We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice City Center Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Albany

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Albany
Ranked #14 of 50 Hotels in Albany
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very Nice City Center Hotel”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Meets the expectations of a HIlton property. Fairly modern furnishings, clean and comfortable. Beds were great and room was a good size. Rooms have a fridge for added convenience. Great location near restaurants and transportation.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LostSojourner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JD-GM-ALBHH, General Manager at Hilton Albany, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear LostSojourner,

Thank you for your recent review of the Hilton Albany on TripAdvisor.com. I was happy to read that we exceeded your expectations in both our cleanliness and your sleeping experience. Additionally I was pleased to see that you totally enjoyed your Hilton Experience.

We look forward to servicing you upon your next visit to Albany.

Regards,

John D'Adamo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    284
    160
    105
    74
See reviews for
174
129
33
582
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Hilton Albany is centrally located. Close to restaurants, capitol, pedestrian bridge to Hudson River, and the visitor's information center.
The room we occupied is spacious and clean. Bathroom is very clean and toiletries adequate.. We find the food offered at their restaurant very appealing; salads are big portions.

One negative: it appears that there is a leaky flash that makes noise in the bathroom.

I had stayed in different Hilton hotels; Hilton Albany is one I highly recommend for those visiting the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mayreyestan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JD-GM-ALBHH, General Manager at Hilton Albany, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Mayreyestan,

Thank you for your recent review about the Hilton Albany on TripAdvisor.com. I was pleased to read that we had exceeded your expectations at the five star level in every area !! I was also happy to read that you appreciated the downtown proximity to the amenities of our city.

We're looking forward to servicing you again for your next visit.

Regards,

John D'Adamo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithtown, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I have stayed at this hotel on 3 previous occasions (the most recent - prior to this stay - was under Hilton ownership). The hotel has undergone a significant renovation. It takes more than just a facelift to upgrade a hotel. The behavior of the front desk staff member I encountered at check-in tainted my entire stay. I want to enjoy a welcoming environment - both esthetically and attitudinally. Not the case here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank MJM2Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JD-GM-ALBHH, General Manager at Hilton Albany, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear MJM2Go,

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor.com. Needless to say I was sorry to read that the service you had received from the Front Desk at our hotel was less than professional. The goal for all of our team members at the Hilton Albany is to strive to exceed our guests expectations. It is obvious here that we did not meet your expectations and this I apologize.

We do hope that you will give us another chance to show you that our culture is Hospitality and providing excellent service.

Regards,

John D'Adamo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montverde, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

the remake of the Albany Hilton is TOP NOTCH rooms are like brand new Try it, the best I have seen in many years of travel. the Hotel Lobby, Bar and Rooms have been redone and I think make the place one of the best in Albany New York. Other Hiltons will set their standards by this hotel, no doubt. I will be back in the future and recommend that others send there time in Albany here rather than another location

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JD-GM-ALBHH, General Manager at Hilton Albany, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Don H,

Thank you for your recent review of the Hilton Albany on TripAdvisor.com I appreciate your wonderful comments regarding our guest rooms and our recent renovations. Additionally I was very pleased to read how our service team exceeded your expectations in everyway !!

We look forward to servicing you once again.

Regards,

John D'Adamo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Hampton, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2013

many times I have stayed at the Hilton, and this is the first time I was not happy with the cleanliness of my room. mainly the Bathroom. I usually drive several hours to get to Albany and the first thing I look for is a clean bathroom... I was very disappointed, the rest of the hotel in general was very clean. On the other hand people at the hotel are very friendly and nice, food was good and check in and out was easy and fast..

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Mariacristina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JD-GM-ALBHH, General Manager at Hilton Albany, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Mariacristina B,

Thank you for your recent review of the Hilton Albany on TripAdvisor.com I was pleased to read that for the most part you had a very positive stay. I can appreciate your disappointment when you had concerns regarding the bathroom. I do apologize for this. We strive to acheive a Five Star rating in All areas which our guests experience. I do hope that upon your return you will see that our team will strive to exceed your expectations.

Thank you again.

Regards,

John D'Adamo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

First let me say that the noise level had to do with this hotel being a crew hotel. Doors banging at 4:00 am, crew shouting down hallways.

Aside from that, this property is great. The suite I got upgraded to was awesome, two stories with a spiral stair case.

As a runner this place was great to, .5 miles to a trail that run the Hudson River, head "east" on pine street, cross over the freeway on the pedestrian bridge and hang a left on the Mohawk Hudson Bike Trail and you can run for miles and miles.

For dinner, skip the hotel and head right out of the hotel on to lodge street. Continue west for 1.5 blocks, on your left is the City Beer Hall. Great local restaurant, free pizza and a huge beer list to choose from.

If your are looking to be centrally located in Albany, this is the place to be.

Room Tip: Hilton Honors rooms are the two top floors and are not quiet since Crew are put their, opt to stay o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DZalumni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JD-GM-ALBHH, General Manager at Hilton Albany, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear DZalumni,

Thank you for your recent review of the Hilton Albany on TripAdvisor.com. I was happy to read that you enjoyed your upgrade to one of our suites. Our location downtown is ideal for dining out , or for a run along side the Hudson River. Apologies for the noise of early departures on your floor.

Hope the run was as good as the rest of your experience you had in our hotel !! We look forward to servicing you again.

Regards,

John D'Adamo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hyde Park, United States
1 review
Reviewed 6 October 2013

The Hilton was a dream. Service and accommodations were excellent. My only complaint is that the price of the room--in Albany, NY, was pretty high, and I was glad to have obtained a group discount with the meeting I was attending.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JD-GM-ALBHH, General Manager at Hilton Albany, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Catherine S,

Thank you for your recent review of the Hilton Albany on TripAdvisor.com. I was pleased to read that our level of service and facilities exceeded your expectations during your stay. I was also happy to hear that you were able to reduce your rate through your group hosting their meeting in our hotel.

Once again , thank you and we hope to host your group again.

Regards,

John D'Adamo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Albany Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany Medical Center
4.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
5.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Albany

Property: Hilton Albany
Address: 40 Lodge St, State & Lodge, Albany, NY 12207-2119 (Formerly Hotel Albany)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Albany 3.5*
Number of rooms: 385
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With completion of the $16 million renovations guests now see the dramatic and exciting change of the facility upon arrival starting with the new entrance, spacious lobby, guest registration counters and the beautiful Charter Restaurant and SESSIONS lounge. This new look brings a sophisticated and upscale setting to downtown Albany all designed to invite people to share, meet and socialize in the public areas of the hotel.The hotel is now 100% non-smoking in all guestrooms.The changes are extensive - including all the elevators, corridors, guest rooms and suites. Now renovated and upgraded meeting the newest standards which are exemplifying Hilton's commitment to its customers. Even the function areas, pool and fitness center have been completely remodeled for the comfort of our guests that provides a contemporary and comfortable environment to conduct business or just to relax.Hilton Albany is the smart choice for travel to Albany - offering comfort, convenience, and a wealth of amenities as well as HHonors points for guests. Located just one block from the New York State Capitol Building and two blocks from the Times Union Center, hotels don’t get any more downtown than this.Getting here is simple too – the Albany Rensselaer Amtrak Train Station is just five minutes away, and the Albany International Airport is just fifteen minutes from our door. Once you have arrived at our hotel in Albany, you’ll find that the best of the city can be found within a few steps in any direction. Hilton Albany is located in the heart of it all, making urban exploration exciting.This downtown Albany hotel is the largest in the area, boasting 385 oversized guest rooms and suites that lend themselves to sophisticated and comfortable travel. Guests at our full-service hotel can appreciate an array of perks that make any stay unbeatable. From complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel to a state-of-the-art Hilton Fitness Center to the largest ballroom in the Capital District, our amenities put us above and beyond other hotels in the area.With over 30,000 square feet of space for weddings, meetings and group travel, planners find delight with our downtown Albany hotel. Offering a professional catering staff, flexible venues and customizable online tools to assist in planning, Hilton Albany makes event planning a seamless exercise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing