We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,162)
Filter reviews
1,162 results
Traveller rating
574
355
133
63
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
574
355
133
63
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews front desk valet parking palace theatre within walking distance pearl street valet service bars and restaurants complimentary breakfast parking lot times union center empire state plaza business trip very nice hotel new york the breakfast area yogurt wallace
Filter
Updating list...
932 - 937 of 1,162 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2013

A disappointing one night. Had room 608, which is just big enough for the two queen beds and desk. No comfortable sitting chair. Since the window doesn't open, needed to keep the fan blowing all the time to get some air into the room; when sitting at the desk to do some work, the fan blew right on me, and was so loud I had trouble talking on the phone. Then there's the lighting. The choice of fluorescent bulbs is so harsh on the eyes as to be unpleasant. Found it difficult to shave due to the distance of the mirror in the bathroom; no shaving mirror. Pillows were poor quality foam rubber. On the plus side, staff always courteous and helpful. Maybe the suites are better but certainly wouldn't stay again in this room.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlackPlace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy L, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2013

Dear BlackPlace,
Thank you for staying with us and sharing feedback on your recent stay at our hotel. We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know how we are doing and are very sorry you were disappointed in the amenities and layout of your guest room. We take all comments under consideration as we constantly work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will come visit us again in the future as our staff will work with you to make it a great experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

The hotel was welcoming, clean and had a wonderful breakfast. The staff was very friendly and helpful and my husband and I were pleased with the room. We really enjoyed the buffet breakfat in the morning. The food the well presented and fresh witha nice variety of items.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CookieGram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy L, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2013

Dear CookieGram,
Thank you for taking the time to write such wonderful things about your experience. Our hotel is committed to the satisfaction of every guest that stays with us, which is why it is so rewarding to get feedback like yours. On behalf of the entire staff, we thank you for your very kind words, and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

The hotel is set back far enough from the highway to not hear the road noise at all ( I had a room at the rear of the building). The lobby staff was exceptional, the room and bathroom were clean and the beds very comfortable and well covered. Although I didn't get a chance to use the fitness I saw it and it was exceptional, with the option of saunas, steam room, massage chair and tanning bed. There was no iPhone charger.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

I travel for work, and have stayed at many hotels on business trips, and I have to say this one is by far one of the most homey and welcoming hotels I've stayed at. The staff go out of their way to know you. The rooms are nice, especially for the price and location. They have a "women's floor" which is the third floor of the hotel, and is only accessible by key. The floor also has extra amenities, such as free water bottles, healthy snacks, health tips for women, microwaves in the rooms, and very nice bathroom supplies (razor, tweezer, and great products).

The hotel also has a lovely restaurant that you can eat at or order carry out from.

Room Tip: If you're a woman traveling on your own, I'd highly recommend trying to get a room on the women's floor.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy L, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Greetings Christi P,
You blew us away with your kind words about our hotel and our staff and we thank you so much for taking the time to write to us. We strive to make our hotel a ‘home away from home’ for our guests and we’re so glad that you feel that. Thank you for also mentioning our women’s floor as that is something we are truly proud of. Proceeds from the floor go to the American Cancer Society and breast cancer research which is an amazing partnership. We hope you will be back to stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Nice hotel, with updated rooms and lobby. Excellent and friendly Front Desk Staff. Not far from major attractions within walking distance to town center. Avoid room behind elevators, you can hear a swooshing noise made by elevators going up and down. Would return when back in town.

Room Tip: avoid one near elevator shaft.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mds63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy L, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Hi MDS63,
Thank you for taking some time to leave us your feedback from your recent stay. We’re very happy that you found our staff to be friendly and the hotel convenient to attractions. Thank you for noticing our recent lobby renovation, we love our new look! We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews