We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
Ranked #10 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Long Island, NY
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Stay”
Reviewed 16 June 2010

Stayed here for just one night for a wedding. Cannot comment about the price as we stayed on hotel points. The hotel was very nice and clean. The staff we encountered were all very friendly. Parking is annoying since you have to pay, but then again you are right downtown. It was only $12 so it wasn't too bad, and you can charge it right to your room. DIdn't have any problem with the room or noise, and there were quite a few rowdy people in the hotel that night (bachelor and bachelorette parties, etc). The most annoying thing was 8am church bells and loudspeaker going off from the church across the street. After a late night, it would have been nice to be able to sleep in a little later. The 12pm check out is nice. Would stay here again, without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    503
    314
    113
    57
    36
See reviews for
243
218
58
405
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vero Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2010

My first stay at this property was very pleasant. As a business woman traveling alone, the hotel upgraded me to a suite on the Empire floor. This is a floor that is restricted on certain days of the week to women traveling alone. It is very nice and truly does make a woman feel safe. My husband accompanied me on my most recent business trip to Albany, so staying on the Empire floor was not an option. Instead we stayed in what I assume is one of the hotel's standard rooms. It was a sleepless night beginning with the two cars of drunks partying in the parking lot across from the hotel. When one appeared lifeless on the ground, I called the front desk to ask that they call the police. Nothing happened. Next came the guests and their friends in the room next to ours. They were having a wonderful time - from 1-4 AM -and it sounded like they were right in our room. Honestly, we could have been a part of the party had we wanted. In truth, though, these people were not being wild and crazy. It was simply a group of friends talking and laughing; yet, it seemed like there was absolutely nothing between our room and theirs. I was shocked at the complete lack of sound-proofing, given that this hotel is a relatively new property.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CAP1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, NY
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2010

The staff is outstanding. The business office has been very accommodating. Breakfast on the go is a great feature. A business center with a color printer would be a nice added feature.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2010

Very clean hotel with a very attentive and friendly staff. I've stayed at a number of hotels in the Albany area and this was one of the better run and better quality hotels in the area. Great free breakfast and I ate at the American Bistro restaurant one night which was pretty decent. Great for business travel.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Surferhidc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2010

I've recommended this hotel to colleagues in the past and will continue to do so in the future. It's the best value for a small hotel in Albany. The Staff is caring and absolutely charming. They really go out of their way to make you feel at home. The rooms are always clean and the beds are delightful.
There is no room service but the abundance of restaurants in the vicinity that deliver to the hotel adequately makes up for this. And added bonus is the hot breakfast served every morning.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cwatson21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2010

I have to go to Albany several times a year for business. Albany is not an exciting town, however what makes the trip bearable is The Hampton Inn. It is clean and still looks new. The breakfast does the job and the fresh cookies at 5pm always hit the spot. Good choice of cable channels and the proximity to all the government buildings is a brisk, but short walk. Internet is free and reliable - the parking does cost however, but there is no other place to park in Albany and you can leave your car while you do all you need to do business wise. The service has always been superior - from dealing with Jennifer in group sales to the front desk staff. Always feel very welcomed and would highly recommend!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank li33gwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY, NY
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2010

Thanks to the prior Trip Advisor reviews for this hotel, I stayed at HI Downtown. It was perfect for my overnight business stay. The free hot/cold breakfast was amazing - much better than I had anticipated. They had everything that one could want for breakfast and more. The staff was friendly and the members went out of their way to be helpful - each one was like this. I checked out in the am and was able to leave my bags (I don't travel light unfortunately) at the desk. They gave me a ticket and upon pick-up in the afternoon I asked the price and they said no cost. This was a big help to me so I didn't have to lug my stuff around. And for free after I checked out? Wow. One thing that I would mention is that there is no room service in case someone arrives late and hopes for dinner in the room. I got there on a Sunday night and the restaurants were closed. They give you a map with several restaurants listed and the young man at the desk told me which were open on a Sunday night and the times up to which they served dinner. (I walked down to Jack's Oyster restaurant and it was wonderful - really recommend it - about six blocks away) Women may want to take a cab to that restaurant as on a Jan Sunday night the area was pretty deserted. The desk people are helpful as far as that goes. There is a floor for women and the card key permits access only to that floor - first time I've seen that.I completely agree w the other commentators - staff exceptionally nice, particularly notable for a hotel which is not a five star one. I found that the Albany people are like that though!

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Littlebitfussy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Albany
Hilton Albany
#16 of 50 in Albany
1,118 reviews
5.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Albany Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany Medical Center
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
Address: 25 Chapel Street, Albany, NY 12210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Albany
#5 Business Hotel in Albany
#6 Family Hotel in Albany
#8 Romantic Hotel in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The upscale downtown Albany hotel features 121 lavishly-appointed guest rooms, 35 suites with microwaves and refrigerators, eight whirlpool suites and one executive 2-room suite. The new hotel boasts wired and wireless Internet access, complimentary On the House® hot breakfast, on-site exercise facility with sauna and steam room, plenty of meeting space (we specialize in law firm deposition meetings), fresh hot coffee and tea in the lobby 24/7 and, of course, Hilton HHonors® points and miles for your stay. Eleven accessible rooms are available. All rooms and suites are smoke free and feature the Clean and Fresh Hampton Bed™. Welcome to Albany’s brightest new star!Yono’s Restaurant, and dp, an American Brasserie, share space near the entrance of the Hampton Inn & Suites! Just a step through the doorway for hotel guests, this upscale fine-dining restaurant features creative continental and Indonesian cuisine for a memorable dining experience.The Hampton Inn & Suites Albany Downtown is centrally and conveniently located to many downtown attractions, government buildings and points of interest. Business travelers will enjoy easy access to the area’s many businesses and corporations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown Hotel Albany
Hampton Inn And Suites Albany - Downtown
Hampton Inn Hotel Albany
Hampton Inn Albany
Albany Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing