We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Business Hotel”
Review of Hilton Albany

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Albany
Ranked #16 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Newburgh, New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Business Hotel”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Just spent 3 nights at the Albany Hilton for a convention. Its in a great location just above Pearl St. Lots of bars and great restaurants with in a 5 minute walk. The Hotel has a great bar, and the food was decent. Slightly expensive compared to places on the next street down and not quite as good. i would recommend eating off site. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The bathrooms were small and the paint was peeling above the shower. This was also confirmed by other guests staying at the property. Not a deal breaker, it wasnt a big deal to me, just something i noticed. the staff was extremely friendly. When i say, i usually refuse the turn down and room cleaning service. One of the maids notice me going into my room and said, ill leave you two fresh towels and new coffee if you need it. it was a nice touch.. Over all i would absolutely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JD-GM-ALBHH, General Manager at Hilton Albany, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Tom K,

Thank you for your recent review of the Hilton Albany on Trip Advisor. I appreciate you sharing your positive comments of the service you received from our staff of associates. I also appreciate you comment regarding the ceiling in your bathroom. We are going at this project as I type this to you and will not stop until every ceiling looks like the rest of your guest room.

Reach out to me the next time you are in the hotel and I will introduce you to our Chef and we will prepare what you desire.

Thank you again for your loyalty and staying with us.

Regards,

John D'Adamo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    296
    176
    110
    91
See reviews for
191
144
33
613
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville Centre, New York
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This venue went through a complete overhaul within the past year, year and a half. Everything is new. The former Bar/Lounge/restaurant was removed and a new bar/lounge is in the lobby offering a very open bright atmosphere rather than a dark old dingy one. I highly recomend this Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Ricky35345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JD-GM-ALBHH, General Manager at Hilton Albany, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Ricky 35345,

Thank you for your recent review of the Hilton Albany on Trip Advisor. Our renovations have been well received by most who have stayed with us recently, but your Five Star recognition of our Staff says it all !!!

Exceeding our guests expectations in service is what motivates our team of associates.

Thank you again and look forward to servicing you as well.

Regards,

John D'Adamo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Our room was lovely and comfortable, the staff helpful in every way and the manager h elped us work out some special needs we had for parking a car long term. Loved the city and loved this hotel!!would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrisspotHughescoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JD-GM-ALBHH, General Manager at Hilton Albany, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Prisspot Hughes Coco,

Thank you for your recent review of the Hilton Albany on Trip Advisor. I was happy to see your Five Star review pof the hotel, but also very happy to see that one of our managers could assist you with your parking needs while travelling.

Our team is committed to ensuring great stays and making experiences greater than your expectations.

Thank you for staying with us..

Warm regards,

John D'Adamo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schenectady, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I booked this hotel using priceline, thinking I would just get a standard room. When I checked in, I was given a huge suite with a bar/living room/king bedroom. The front desk was very helpful-giving me a late check out and helping me with parking. I was so pleasantly surprised and cant wait to stay again.

Room Tip: stay in a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JD-GM-ALBHH, General Manager at Hilton Albany, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Alexis K,

What are you waiting for ?? Come on back and stay with us again. The summer is loaded with activities here in downtown Albany !! From Concerts at the Palace Theater ,Times Union Center and the Egg at the Empire State Plaza, to Plays at the Capital Rep Theater and beyond !!!

We are grateful for your Five Star rating of the Hilton Albany on Trip Advisor.

Looking forward to welcoming you back !!!

Cheers !!

John D'Adamo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed 1 night and found the hotel to be a mixture of quality which make it hard to rate. The receptionist was very welcoming and friendly, the room a junior suite was a bit odd... very spacious but one room with no window at all the other with just 1 small window. it could not be called dirty but nor could it be called spotless. Hair-grips were on the window sill and floor, and small bits of paper told of a casual clean up. The bed however was really comfy a great night's sleep, Breakfast was excellent all set in context by an eccentric.slow elevator system. So.... I would stay again, but Hilton need to have a look at the hardware of the hotel... the staff were all great.

Room Tip: A suite may not be all you expect ask if all rooms have a window/natural light
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sfhmgusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JD-GM-ALBHH, General Manager at Hilton Albany, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear sfhmgusa,

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel on Trip Advisor. I was very pleased to see your five star reviews of both our staff and sleep comfort. Service is the point of pride of each and every one of our associates, as well as the management of the hotel. I do apologize for the condition of your guest room window and sill. I have shared your comments with our Director of Housekeeping for the purpose of awareness during a room inspection.

We will and are continuing to improve and upgrade our infrastructure within the hotel.

Thank you again.

Regards,

John D'Adamo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Despite all the chaos when at a conference they ran out of food, Amy is the best server! She went out of her way to make sure that everyone got lunch while they ordered more from the kitchen. Wonderful!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VCH911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JD-GM-ALBHH, General Manager at Hilton Albany, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear VCH911,

Thank you for your recent review of the Hilton Albany. I was pleased to see how we met or exceeded your expectations in so many areas. Obviously though I couldn't be happier to read about how Amy in Banquets exceeded your service expectations. Amy is a shining example of a strong team of professional and caring associates.

Thank you again.

Regards,

John D'Adamo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miller Place, New York
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed solo at the hotel for the Freihofer's 5k Run for Women. VERY impressed with my large room (king bed) for a single - clean with nice amenities. GREAT view of the capitol building and old city architecture on State St. Nice comfy bar area, large pool, and cute little Starbucks in the lobby was open from 6-12:30 every morning (very glad because the coffee in the room was awful!). Front desk staff was super friendly and very accommodating - offered me late check out so I could come back and shower after my race. Only knock (other than the coffee) was that my room opened to a suite with an adjoining room and I could hear every word and conversation from the next door neighbor because of an non insulated metal door that actually "conducted" the noise. I would stay here again, nevertheless.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with a view of the capitol building - and a room that does not open up into a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maui_pineapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JD-GM-ALBHH, General Manager at Hilton Albany, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear maui_pineapple,

Thank you for your wonderful review of the Hilton Albany on Trip Advisor. I hope that you ran well in the 5K ?? Thank you as well for the Five Star ratings on both our location and service. We are working on our connecting doors as well.

Hope to have you back for next years run and or other fun activities.

All the Best !!!!

John D'Adamo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Albany Hotel
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany Medical Center
4.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Albany

Property: Hilton Albany
Address: 40 Lodge St, State & Lodge, Albany, NY 12207-2119 (Formerly Hotel Albany)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Albany 3.5*
Number of rooms: 385
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With completion of the $16 million renovations guests now see the dramatic and exciting change of the facility upon arrival starting with the new entrance, spacious lobby, guest registration counters and the beautiful Charter Restaurant and SESSIONS lounge. This new look brings a sophisticated and upscale setting to downtown Albany all designed to invite people to share, meet and socialize in the public areas of the hotel.The hotel is now 100% non-smoking in all guestrooms.The changes are extensive - including all the elevators, corridors, guest rooms and suites. Now renovated and upgraded meeting the newest standards which are exemplifying Hilton's commitment to its customers. Even the function areas, pool and fitness center have been completely remodeled for the comfort of our guests that provides a contemporary and comfortable environment to conduct business or just to relax.Hilton Albany is the smart choice for travel to Albany - offering comfort, convenience, and a wealth of amenities as well as HHonors points for guests. Located just one block from the New York State Capitol Building and two blocks from the Times Union Center, hotels don’t get any more downtown than this.Getting here is simple too – the Albany Rensselaer Amtrak Train Station is just five minutes away, and the Albany International Airport is just fifteen minutes from our door. Once you have arrived at our hotel in Albany, you’ll find that the best of the city can be found within a few steps in any direction. Hilton Albany is located in the heart of it all, making urban exploration exciting.This downtown Albany hotel is the largest in the area, boasting 385 oversized guest rooms and suites that lend themselves to sophisticated and comfortable travel. Guests at our full-service hotel can appreciate an array of perks that make any stay unbeatable. From complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel to a state-of-the-art Hilton Fitness Center to the largest ballroom in the Capital District, our amenities put us above and beyond other hotels in the area.With over 30,000 square feet of space for weddings, meetings and group travel, planners find delight with our downtown Albany hotel. Offering a professional catering staff, flexible venues and customizable online tools to assist in planning, Hilton Albany makes event planning a seamless exercise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing