We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3.75 rating” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Albany

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton Albany
Ranked #15 of 50 Hotels in Albany
New York City, New York
1 review
“3.75 rating”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

I expected worse reading reviews here, I stayed on the executive level, the lounge on the 13th floor was very pleasant and the complimentary breakfast/snacks served there was worth that extra paid for the room, the room itself was clean and comfy, the tub in the bathroom did not drain as well as it should, and the food in the restaurant downstairs was mediocre...

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank grinchagram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JD-GM-ALBHH, General Manager at Hilton Albany, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear grinchagram,

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel on TripAdvisor.com. I was happy to read that you enjoyed your stay on our Executive level and had a wonderful experience in our Executive lounge. I appreciate you sharing with us your impression of your meal in our restaurant. I do apologize that it did not exceed your expectations. Also, if you would like I would appreciate an email telling me your room number so that we can make sure that the tub in that room is draining properly. My email is john.d'adamo@hilton.com.

I hope to hear from you and look forward to hosting you again.

Regards,

John D'Adamo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    395
    283
    158
    101
    73
See reviews for
173
127
33
568
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

I would highly recommend this hotel. It is in a great part of downtown Albany. Close proximity to everything! Rooms have been newly renovated and just beautiful and clean as well. The staff is very nice and very accommodating. The rooms are absolutely gorgeous and the views of Albany are outstanding!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Kathleen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JD-GM-ALBHH, General Manager at Hilton Albany, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Kathleen F,

Thank you for your recent review of the Hilton Albany on TripAdvisor.com. Our team "strives" for Five Star ratings and we were happy to read that we exceeded your expectations for sleep quality, location, accomodations and cleanliness during your last stay.

Thank you again and we look forward to servicing you during your next visit to our hotel.

Regards,

John D'Adamo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Amherst, New York
Level Contributor
511 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

I stayed here for a conference (3 nights). The room was great, very comfortable and roomy. The food served during the conference was good. The location was great for what we wanted to do while in Albany. Staff was generally friendly. We did encounter some not so happy members throughout the weekend. My primary problem is the Front Dest staff and their incompetence in handling a simple check out. Three people shared a room and were paying their own share of the total bill. It didn't happen at checkout. We are now working with the manager to straighten it out.

Room Tip: Make sure your payment method is fully understood by desk staff at check in and follow up at check o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JD-GM-ALBHH, General Manager at Hilton Albany, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Henry D,

Thank you for your recent review of the Hilton Albany on TripAdvisor.com. I was happy to read that you rated our location, along with our accomodations and cleanliness all five stars !! Thank you . I was disappointed to read that we struggled to reconcile your charges at check out. I do hope that the manager you are working with has resolved this for you.

If I may be of any further assistance please email me directly at john.d'adamo@hilton.com.

Regards,

John D'Adamo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, Maine
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Room was very quiet, neat and clean. Staff was professional and friendly. Very busy at the hotel when we arrived, however staff was very attentive. Great parking adjacent to the hotel, easy to find. Perfect place to stay if attending an event at The Egg, very close walking distance to The Egg, with great directions from the front desk staff. Would definitely stay again if another show at The Egg is of interest.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyTripper_7_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JD-GM-ALBHH, General Manager at Hilton Albany, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear FamilyTripper_7_12,

Thank you for your recent review of the Hilton Albany on TripAdvisor.com. I am so happy that our service team exceeded your expectations in every area during your recent stay. I love the intimate setting of watching a concert at the Egg as well. An Intimate setting with amazing acoustics !!

We look forward to your next visit to Albany.

Warm regards,

John D'Adamo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

In town for an event at the "egg" (convention center). The Hilton's location was great. The lobby was comfortable and inviting. The staff was professional and caring. Elaine at the bar, Robert at the Starbucks stand and Mike the Shuttle driver were all terrific! The free shuttle from the airport and to the train station was a great amenity. I had breakfast in the dining room and it was very good. This is a very well run hotel, which is a credit to the General Manager and his staff. I would encourage anyone staying in Albany to give this Hilton a try!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OSUDaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JD-GM-ALBHH, General Manager at Hilton Albany, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear OSUDaddy,

Thank you for your recent review of the Hilton Albany on TripAdvisor.com. I was pleased to read about so many positive and exceptional encounters you had with many of our Hilton Team members. I am glad you enjoyed yourself in Sessions, our Lounge and had the chance to have Elaine serve you. She has been with the hotel for over 30 years and she truly represents the spirit of hospitality. Robert B at our Starbucks counter is a gentlemen and a true professional, as well as Mike, as he transports our guests safely in our shuttles each and every day.

I am very proud to lead a team of professional associates like the ones you've mentioned. Our team thanks you for all of your kind words and excellent ratings !!!

Regards,

John D'Adamo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

The hotel was nice looking, clean and comfortable. There was a problem with the shower diverter buttor popping out but I was still able to shower. I was so tired when I returned to the hotel I ordered a simple meal from Room Service. Aside from being expensive it was tasty and comforting. When I arrived at the hotel it was hours before the official checkin time but they very generously allowed me into my room which was much appreciated both then and when my day was over.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank jjcirnigliaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JD-GM-ALBHH, General Manager at Hilton Albany, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Thank you for your review of the Hilton Albany on TripAdvisor.com. I was very happy to read that our level of service and quality of food exceeded your expectations. We do hope that when your travel plans include Albany, New York you will make the Hilton Albany your first choice.

Regards,

John D'Adamo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

I stayed there for seven nights for business in August. Checked in on a Sunday. I immediately called front desk to let them know they desk phone was not working. Maintenance came to the room and could not resolve the problem but stated the phone issue would be resolved the next day. I called front desk again on Wednesday to let them know phone was still not working. I was assured somebody would fix it. Till I checked out following Sunday the phone was still not working. I don't think anybody even tried or remembered. Very disappointed.
Only reason I gave four star overall was the two front desk staff, namely Shirin and the Front Desk Manager. I believe his name was Michael. He was very professional and understands what hospitality means. He went above and beyond on his service. Another young lady at the front desk had a terrible attitude. Rude and would not even look at you when talking to you. Good location if you are there for business but not much to do at night. Limited restaurant options near by if you are staying for seven nights.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms facing the Capital Building. Spectacular views at different times of the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 786travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JD-GM-ALBHH, General Manager at Hilton Albany, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear 786travel,

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel on TripAdvisor.com. I appreciate your compliments to both of our Front Desk Agents Shirin and Michael. Michael, I will have you know has since been promoted to our Night Audit Manager position. I do apologize for what happened with your telephone in your guest room for the week. I would like to know more and in particular your room number so that I may follow up to see if it has ever been repaired. My email is john.d'adamo@hilton.com

I do hope that we have the opportunity to host you once again the next time your travel plans take you to Albany.

Regards,

John D'Adamo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Albany Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany Medical Center
5.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany
4.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Albany

Property: Hilton Albany
Address: 40 Lodge St, State & Lodge, Albany, NY 12207-2119 (Formerly Hotel Albany)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Albany 3.5*
Number of rooms: 385
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With completion of the $16 million renovations guests now see the dramatic and exciting change of the facility upon arrival starting with the new entrance, spacious lobby, guest registration counters and the beautiful Charter Restaurant and SESSIONS lounge. This new look brings a sophisticated and upscale setting to downtown Albany all designed to invite people to share, meet and socialize in the public areas of the hotel.The hotel is now 100% non-smoking in all guestrooms.The changes are extensive - including all the elevators, corridors, guest rooms and suites. Now renovated and upgraded meeting the newest standards which are exemplifying Hilton's commitment to its customers. Even the function areas, pool and fitness center have been completely remodeled for the comfort of our guests that provides a contemporary and comfortable environment to conduct business or just to relax.Hilton Albany is the smart choice for travel to Albany - offering comfort, convenience, and a wealth of amenities as well as HHonors points for guests. Located just one block from the New York State Capitol Building and two blocks from the Times Union Center, hotels don’t get any more downtown than this.Getting here is simple too – the Albany Rensselaer Amtrak Train Station is just five minutes away, and the Albany International Airport is just fifteen minutes from our door. Once you have arrived at our hotel in Albany, you’ll find that the best of the city can be found within a few steps in any direction. Hilton Albany is located in the heart of it all, making urban exploration exciting.This downtown Albany hotel is the largest in the area, boasting 385 oversized guest rooms and suites that lend themselves to sophisticated and comfortable travel. Guests at our full-service hotel can appreciate an array of perks that make any stay unbeatable. From complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel to a state-of-the-art Hilton Fitness Center to the largest ballroom in the Capital District, our amenities put us above and beyond other hotels in the area.With over 30,000 square feet of space for weddings, meetings and group travel, planners find delight with our downtown Albany hotel. Offering a professional catering staff, flexible venues and customizable online tools to assist in planning, Hilton Albany makes event planning a seamless exercise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Hilton Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing