We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Mediocre but convenient” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
Ranked #10 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Upstate NY
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Mediocre but convenient”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Disclaimer: I am a clean freak, so my expectations might be higher than most.
When in town for business at the Capitol, I stayed two nights. The first night, my bed cover was a lumpy mess (lumpy duvet insert). The air conditioner vents needed cleaning and though I did clean them myself, I still woke up with an allergic headache. The bed was very comfy! My second night stay was impromptu, so I had a different room which was cleaner. Visited a friend staying in a suite and it was roomy and well-appointed. The Inn doesn't have a shuttle, but a taxi van from Marty's Transportation was on site much of the time. The cost was $8.00 to go 5 or 6 blocks up the hill. You can leave your car in the lot for the day, even after you check out. ($12.50/day) I made the mistake of taking a yellow cab back to the hotel and it was a disgusting mess--that driver makes a point of picking up stray cats daily. (enough said), so try to use Marty's if possible. The breakfast was standard-- fruit, juice, yogurt, coffee, 'egg omelets', sausage/bacon, bagels, etc. The desk staff was very friendly, as was the parking lot valet.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Livetotell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Livetotell,
Thank you for being a guest of ours and for also taking the time to provide your feedback about your most recent stay with us here in Downtown Albany. We take all of our reviews and feedback from our guests and utilize each one to make every future stay the best stay for all of our guests. I am pleased to see you enjoyed our comfortable beds, and the service that Marty’s Taxi provided. I will be sure to discuss with our executive housekeeper and their department about the high importance of guest room vents and making sure all duvets are properly inserted to ensure all of our guests have the perfect room to start a memorable stay with us. Again, thank you for being a guest of ours and for also sharing your feedback about your most recent stay. We would love to have you as our guest for any future returns to the area to better your experience. Thank you and safe travels!

Amy Bridges
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    463
    291
    102
    53
    34
See reviews for
220
199
52
376
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Was a guest at this Inn a few days ago.

No staff at front door to greet us and found parking at entrance a little confusing..ended up leaving car in a very small driveway and proceeded inside to front desk..

Front desk staff explained parking was located at back of hotel in a secured area which ended up being quite good as attendant takes the car and parks it for you. There is a convenient back door to inn from the lot .

Pleasant bar area and bistro type restaurant on premises...both quite nice and lively.

Room was a little small but clean and well equipped with everything needed for a quick stay...had a king bed which was comfortable enough but is starting to show some wear..linens are white but beginning to look a little grey, possibly due to overwashing.. okay bathroom...room had a disinfectant odour when first arrived but this soon disappeared.

Window view was terrible..looked over heating and cooling units ..a bit disappointing as this was our first visit to Albany and would have preferred something a bit prettier to look at.

Breakfast included in price ..served in main lobby....food looked okay but after having our morning coffee, decided to walk to a neighbourhood restaurant to have our meal.. the inn breakfast is not really the type of environment we enjoy for our morning meal.

Must give a good mention for our bellhop "Wallace"...pleasant guy who was quite helpful in answering our questions and just an overall pleasant attitude.

One elevator(there are two) not working during our stay but not a big inconvenience.

Will not stay here again but would still recommend for a short visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wendy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Wendy F,
Thank you for being a guest of ours and for also taking the time to provide your feedback about our property here in Downtown Albany. We appreciate all guest feedback and use it as a training opportunity to better our hotel for all of our current and future guests. I am pleased to see you enjoyed our clean guest rooms that had all the necessary amenities and also our comfortable beds. I will be sure to bring to the attention of our executive housekeeper the possible wear of the linens. DP’s and Yonos is an excellent place to dine while staying at our property, I am glad you enjoyed your dining experience. Our parking is located in the back of the hotel which is great and convenient for our guests. We have signs directing our guests to the back side of our hotel to help assist with any confusion. I am pleased to hear you had a chance to encounter Wallace. He is a great asset to our team and he is always willing to help our guests with any questions or needs. I will be sure to share your kind words with him. I would love to invite you back to our property to better your overall experience with a fantastic view of Albany and for you to also try our delicious breakfast in the morning. Again, thank you for being a guest of ours and for sharing your most recent stay with us. We would love to have you as a guest for any future stays. Thank you and safe travels!

Amy Bridges
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owings, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

This hotel is very nice and quiet. I love the furnishing in the lobby and rooms. The staff was very helpful and very nice. My room was very spacious and clean. I will definitely return to this hotel. I loved the fact that it had valet parking and your vehicle was in a private lot that was secured. The complimentary breakfast was good and the are was very clean.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Charlene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meaghan W, Sales Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Charlene,

Thank you so much for staying at the Hampton Inn & Suites Albany Downtown and taking the time to review our hotel. I am so glad you had a wonderful stay and that you enjoyed everything at our hotel. I am especially thrilled that you found everything to be clean and that you found our staff to be friendly & helpful. We take great pride in the level of staff and the quality of work everyone does and I'm so glad you were able to experience the same!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and please come back and see us again soon. Have a wonderful & safe 4th of July weekend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Albans, Vermont
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

This was a great stay! The room was very clean and comfortable! We stayed two (2) nights, Saturday and Sunday. Everyone was friendly and accommodating, three cheers for Zac at the front desk! Nice breakfast included. Was surprised there was a fee for overnight parking, but felt safe with the valet, worth the $$. Unfortunately, we booked through Travelocity, they did not accept our AAA for the discount, and was traveling with my sister, so was disappointed that the 3rd floor was a secure woman's floor and that wasn't mentioned either! 2 strikes for Travelocity!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meaghan W, Sales Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Debvt,

Thank you so much for staying at the Hampton Inn & Suites Albany Downtown and for taking the time to review us! I am very glad that your room was up to your standards and you found our staff to be kind and helpful- that is always our goal! I will pass along your kind words to Zach; he's fantastic, isn't he? I am sorry you were surprised by the valet fee, but I do agree that it adds a level of safety which we all enjoy. I also do apologize for the confusion with Travelocity, hopefully we can get it cleared up and that won't be an issue again in the future!

Thank you again for taking the time to review us, and please come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

I had a wonderful stay the this hotel, polite staff, clean rooms. All was in order for my husband and I. Would recommend this hotel to my family and friends. Hoping to get another chance to be a guest at these wonderful hotels.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Nicki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meaghan W, Sales Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Nicki,

Thank you so much for your review and for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites Albany Downtown! I am thrilled that you had a wonderful stay and that everything was up to your liking. I will pass along your kind words to my colleagues, we truly appreciate your feedback!
Please do come back and see us again, we would love to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobile AL, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed in this hotel on one night of our celebration of our 45th wedding anniversary. The hotel is convenient to the historic Palace Theater, the venue of the show we went to see in Albany. We had gotten a restaurant recommendation from a friend who knows Albany well. Imagin our surprise when the restaurant turned our to be located in the hotel. The food and service were excellent. We have had many wonderful experiences in small but sophisticated cities, and our stay at the Hampton Inn brought our the best of our memorable trip to Albany.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meaghan W, Sales Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Robert,

Thank you so much for staying at the Hampton Inn & Suites Albany Downtown and taking the time to review our hotel. First of all, Happy 45th Anniversary! What a wonderful milestone! I am so glad you chose to spend your special occasion with us and got to go to the Palace and experience the wonderful dining of Yono's. I will be sure to pass along your kind words to the restaurant staff.
Thank you so much for staying with us and please come back again soon, we loved having you here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Good sized rooms, friendly staff, great downtown location near lots of restaurants and bars. Stayed here for business at Albany Medical College, which is about 20 minute walk. Breakfast was standard for a Hampton, a good way to start the day if strictly utilitarian. Only minor problem was that one elevator was broken, but I assume this would be fixed. Valet parking next to the hotel was 12.50. Windows don't open, which I prefer, but cooling system was fine.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 57_Mercator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meaghan W, Sales Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
57_Mercator,

Thank you so much for staying at the Hampton Inn & Suites Albany Downtown and taking the time to review us! I am glad that you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed our rooms, staff, and our fabulous location! I am glad you were able to walk to Albany Med and also enjoy our breakfast; be sure to check it out again on your next visit, we are always looking for ways to improve it! I am sorry that the broken elevator was an inconvenience to you (& others) but it has since been fixed and will be ready for you on your next visit!

Thank you again for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites Albany Downtown, we truly appreciate having you here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Albany Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Albany
Hilton Albany
#14 of 50 in Albany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
5.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
4.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
Address: 25 Chapel Street, Albany, NY 12210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Albany
#5 Business Hotel in Albany
#6 Family Hotel in Albany
#8 Romantic Hotel in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The upscale downtown Albany hotel features 121 lavishly-appointed guest rooms, 35 suites with microwaves and refrigerators, eight whirlpool suites and one executive 2-room suite. The new hotel boasts wired and wireless Internet access, complimentary On the House® hot breakfast, on-site exercise facility with sauna and steam room, plenty of meeting space (we specialize in law firm deposition meetings), fresh hot coffee and tea in the lobby 24/7 and, of course, Hilton HHonors® points and miles for your stay. Eleven accessible rooms are available. All rooms and suites are smoke free and feature the Clean and Fresh Hampton Bed™. Welcome to Albany’s brightest new star!Yono’s Restaurant, and dp, an American Brasserie, share space near the entrance of the Hampton Inn & Suites! Just a step through the doorway for hotel guests, this upscale fine-dining restaurant features creative continental and Indonesian cuisine for a memorable dining experience.The Hampton Inn & Suites Albany Downtown is centrally and conveniently located to many downtown attractions, government buildings and points of interest. Business travelers will enjoy easy access to the area’s many businesses and corporations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown Hotel Albany
Hampton Inn And Suites Albany - Downtown
Hampton Inn Hotel Albany
Hampton Inn Albany
Albany Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing