We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't visit until May”
Review of Schuyler Mansion

Schuyler Mansion
Ranked #12 of 63 things to do in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built before the American Revolution, the elegant home of General Philip Schuyler is one of the most outstanding examples of pre-war architecture. During the season, experience a guided-tour of the home from knowledgeable staff who will tell you the history of the home and the Schuyler family that lived there - Philip and Catharine Van Rensselaer Schuyler, and their eight children. Second daughter Elizabeth Schuyler married Alexander Hamilton in the museum's front parlor in 1780. Tours are offered on the hour. Please call in advance of your tour, as pre-scheduled groups and events will alter the tour schedule. Site is CLOSED yearly from October 31st until mid-May, excepting special events.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't visit until May”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We went to visit this mansion in April and it was closed. A kind worker told us that the mansion and other like attractions are closed until some time in May. Check hours and availability before visiting.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank annlapidus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    19
    11
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lockport, New York
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“No one arrived”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We scheduled a trip months in advance for a university history club trip. We called the weekend of to confirm, and then waited a half hour for the tour guide to arrive and nobody ever showed up. We called several times and left messages as well. Nobody ever got back to us. We're very disappointed

Helpful?
5 Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SchuylerMansion, Docent at Schuyler Mansion, responded to this review, 19 August 2016
We are very sorry that you had a bad experience in coming to Schuyler Mansion, however, we were very specific with your contact person for this trip that due to limited staffing during our off season, the only time that we were able to make staff available on April 27th was at 2:00p.m.. We reiterated this information over the course of several phone calls and sent a confirmation form via email with this same information. We were available at the agreed upon time of 2:00p.m. but received a message on our answering machine from your contact on the day of the tour, confirming a 7:30a.m. tour - we are not open at 7:30a.m. at any time of the year. We attempted to return her call twice, but she did not have cell phone service and was unable to hear our end of the line. We then followed up with an email confirming the situation to which she replied: "Sorry, for the phone problems we were in terrible signal and I kept loosing signal. It was a problem on my end and I apologize for getting that wrong".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Site”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Well maintained historic site. The docent provided an excellent background on the history of the site and regional happenings during the time the original owners built and lived in the mansion.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cjj47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adams, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice historic site”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Like others have mentioned we had a personal tour of the mansion. We also had a well-educated guide who was great. I think her name was Dannielle. The tour lasted about an hour and it was very interesting.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mzhoneybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stopped by the mansion at 11am on a Sunday and found ourselves with a personal tour of the Schuyler mansion because there were no other visitors. Our tour guide was absolutely wonderful - I wish I had caught her name to thank her here. She spent about an hour with us in the mansion telling us all about Philip Schuyler and his very interesting family, walking through the rooms that most of the major Revolutionary war players would have also walked through.

The mansion is located in one of Albany's not-so-great neighborhoods; don't let that discourage you from visiting. There is a parking lot and it's very easy to find - I just wouldn't plan on wandering around the neighborhood after. There is a small exhibit in the visitor's center (it'll take you maybe 5-10 minutes), including a model of what they think the grounds looked like in Schuyler's day - definitely try to check that out before or after your tour.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank sunshin3daydr3am
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Schuyler Mansion also viewed

 

Been to Schuyler Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing