We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
Ranked #10 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

We chose this as hotel due to the ideal location near Times Union Center. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Friendly front desk staff, check-in was seamless. Nice choices for breakfast offered. Walking distance to many different places in downtown Albany.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SUGARPEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy L, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Dear SUGARPEE,

We truly appreciate you taking the time to write a review for us. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and found our location so convenient. Guest satisfaction and cleanliness are of the utmost importance to us so we’re glad that those were two of the best parts of your stay. There are always great events happening in Albany so we would love to have you back next time you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    471
    293
    105
    54
    34
See reviews for
226
203
53
379
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

Just had 2 weeks there, excellent location for us , great room friendly service, well worth a try and expect to stay there again in the future. Friendlly staff and ideal for us.Good brakfast and or pack lunch bag offered monday to friday. Coffee on tap daily downstairs.

Room Tip: Front of building On second floor fine for is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnGEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy L, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Dear JohnGEssex,

Thank you so much for the great comments! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you hope to come back again. Our staff strives to provide the best service possible to our guests, especially those who stay with us for an extended period of time. We certainly look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

Clean and comfortable. Excellent restaurant in lobby. In the heart of downtown Albany. Breakfast very good, comfortable breakfast area. Only complaint is that parking is valet and costs $12.50. Lot seems large enough to self park, but it is valet only. Approximately 5 minutes to Capitol building and Empire Statre Plaza by car. Within walking distance to those areas if ambitious.

Room Tip: There is a "Women's Floor" that based on availability can be requested when booking or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SINYTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy L, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
SINYTraveler,

Thank you for your review. We love to hear that our guests are finding our hotel clean and comfortable, we take pride in making sure you have a great experience! I’m sorry that you were not completely satisfied by the parking available in our lot. The lot is owned and managed by a separate company, however we value your feedback and appreciate your comments on things that make your stay less than perfect. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
102 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

I was overnight for a morning court appearance, and the property is literally about 2 blocks away from the Supreme Court building. Only the Hotel Albany is closer, and I'd avoid it until Hilton finishes up its rebranding and renovations.

The room was comfortable and large, with an empty fridge for your convenience. There was free coffee and breakfast in the lobby downstairs, and the restaurants/bar are not only incredibly convenient, but quite good.

Parking is valet and for a fee, out back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BuffaloPundit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy L, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Dear BuffaloPundit,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and found us so convenient! As a Hilton brand, we certainly take pride in making our guests comfortable and providing amenities that you will love such as the complimentary breakfast, in-room refrigerator and two on-site restaurants. Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest Hills, NY
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

I stayed at the Hampton in on Chapel Street while on a business trip in Albany.

The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful and made me feel right at home.

The lobby is nicely furnished with a large seating area with very comfortable chairs and couches...even a fireplace.

The king size bedded room was spotlessly clean and well appointed. The bed was extremely comfortable and there was a nice day bed as well to lounge in. The lighting in the room was excellent and was conducive for doing some work at the desk.

The breakfast buffet was really nice - included hot items includding omelettes, waffels and oatmeal.

I highly recommend staying here if you are visiting this area.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marissa B, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review. We take pride in delivering excellent service to our guests and providing a memorable experience. Your feedback is instrumental in helping us to achieve and maintain this goal. We will soon be remodeling our lobby area in an effort to enhance our guests’ experience. Please come visit us and tell us what you think! Thank you again for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

Set in the middle of Albany and handy for the restaurants etc. The beds and linen in Hampton Inns guarantees a good nights sleep. This place is very friendly - all the staff we met were welcoming and couldn't do enough to make us feel welcome. On-site parking is a bit of a bore (having to hand keys over to the staff of the privately run company who charge $12.5 a night) but that is a minor quibble. Stayed for 4 nights on business then chose to return the following week as so impressed. Reasonably priced as well.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanH294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marissa B, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown, responded to this review, 15 September 2012
Thank you for taking the opportunity to comment via TripAdvisor’s Traveler's Review, on your recent stay at the Hampton Inn & Suites Albany Downtown. We value any and all feedback we receive from our Guests; especially the reviews we receive from our TripAdvisor users. We take great pride and effort to maintain the high quality standards expected by guests who choose Hilton Brands as their point of destination. Our Hampton 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is very important to us, and it is rewarding to see that our guests do notice!

Your feedback is instrumental and invaluable in helping us achieve our goal of providing excellent customer service and a memorable guest experience. If your travel plans bring you to the Albany area in the future, we hope that you choose the Hampton Inn & Suites Albany Downtown as your home away from home. Thank you again from your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

I was in Albany recently looking at colleges for my daughter. I did not book a hotel before I went, knowing that there were many hotels in that area to chose from. When I arrived in Albany all the hotels were booked or asking very high prices. We have stayed in the Hampton inns before in various locations and always had a good experience and this was no different. The hotel was very clean and a good size room. We did not use the facilities, but they did have an pool and fitness center. The breakfast in the morning was very good and had a fair selection of choices. The only complaint, I have is that when we booked the hotel they did not tell us that there was an additional cost to park the car. It would have been nice to know about this additional charge before we checked in.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barbara g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marissa B, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
Dear barbara g,

I am so appreciative that you took the time to review your stay at our property! Thank you for your comments on the cleanliness of the hotel as well as our complimentary buffet. To clear up any confusion for other TripAdvisor viewers, we do have an updated work-out facility on property but do not have a pool. However, we do work in conjunction with a local fitness center that has a pool and can offer complimentary passes to use their facility. Next time you're in town please do not hesitate to ask the front desk for passes available Mon-Sat. I do apologize that you were not notified of the additional parking fee for the privately owned parking lot adjacent to our hotel and appreciate your comments so our front desk team will be more aware to notify guests. Thank you again barbara g and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Albany Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Albany
Hilton Albany
#15 of 50 in Albany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
5.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
4.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
Address: 25 Chapel Street, Albany, NY 12210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Albany
#5 Business Hotel in Albany
#6 Family Hotel in Albany
#8 Romantic Hotel in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The upscale downtown Albany hotel features 121 lavishly-appointed guest rooms, 35 suites with microwaves and refrigerators, eight whirlpool suites and one executive 2-room suite. The new hotel boasts wired and wireless Internet access, complimentary On the House® hot breakfast, on-site exercise facility with sauna and steam room, plenty of meeting space (we specialize in law firm deposition meetings), fresh hot coffee and tea in the lobby 24/7 and, of course, Hilton HHonors® points and miles for your stay. Eleven accessible rooms are available. All rooms and suites are smoke free and feature the Clean and Fresh Hampton Bed™. Welcome to Albany’s brightest new star!Yono’s Restaurant, and dp, an American Brasserie, share space near the entrance of the Hampton Inn & Suites! Just a step through the doorway for hotel guests, this upscale fine-dining restaurant features creative continental and Indonesian cuisine for a memorable dining experience.The Hampton Inn & Suites Albany Downtown is centrally and conveniently located to many downtown attractions, government buildings and points of interest. Business travelers will enjoy easy access to the area’s many businesses and corporations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown Hotel Albany
Hampton Inn And Suites Albany - Downtown
Hampton Inn Hotel Albany
Hampton Inn Albany
Albany Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing