We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't ask for anything nicer!”
Review of Hilton Albany

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Albany
Ranked #24 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Reviewed 26 August 2014

As a Business traveler, I was placed on the higher floor with privileges to the Executive Lounge ....Amazing sleeping room with beautiful living area, amazing stay and all the comforts that you could ask for as a business traveler!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Steven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JD-GM-ALBHH, General Manager at Hilton Albany, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2014

Dear Steven P,

Thank you for your recent Five Star review of the Hilton Albany on Trip Advisor. I was happy to see that we were able to upgrade you to one of our Hilton HHonors Executive Floors. I hope that you had the chance to enjoy our Executive Lounge as well.

We look forward to having you stay with us again when you travel south out of the North Country.

Cheers !!

John D'Adamo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

892 - 898 of 1,201 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

Stayed over-night while attending a relative's wedding reception. The hotel is adjacent to NY Routes 87 and 787 that afford easy access via auto. It is a 15-story, imposing building in Albany's Capitol Hill area. Our arrival pinpointed the only negative about the hotel: limited temporary parking at the hotel's entrance that requires unloading baggage, and then driving your car to the immediately adjacent elevator parking garage ($12.95 daily-no valet service).
However, that step aside, the hotel has a cool, modern open plan arrangement as you enter, with reception, bar, rest areas and restaurant. It was crowded and noisy on the Saturday afternoon we were there because of the confluence of several other weddings and meetings that were being held locally.
There are four elevators serving the hotel rooms, which, depending upon the customers, may entails a short wait for service .
The rooms and bathrooms are neat and clean and have been updated. Pillows and sheets are soft and beds comfortable. The rooms are 100% non-smoking and pets are not allowed.
Each room has an LCD TV with HBO, refrigerator, Wi-Fi, temperature and fan controller.
Hotel employees were gracious, helpful and friendly. We did not utilize and of the other facilities.
We opted for eating breakfast in the large restaurant. They have a selection of buffet or menu ordering. My wife an I opted for the menu and the cost for a basic egg/omelet with toast and orange juice was about $27.00 (w/o tip).
Generally we would recommend this hotel, based on its many pros and few cons. Relax and enjoy!

Room Tip: This a 15-story hotel. Get up high and away from elevator doors and ice machines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank HandsomeDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JD-GM-ALBHH, General Manager at Hilton Albany, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2014

Dear HandsomeDog,

Thank you for your recent review of the Hilton Albany on Trip Advisor . I was happy to read about your stay and experience at our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed all of your in room amenities , as well as our Charter Restauran for Breakfast. Your observation of how the Hilton Albany has become the true weekend destination for many wedding parties in downtown Albany is spot on. We were glad that you chose to stay with us.

All the Best !!

Sincerely,

John D'Adamo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We usually stay at Hilton's or Marriott's. This was the first time at this hotel. Definitely not family friendly. You have to park in a parking garage and the parking garage is not connected to the hotel. Extremely difficult to bring all of your bags in one trip. There were none of the usual amenities and all things in the hotel were super expensive. I suppose if someone is traveling for business it would be fine. The rooms were small and the bathroom was dirty and the shower was extremely small. The bathroom was very small in general. The great thing was the service. The cleaning lady and man that delivered our room service was great. They both went above and beyond. All hotel employees you encounter will ask if everything is going well and make sure you don't need anything. I wouldn't stay there again though.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank misssmiley1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JD-GM-ALBHH, General Manager at Hilton Albany, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear misssmiley1019,

Thank you for your recent review of the Hilton Albany. Let me start out by saying thank you for recognizing the efforts of our team and the wonderful level of service you received and should receive from our brand. Let me apologize for the condition of your bathroom. I will include my email below and you are more than welcome to email me in detail the issues you had encountered. Our parking garage does in fact connect to the hotel, however not directly into the lobby. It connects at our A Level where our Pool and Fitness Center are located.

Thank you again.

Yours in service,

John D'Adamo
General Manager
john.d'adamo@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We were only a 15 minute drive away but decided to spend the night and not worry about driving home after the wedding reception. A+ all around service from the people who were at the door, desk, bar, coffee shop and staff met thru out the hotel. We were greeted with a "good morning, etc) and a smile along with "may I help you with anything?" We cannot say enough about the staff. We were in room 1521 (King) with a view of the river, State and Pearl street. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was great-lots of hot water. There was a brunch provided by the bride and groom which was fantastic. The prices at the bar were fair. We did see several families that were using the facilities (pool, etc). There were 4 different weddings booked for this weekend which did result in a few minutes wait for an elevator (not a problem in the least). There is an attached garage and the parking was included. We were reminded how beautiful Albany is and how much it has to offer (food, parks, museums, etc. within walking distance).

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JD-GM-ALBHH, General Manager at Hilton Albany, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Terri B,

Thank you for your Five Star review of the Hilton Albany on Trip Advisor. I was very pleased to read how you gave our Team and "A+" for service throughout the hotel ! Our team makes our guets experience truly Five Star. I was very happy to know that we exceeded your expectations in all areas of service.

Thank you again.

Sincerely,

John D'Adamo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The recently renovated Albany Hilton is a great hotel if you have business in the Capitol region. It is a beautiful facility, has a great pool/whirlpool/fitness center, has much better than normal hotel food and is a great place for meetings and conferences. The rooms are nicely appointed, and have a refrigerator and coffee maker which are very convenient. The quality of toiletries provided is excellent. However, beyond the physical plant, it is the wonderful folks that make up the staff, from the doorman who greats you to the fabulous cook at the breakfast omelet station that make staying here so enjoyable. The staff goes out of it's way at all times to help you in any way possible, and I think I appreciate that most of all.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Alan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JD-GM-ALBHH, General Manager at Hilton Albany, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Alan O, Thank you for your recent Five Star review of the Hilton Albany ! I could not have been happier to read your review and how you truly feel about our staff. I agree that our renovations make the hotel look very nice; but you say it best how our staff makes the experience of your stay wonderful.

Thank you and we look forward to having you stay with us again.

Warm regards,

John D'Adamo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

My son and I stayed in the Hilton, Albany while attending the Baseball Hall of Fame induction in Cooperstown. It is about and hour and a half's commute. We enjoyed the hotel. Every member of the staff we encountered was warm and friendly and the person who checked us in stayed past her going home time to help us.
The hotel was clean and the main thing that I could see that needed attention was the bathtub had some missing pieces of porcelin.

Room Tip: The parking lot was a little tricky to get in. If you drive through the lobby entrance it will be o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ted S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JD-GM-ALBHH, General Manager at Hilton Albany, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Ted S,

Thank you for your recent review of the Hilton Albany. It was truly a Hall of Fame year for Atlanta Braves fans. I hope you and your son enjoyed the induction ceremony and Cooperstown. Thank you as well for metioning your bathtub. I have included my email address below and if you are so inclined I would love a direct email so that I can get your last name and see what room you stayed in, so that I may repair the tub.

Thank you again.

Regards,

John D'Adamo
General Manager
john.d'adamo@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

The hotel was great. We did not arrive till late at night, and had to leave early in the morning. Hilton Honors is the best. The hotel staff were very friendly . The beds were very comfortable and the room clean.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Darlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JD-GM-ALBHH, General Manager at Hilton Albany, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Darlene M,

Thank you for your recent Five Star review on Trip Advisor. I was happy to read that our Front Desk team recognized you as an HHonors member and that your were able to enjoy the benefits of being a Hilton HHonors member. We look forward to serving you again upon your next visit to Albany

Warm regards,

John D'Adamo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Albany Hotel
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany Medical Center
5.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Albany

Address: 40 Lodge St, State & Lodge, Albany, NY 12207-2119 (Formerly Hotel Albany)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Price Range: £100 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Albany 3.5*
Number of rooms: 385
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With completion of the $16 million renovations guests now see the dramatic and exciting change of the facility upon arrival starting with the new entrance, spacious lobby, guest registration counters and the beautiful Charter Restaurant and SESSIONS lounge. This new look brings a sophisticated and upscale setting to downtown Albany all designed to invite people to share, meet and socialize in the public areas of the hotel.The hotel is now 100% non-smoking in all guestrooms.The changes are extensive - including all the elevators, corridors, guest rooms and suites. Now renovated and upgraded meeting the newest standards which are exemplifying Hilton's commitment to its customers. Even the function areas, pool and fitness center have been completely remodeled for the comfort of our guests that provides a contemporary and comfortable environment to conduct business or just to relax.Hilton Albany is the smart choice for travel to Albany - offering comfort, convenience, and a wealth of amenities as well as HHonors points for guests. Located just one block from the New York State Capitol Building and two blocks from the Times Union Center, hotels don’t get any more downtown than this.Getting here is simple too – the Albany Rensselaer Amtrak Train Station is just five minutes away, and the Albany International Airport is just fifteen minutes from our door. Once you have arrived at our hotel in Albany, you’ll find that the best of the city can be found within a few steps in any direction. Hilton Albany is located in the heart of it all, making urban exploration exciting.This downtown Albany hotel is the largest in the area, boasting 385 oversized guest rooms and suites that lend themselves to sophisticated and comfortable travel. Guests at our full-service hotel can appreciate an array of perks that make any stay unbeatable. From complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel to a state-of-the-art Hilton Fitness Center to the largest ballroom in the Capital District, our amenities put us above and beyond other hotels in the area.With over 30,000 square feet of space for weddings, meetings and group travel, planners find delight with our downtown Albany hotel. Offering a professional catering staff, flexible venues and customizable online tools to assist in planning, Hilton Albany makes event planning a seamless exercise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hilton Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing