We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the extra drive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
Ranked #7 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 31 July 2010

A last minute reservation at 10 pm, turned out to be one of the best places we found. A little leary of staying in downtown, as we are will all downtown cities, but Albany surprised us. Staff was great. Placed us in a suite at a great cost, and couldn't have been more pleased. Bed was extremely comfortable, room was clean, quiet, large, big screen TV included. Breakfast in the morning was, as always by Hampton, great. Nice variety of items. Breakfast is included in your stay. Only downfall was the $12.95 to park in their lot. No other parking was available. Not mentioned until we had checked in. It was a gated lot, attendent present. But, maybe Hampton could include parking with a stay. Just a suggestion.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NevadaCowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,097)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,007 - 1,013 of 1,097 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2010

My husband and I stayed here for a night on our way south. We were very pleased with the room - very clean, everything looked nice and new. Breakfast was an average continental, but that's what we were expecting. Fitness room was nice enough - machines in good shape, towels, and TV. Front desk staff was very friendly and efficient. One thing to note is that parking is an extra fee (can't remember how much).

Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank kmm620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2010

The wife and I needed a place to stay for the night as a stop over on the way up to Montreal. Found this for $72 (after tax) and jumped on it. Very very satisfied with out choice. Modern, sleep and very clean rooms. Comfortable beds and great pillows. Flat screen and free wifi a huge plus. The free breakfast spread in the morning was plentiful and constantly refilled.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Playsmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2010

This hotel looks pretty new in downtown Albany. Large lobby/breakfast area. This hotel has a floor that is just for woman travelers during the week but on weekends anyone can be booked onto this floor. We got placed on this floor and you needed instructions for how to access the floor. The front desk clerk was not helpful at check-in explaining how to get to this floor, luckily another staff person saw us struggling and pleasantly came to our assistance. Room was standard fare and it was clean. Be aware, there is a $12 fee for parking your car! There were multiple basketball teams booked into the hotel this night though overnight we were not disturbed by any noise so maybe the hotel has noise insulation? Breakfast was good though the staff was having difficulty keeping up with refilling the food but again, there were multiple basketball teams and those boys can eat! I am thinking this is not the best neighborhood though I have minimal knowledge as to its safety.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ski&brew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2010

Stayed here for just one night for a wedding. Cannot comment about the price as we stayed on hotel points. The hotel was very nice and clean. The staff we encountered were all very friendly. Parking is annoying since you have to pay, but then again you are right downtown. It was only $12 so it wasn't too bad, and you can charge it right to your room. DIdn't have any problem with the room or noise, and there were quite a few rowdy people in the hotel that night (bachelor and bachelorette parties, etc). The most annoying thing was 8am church bells and loudspeaker going off from the church across the street. After a late night, it would have been nice to be able to sleep in a little later. The 12pm check out is nice. Would stay here again, without hesitation.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2010

My first stay at this property was very pleasant. As a business woman traveling alone, the hotel upgraded me to a suite on the Empire floor. This is a floor that is restricted on certain days of the week to women traveling alone. It is very nice and truly does make a woman feel safe. My husband accompanied me on my most recent business trip to Albany, so staying on the Empire floor was not an option. Instead we stayed in what I assume is one of the hotel's standard rooms. It was a sleepless night beginning with the two cars of drunks partying in the parking lot across from the hotel. When one appeared lifeless on the ground, I called the front desk to ask that they call the police. Nothing happened. Next came the guests and their friends in the room next to ours. They were having a wonderful time - from 1-4 AM -and it sounded like they were right in our room. Honestly, we could have been a part of the party had we wanted. In truth, though, these people were not being wild and crazy. It was simply a group of friends talking and laughing; yet, it seemed like there was absolutely nothing between our room and theirs. I was shocked at the complete lack of sound-proofing, given that this hotel is a relatively new property.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CAP1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2010

The staff is outstanding. The business office has been very accommodating. Breakfast on the go is a great feature. A business center with a color printer would be a nice added feature.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown
5.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
0.2 mi away
Hilton Albany
Hilton Albany
#25 of 50 in Albany
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Albany Hotel
4.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown

Address: 25 Chapel Street, Albany, NY 12210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Albany
#5 Business Hotel in Albany
#6 Family Hotel in Albany
#8 Romantic Hotel in Albany
Price Range: £95 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The upscale downtown Albany hotel features 121 lavishly-appointed guest rooms, 35 suites with microwaves and refrigerators, eight whirlpool suites and one executive 2-room suite. The new hotel boasts wired and wireless Internet access, complimentary On the House® hot breakfast, on-site exercise facility with sauna and steam room, plenty of meeting space (we specialize in law firm deposition meetings), fresh hot coffee and tea in the lobby 24/7 and, of course, Hilton HHonors® points and miles for your stay. Eleven accessible rooms are available. All rooms and suites are smoke free and feature the Clean and Fresh Hampton Bed™. Welcome to Albany’s brightest new star!Yono’s Restaurant, and dp, an American Brasserie, share space near the entrance of the Hampton Inn & Suites! Just a step through the doorway for hotel guests, this upscale fine-dining restaurant features creative continental and Indonesian cuisine for a memorable dining experience.The Hampton Inn & Suites Albany Downtown is centrally and conveniently located to many downtown attractions, government buildings and points of interest. Business travelers will enjoy easy access to the area’s many businesses and corporations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown Hotel Albany
Hampton Inn And Suites Albany - Downtown
Hampton Inn Hotel Albany
Hampton Inn Albany
Albany Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing