We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Albany Downtown
Ranked #14 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
California
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good Value”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stayed here on a Saturday night. The valet staff was very nice to tell me that street parking was free on weekends so I didn't have to pay the $16 valet fee. The room was nice, bathroom very roomy with 2 showers although we were not able to take advantage of that. Bed was extremely comfortable. The hotel is also at a very convenient location, within short walking distance to the capitol building and Empire State Plaza. Not very impressed with breakfast but it was adequate, with scrambled eggs, sausages, waffle, fruit bowl, juices, cereal, etc. Overall, it's a good value for the price we've paid. Will stay here again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joy4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Albany Downtown, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Joy4ever,

Thank you for the compliments! We will take your comments and work together as a team to make things the best they can be! We hope to see you again the next time you're in Albany!

Sincerely,

Andrew Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    139
    44
    18
    12
See reviews for
65
101
20
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stayed at 74 State for one night....staff was VERY friendly, Andrew W...Faith and Chritian. They have taken out the a la carte breakfast which is now a continental. Faith did an outstanding job of organizing items so you didn't have to search for things. Andrew was wonderful at the front desk and Christian was very helpful at the valet...thanks again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbiem842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Albany Downtown, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Debbie M,

Thank you for reviewing us! We love getting feedback about our stellar service! We hope to see you again!

Sincerely,

Andrew Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I have worked in the hotel industry for 20 years.before switching to my current job, this place is great! From the friendly front desk, to the wonderful valet.... The rooms are very clean..... Even passed my dust test..
The amenities. From free water, free coffee, fresh lemon water, and snacks each day , to the continental breakfast .. Nick, mike , and sorry can't remember the young lady's name in the morning , great customer service ! Valet was wonderful and always had the door .... Always a smile.... Night crew was friendly and welcoming ..... You have a gem in the city ! Defiantly better then a large chain...
Next trip back I will defiantly be booking at this hotel !

Room Tip: Great size , clean !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KenKirisits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Albany Downtown, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear KenKirisits,

Thank you for your great review of 74 State! We look forward to having you back again in the future!

Sincerely,

Andrew Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainville, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Nice place, very good rooms and close to the Times Union Center

No bar or food at the hotel, good breakfast spread. Wasn't outstanding, but it was fine.

Staff very good and attended to issues quickly.

Used a roll away bed and it was not bad

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Plainville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Albany Downtown, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Plainville,

Thank you for your response! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again the next time you are in Albany!

Sincerely,

Andrew Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dix Hills, New York
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I stayed here the other night after arriving in town for the Bruce Springsteen concert at the Times Union Center. I was most impressed about the friendliness of the staff. EVERYONE, from check in to valet, from housekeeping to wait staff at the buffet.......were all extremely friendly and welcoming. The room was large and clean and the bed was unbelievably comfortable. The breakfast buffet was plentiful and the valet parking is a pleasure. The only drawback, for me, was the street noise. But if you are staying in a city and have a city view room, that can't be avoided. The solution....bring disposable earplugs or ask the front desk for a pair! I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Albany Downtown, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Amy K,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. If there is anything we can do for you in the future feel free to reach out and let us know. We look forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,

Andrew Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Like the tittle says it use to be a better hotel. Since the new owners took over the restaurant and bar closed. Valet should be free since they lack the amenities commonly found in a downtown hotel. The rooms are nice but lobby and elevator are scary. Staff lacks the service and attention. This hotel should be a Roadside Inn as far as I am concern. Will not return and I recommend you don't waste your money and precious time at this place. They are plenty if great hotels in the area that offer more for the money.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Cristina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Albany Downtown, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Cristina L,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We apologize that we failed to meet your expectations during your stay. There have indeed been some changes to the services offered here, which are reflected in our surest rate structure. We have recently added items such as a free hot breakfast buffet and HDTV with On-Demand viewing.

Please feel free to reach out to us if you'd like to discuss your stay further, we surely do not want to lose you as a guest.

Again, we apologize for failing to meet your expectations.

Sincerely,

Andrew Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I've stayed at 74 State at least four times over the past year. I have always found that the staff is friendly and my room is clean. Apparently, the hotel is under new management, so the free breakfast I received last time was a pleasant surprise. I will continue to stay at 74 State when I am in Albany.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Albany Downtown, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Mary D,

Thank you for you continue patronage, we enjoy having you. We also look forward to having you with us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Andrew Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hilton Albany
Hilton Albany
#16 of 50 in Albany
1,118 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Albany Hotel
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany Medical Center
5.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Albany Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Albany Downtown

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Albany Downtown
Address: 74 State St, Albany, NY 12207-2525 (Formerly 74 State Hotel)
Region: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Albany
#7 Romantic Hotel in Albany
#13 Business Hotel in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Albany Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travel with confidence by checking into Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott(R), a hotel with outstanding service to make all of your travels easy and comfortable - at an exceptional value. We are always ready to welcome you with amenities like thoughtfully designed guest rooms and suites that allow you to work and relax, free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel to stay connected during your stay, and fitness facilities. You'll find it easy to settle into our vibrant lobby, with spaces to gather, relax and work. Jump-start your day with our free breakfast, now with more hot choices like scrambled eggs, sausage and oatmeal, plus favorites including fresh fruit and yogurt. You'll always find the courteous service you deserve, plus all the little things you expect from Fairfield Inn & Suites to help you get it done when you travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Albany Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
74 State Hotel Albany
Ascend Collection Albany
Ascend Collection Hotel Albany
Clarion Albany
Albany Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing