We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay as always”
Review of Hilton Albany

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Albany
Ranked #16 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Strasburg, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great stay as always”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

I frequent this hotel about once a month and my stay is always enjoyable. Following their massive renovation, the hotel continues its charming service with a fresh look. Food is above par and wait staff is very attentive. Although at times the front desk can make one feel a little rushed (it is a very busy location), any and every request is fulfilled in a timely manner. The rooms are beautiful, the location ideal and the views commanding. My itinerary will not be changing in Albany!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefanbraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JD-GM-ALBHH, General Manager at Hilton Albany, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Stefanbraham,

Thank you for your recent review of the Hilton Albany on Trip Advisor. Reading about your frequecy of stays I am hoping that you already are a Hilton HHonors member ?? If not , then please let us enroll you during your next visit and if so, we thank you for your loyalty and look forward to serving you once again.

Yours in Service,

John D'Adamo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    298
    177
    115
    98
See reviews for
196
147
33
624
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bayside, New York
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Had a wonderful experience by hotel worker whose name was Shiriu. she was just someone that was proud to be part of Hilton, cared that she did the best she could for me and my wife in make sure all the little things were taken care of. It is not often these days that you run across someone that cares about how they do their job, expect nothing extra in return. I would go out of my way when I am in or even close to Albany to going to this hotel for that alone. Wish she was in some way rewarded for her true love of her job.

Room Tip: View overlooking the Capital was cool!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilGCarousso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JD-GM-ALBHH, General Manager at Hilton Albany, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear NeilGCarousso,

Thank you for your recent Five Star review of the Hilton Albany on Trip Advisor. As nice as it is to be rated so highly by our guests, it is even more significant when a guest, "such as you" points out exceptional service from one of our team members. Shirin at our Front Desk is the consumate professional. She always puts the guest first and ensures anyone who she checks in has an exceptional experience.

Thank you for Catching her at her Best !!!!

Regards,

John D'Adamo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The hotel was very nice. It was very easy to walk to places from the hotel. I stayed for business, so the company paid for the room, so I wasn't concerned about the cost. If I returned to the area, I may look for a place that was a little less expensive.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Taryn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JD-GM-ALBHH, General Manager at Hilton Albany, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Taryn N,

Thank you for your recent Four Star review of the Hilton Albany. Thank yu for your great ratings of our servcie, location and comfort. Please always check for great rates either on our website, or simply going directly to Hilton.com. Lastly, if you are not already please become a Hilton HHonors member. Thsi way for each and every stay in any of the Hilton Family of Brands hotels you will earn points towards a future stay.

Looking forward to hosting you again.

Warm regards,

John D'Adamo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uniondale, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

My organization has been booking our annual convention at this hotel for many years now. It was wonderful as another hotel chain, it is even more exceptional now. We are very familiar with the staff as they are with us. They are very accommodating, polite and will go out of their way to make your stay a great experience. My organization travels quite a bit during the year but Coming to this hotel is like coming home. The restaurant staff, housekeeping, engineers (janitorial) , banquet staff, front desk, managers, reservations, valets. Shuttle drivers EVERYONE IS FANTASTIC. LOVE THIS HOTEL

Room Tip: If traveling with children the junior suites are beautiful there is a king bed and living room area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JD-GM-ALBHH, General Manager at Hilton Albany, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Kim J,

Thank you for your kind words about our hotel and staff during your recent review of the Hilton Albany on Trip Advisor. It is always great to read when a guest calls your hotel their "home away from home". Our staff is knowledgable and proud to welcome back repeat convetions such as yours. I am proud of our team and I appreciate your recognition of them !!

All the Best !!!

Yours in Service,

John D'Adamo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The Hilton Albany and its staff are exquisite. It's located right in the heart of downtown Albany. With everything you would want on the premises, is within walking distance to museums, pubs, and restaurants.

Although I enjoyed my stay, there were a few issues. At first my room seemed immaculate until I went into the bathroom. The tub and sink were dirty and there was hair on the counter. I'm not talking about a little bit of hair either. It was enough to know the guest before me has long blonde hair and apparently spent a lengthy amount of time in the mirror. I understand that mistakes are made but I always stay at Hilton or Marriott hotels because of cleanliness and the attention to detail. An uncleaned bathroom is unacceptable to me!

My other gripe is the $12/night for parking. I travel often due to work and have never payed for parking while being a guest at a hotel. I know it may be a bit petty but I was there for a couple of days with a rental.

I have to mention the staff there is absolutely amazing and was extremely helpful. Other than that, great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Knd711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JD-GM-ALBHH, General Manager at Hilton Albany, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Knd711,

Thank you for your recent review of the Hilton Albany. I am happy that you were pleased with our staff and our service, but of course disappointed to read that your bathroom was not up to the standards you should expect from a hilton.

I would ike to know more about your room and location. Please feel free to email me at the address below.

Thank you.

John D'Adamo
General Manager
john.d'adamo@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The new renovations look nice but the quality of the service is lacking. I booked a room for two nights then added a third night. They said I would not have to check in again for the additional night. However, I found the bill slipped under my door after my 2nd night. I had to go to the desk and check in again. They also put another hold on my credit card so there are now two holds, 4 days still after checkout, on my bank card. The pool was closed with no explanation. It was just closed, in the middle of summer. I waited 15 minutes to get a drink at the bar that was not busy. This hotel is smack in the armpit of Albany and it sure shows. Downtown was dead on a Saturday night. All in all, I would not recommend this place at all when you have the Hampton Inn right down the street with free breakfast and houses a 4 star restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JD-GM-ALBHH, General Manager at Hilton Albany, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Tee S,

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel on Trip Advisor. I want to immediately apologize for the service you had received regarding your reservation. Your review is unique in the sense that you have expressed a deep concern about our location withn down town Albany. I must tell you that this has been a first reading this. Typically we are praised for our location in downtown Albany.

Please email directly at my email address below to discuss your review further, if you wish.

Thank you

Regards,

John D'Adamo
General Manager
john.d'adamo@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oakdale, ny, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Great location, VERY CLEAN, staff quite accomodating. Restaurant food- amazing-gourmet dining experience.. Enjoyed the bar area as well. The only critisism is the food in the executive lounge area was fair- not the same quality as the restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JD-GM-ALBHH, General Manager at Hilton Albany, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Jane S, Thank you for your recent review of the Hilton Albany on Trip Advisor. I was happy to read how we exceeded your expectations in all but one area. I have shared your comment with our Chef and also discussed it with our Executive Lounge attendants.

We look forward to hosting you once again.

Warm regards,

John D'Adamo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Albany Hotel
5.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany Medical Center
4.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Albany

Property: Hilton Albany
Address: 40 Lodge St, State & Lodge, Albany, NY 12207-2119 (Formerly Hotel Albany)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Albany 3.5*
Number of rooms: 385
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With completion of the $16 million renovations guests now see the dramatic and exciting change of the facility upon arrival starting with the new entrance, spacious lobby, guest registration counters and the beautiful Charter Restaurant and SESSIONS lounge. This new look brings a sophisticated and upscale setting to downtown Albany all designed to invite people to share, meet and socialize in the public areas of the hotel.The hotel is now 100% non-smoking in all guestrooms.The changes are extensive - including all the elevators, corridors, guest rooms and suites. Now renovated and upgraded meeting the newest standards which are exemplifying Hilton's commitment to its customers. Even the function areas, pool and fitness center have been completely remodeled for the comfort of our guests that provides a contemporary and comfortable environment to conduct business or just to relax.Hilton Albany is the smart choice for travel to Albany - offering comfort, convenience, and a wealth of amenities as well as HHonors points for guests. Located just one block from the New York State Capitol Building and two blocks from the Times Union Center, hotels don’t get any more downtown than this.Getting here is simple too – the Albany Rensselaer Amtrak Train Station is just five minutes away, and the Albany International Airport is just fifteen minutes from our door. Once you have arrived at our hotel in Albany, you’ll find that the best of the city can be found within a few steps in any direction. Hilton Albany is located in the heart of it all, making urban exploration exciting.This downtown Albany hotel is the largest in the area, boasting 385 oversized guest rooms and suites that lend themselves to sophisticated and comfortable travel. Guests at our full-service hotel can appreciate an array of perks that make any stay unbeatable. From complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel to a state-of-the-art Hilton Fitness Center to the largest ballroom in the Capital District, our amenities put us above and beyond other hotels in the area.With over 30,000 square feet of space for weddings, meetings and group travel, planners find delight with our downtown Albany hotel. Offering a professional catering staff, flexible venues and customizable online tools to assist in planning, Hilton Albany makes event planning a seamless exercise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing