We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Usually a Very Clean Hotel”
Review of Hilton Albany

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Albany
Ranked #15 of 50 Hotels in Albany
New York, United States
1 review
“Usually a Very Clean Hotel”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The Executive Lounge which are paid more money for was a mess when I entered with cans, beer bottles and food thrown all around. As for the desk staff they were very helpful. I also think the van drivers are helpful and pleasant. All employers who work at this hotel are pleasant. The Executive Lounge is usually a nice place to chill out and I was very disappointed it was in that condition. The rest of the hotel was very well kept. However, I asked for water in the executive lounge 2 times and waited 45 minutes before I left and bought a bottle from the vending machine. I don't think this is the type of service one should receive if I am paying a higher rate.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JD-GM-ALBHH, General Manager at Hilton Albany, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Maria B,

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. I was pleased to read how our service and our staff generally exceeds your expectations I was however truly disappointed in the lack of service which you experienced in our Executive Lounge. I do apologize for the condition you found it in. Please email me directly as I would like to speak with you regarding your stay and the dates of your stay. My email will be below,

Thank you.

Regards,

John D'Adamo
General Manager
john.d'adamo@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    407
    288
    167
    107
    77
See reviews for
178
130
33
595
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Elegant and in the heart of the state capital! Hometown attention downtown! Staff is friendly, courteous, caring. Beautiful swimming pool and exercise room. Very family friendly, though we didn't have time to swim or use exercise equipment. Rooms clean and bright. Fantastic view of the State Capital building, a cathedral and other European style, historic buildings--was the view from the 11th floor where our room was, facing the front of the building. Parking garage with interior elevator access. At th convenient Starbucks Coffee Shop in the lobby, be sure to ask for "Robert B." --the most friendly, helpful staffer ever!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank 355charlenem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JD-GM-ALBHH, General Manager at Hilton Albany, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Charlenem,

Thank you for your recent Five Star review of the Hilton Albany on TripAdvisor.com !! OUr Team gets very excited and feels very satisfied when our guets depart and then writes a Five Star review.

Thank you for your wonderful comments about the hotel staff and the service which you and your family received.

We look forward to serving you once again.

Yours in Service,

John D'Adamo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pescate, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

As soon as i got in the room (i'm by myself), i got surprised: so much room, two beds, very nice bathroom, and a thing i like a lot is the thea available in room. Free wifi avaialble not just in lobby but also in rooms, nice relaxing area downstairs. Very very nice!

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank CriZenzero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JD-GM-ALBHH, General Manager at Hilton Albany, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Cri Zenzero,

"Grazie" for your wonderful comments about the Hilton Albany during your recent stay. I was happy to read how our staff and service exceeded your expectations in every way. We hope that when you return from Itlay we will be able to host you once again !!!!

Ciao !!!!
John "Giovanni" D'Adamo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Was visiting a friend in the area and stayed here for one night in a two room suite. It was fantastic! Great price for the size and quality, very comfortable bed. My fridge wasn't working, and they brought up a whole new one in about ten minutes. Great place to stay if you're in Albany!

Room Tip: If you can shell out a little extra cash, the suite was well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JD-GM-ALBHH, General Manager at Hilton Albany, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Michael R,

Thank you for your Five Star review of the Hilton Albany on TripAdvisor.com. I am glad that you enjoyed your accomodations. We are fortunate to have 18 Suites in our inventory and that you stayed in one at our hotel. Great news to hear that our Engineering Team responded immediately to change out your refrigerator as well.

We hope to welcoming you back to Albany soon.

Warm regards,

John D'Adamo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tioga, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Stayed at this hotel for a business trip. Ate at the restaurant downstairs, which was very good. I had a dish that I thought would be ordinary and it was very unique. The room was nice and I had a beautiful view. It was recently updated and modernized. However, there were many bugs in my room including mosquitos and small flies that "bugged" me all night long. I couldn't get the air conditioner set just right and I wasn't sure if the bugs were coming in from the vent. Then throughout the night the air conditioner made some type of clicking sound on regular intervals. I am a light sleeper so between the bugs and the noise I had very little sleep. I knew that if I had complained I would be switched to a new room in the middle of the night, which I wasn't willing to do at that point. I do feel that if I brought this to the attention of staff they would have accommodated a move. My other coworkers had rooms on different floors and they didn't have any bugs in their room. Maybe I was just the lucky one.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MollyLyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JD-GM-ALBHH, General Manager at Hilton Albany, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear MollyLyn,

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel on Trip Advisor. I am curious to know what you ordered off of our menu that was unique. I'll take it as a compliment since you enjoyed it. Also, I would like to apologize for what you experienced during your night with us. It is unacceptable to let you experience what you encountered and I apologize for this. Lastly, I ask that you email me directly so that we can attempt some level of recovery for you. My email is john.d'adamo@hilton.com Please reach out to me so that we can resolve this.

All the best,

John D'Adamo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shickshinny
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

European feel to the newly remodeled lobby. The hotel is located in downtown Albany nestled among eateries and entertainment and walking distance from the Hudson River. Our room was good size for a regular room with a king size bed and we had a great view of the city. We ate breakfast in the executive lounge which was staffed by a most accommodating host. The food choices were much the same each morning, but presented nicely. We would have enjoyed a little more variety. Overall our stay was great and will look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher level room to get a great view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JD-GM-ALBHH, General Manager at Hilton Albany, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Mary E,

Thank you for your recent Five Star review of the Hilton Albany on Trip Advisor. I was pleased to read that our staff and level of service exceeded your expectations. Thank you for your nice comments about Dan in our Executive Lounge.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another stay.

Warm regards,

John D'Adamo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slidell, Louisiana
Level Contributor
255 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Completely renovated since I last stayed here as the Crowne Plaza and with a very European (clean and uncluttered) feel to it. Bed was super comfortable, and location was super convenient for work and for the fun after-hours activities in the surrounding area (two free concerts in the downtown area!) I enjoyed the pool, the free shuttle to and from the airport (reserve your ride early!!) and the very helpful front desk staff.

I've already recommended this hotel to my company and would gladly recommend to anyone else as well!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RiverlanGone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JD-GM-ALBHH, General Manager at Hilton Albany, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear RiverlanGone,

Thank you for your recent review and kind words about our Team at the Hilton Albany. Needless to say we are proud of our Team Members and their desire to provide the highest level of service which you can expect from a Hilton Hotel.

We welcome the opportunity to serve you again.

Regards,

John D'Adamo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Albany Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Albany-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany Medical Center
5.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Albany

Property: Hilton Albany
Address: 40 Lodge St, State & Lodge, Albany, NY 12207-2119 (Formerly Hotel Albany)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Albany 3.5*
Number of rooms: 385
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With completion of the $16 million renovations guests now see the dramatic and exciting change of the facility upon arrival starting with the new entrance, spacious lobby, guest registration counters and the beautiful Charter Restaurant and SESSIONS lounge. This new look brings a sophisticated and upscale setting to downtown Albany all designed to invite people to share, meet and socialize in the public areas of the hotel.The hotel is now 100% non-smoking in all guestrooms.The changes are extensive - including all the elevators, corridors, guest rooms and suites. Now renovated and upgraded meeting the newest standards which are exemplifying Hilton's commitment to its customers. Even the function areas, pool and fitness center have been completely remodeled for the comfort of our guests that provides a contemporary and comfortable environment to conduct business or just to relax.Hilton Albany is the smart choice for travel to Albany - offering comfort, convenience, and a wealth of amenities as well as HHonors points for guests. Located just one block from the New York State Capitol Building and two blocks from the Times Union Center, hotels don’t get any more downtown than this.Getting here is simple too – the Albany Rensselaer Amtrak Train Station is just five minutes away, and the Albany International Airport is just fifteen minutes from our door. Once you have arrived at our hotel in Albany, you’ll find that the best of the city can be found within a few steps in any direction. Hilton Albany is located in the heart of it all, making urban exploration exciting.This downtown Albany hotel is the largest in the area, boasting 385 oversized guest rooms and suites that lend themselves to sophisticated and comfortable travel. Guests at our full-service hotel can appreciate an array of perks that make any stay unbeatable. From complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel to a state-of-the-art Hilton Fitness Center to the largest ballroom in the Capital District, our amenities put us above and beyond other hotels in the area.With over 30,000 square feet of space for weddings, meetings and group travel, planners find delight with our downtown Albany hotel. Offering a professional catering staff, flexible venues and customizable online tools to assist in planning, Hilton Albany makes event planning a seamless exercise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing