza was so good. Thin crust with great toppings! Kale Salad was crisp and delicious, enough for 2! We also had the Korean BBQ Porkbelly. Remember it's Porkbelly, so it will be fatty....which we love!!! Cooked to perfection! Dessert, we shared a chocolate coconut tart. Very rich...glad we shared. We will stop in here EVERYTIME we will be in Albany. YUM!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MsKarenNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    325
    120
    34
    20
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
92 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“An excellent dining option in Albany”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Their menu has plenty of great food choices which are a step above what we typically encounter in our hometown. My husband's salmon dinner was one of the best he's had; my dinner special (bluefish) was very good - the fish was good but made better atop the sauces and the vegetables. I loved the carrot & ginger soup w/ just enough spice to given it some zip. We all tried the eggplant meatballs which we each liked. Our daughter's risotto was delicious (w/ a different flavoring) and very filling. Our other daughter was eating light but very much enjoyed her kale salad w/ cashews, etc. Some menu options have the option of a small or large plate which is nice. This restaurant prepares foods w/ a blend of seasonings and spices which is great and fun to explore. We also very much liked the atmosphere and we had terrific service. Outdoor dining is available. Parking in the rear.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank apples0ranges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensbury, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An instant favorite!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We were looking for a restaurant close to Albany Med. This place was fabulous...we have returned three times in two weeks! Apps, meal and dessert were just perfect! Drinks were good. Portions were perfect! I loved the diversity and variety on the menu. Wish we lived closer and could come once a week!

We had the lamb carnitas, meatloaf, deluxe hamburger, clams, fish tacos, lemon sorbet, fresh fruit and chocolate mousse...everything was excellent!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“We found the New World!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

This was my first trip to Albany and it happened to be for business. The first night I noticed most of the restaurants near my hotel closed by 7pm, I wasn't used to this being from NYC. One of the people I was with is a chef, she did her research and found The New World Bistro. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The hostess accommodated us by rearranging our table to sit outside. Jabir made sure our water glasses were never empty and if we had any questions he sought our waiter. Brian, our waiter was extremely patient, funny and helpful. It took us a while to decide what to eat. Brian was spot on when he recommended various appetizers (we chose the cheese platter, seitan chicken wings, and shrimp- very spicy), main courses (Tuna, Jerk Chicken, and the Salmon), desserts (Chocolate mousse) as well as the wine. The food was really good.The atmosphere was lively inside and laid back outside. I would recommend this restaurant, just remember to make a reservation.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Yolanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinderhook, New York
Level Contributor
138 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Awesome 1st Dining Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and I tried this restaurant at the suggestion of a family member and we were so glad that we did. The atmosphere was very nice and for us, we enjoyed that the menu was different in that it wasn't the same fish, chicken or beef that you can order anywhere. The chef's fusion of different flavors was amazing. Upon reading the menu, so many items sounded intriguing to order since we never had the combination of flavors in their offerings the way they prepare them. It was an exciting experience for a romantic dinner. Their Saigon Street Calamari are amazing as was their Hudson Valley Salad, both of which were very adequate for the 2 of us to share. We tried their Grilled Curry Lobster w/ Mango Salsa, cold Cous Cous salad & grilled zucchini meal and the Lobster Cannoli, both from that evening's special menu.

Pricing was reasonable for the quality & quantity of the delicious food.

Our shared app & salad, 2 entrees, 2 specialty drinks, 1 glass of wine and 2 coffees ended up just over $51 pp before tip.

Our tip for you is to sit in Matthew's section as he was an excellent waiter.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jay V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to New World Bistro Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing