We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced chocolate”

The Chocolate Gecko
Ranked #6 of 8 Shopping in Albany
Albany
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Overpriced chocolate”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Ok, one average sized peanut butter or marshmallow Easter egg was $2.50. After eating it , and asking family members who received them, the eggs got a "They were ok". Not worth the price. Yes, they have interesting flavor combos, like the Dark Chocolate Chai Buddha, but the portions are so small and definitely overpriced. Kandy Kraft and Krause's are just as good or better in quality and better in price., and have a larger selection.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyTrevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    1
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albany, NY
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Decent but expensive”
Reviewed 11 December 2012

The chocolate is good enough, but prepare yourself for sticker shock. Krauses is better anyway. The parking lot is convenient and the store is clean at least.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank smsg10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton Park, New York
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Spicy Chocolate!”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

If you like unique chocolates you're in for a treat!
The spicy chocolates are actually spicy and FLAVORFUL!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank leneyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam Junction, New York, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“reponse time”
Reviewed 1 June 2012

I have been trying for almost 5 months to schedule a class but I don't have phone calls returned or they never answer their work phone, or even a personal cell. I want to take a class but I am getting discouraged. I would like to change this rating which I will do once I hear from some one and get a class

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“chOcOlate!!!”
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Incredible chocolate, great shapes, incredible fillings--some sweet, some spicy, all creative, all yummy. reasonably priced. and the komodo crunch--beyond addictiive. I mean need to find a rehab center and half-way house,

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank FoodiePam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Chocolate Gecko also viewed

 

Been to The Chocolate Gecko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing