We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Albany Downtown
Ranked #13 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I stayed here to go to a wedding in Catskill. The room was lovely, the staff was kind and accommodating. At check-in, we asked to borrow scissors, and ta-da!

The room was large, and the shower?? Wow. I wish I had one as large as that at home...the bed was EXTREMELY comfortable, and it was quiet.

Oh yes, and we loved the cookies.:-)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LaurieannL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Albany Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear LaurieannL,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again the next time you're in Albany!

Sincerely,

Andrew Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (362)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 362 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

I booked a Bachelor Party for a two night stay this past weekend with Emily in the Sales Department at 74 State. She couldn't have been more helpful. Planning an event is stressful, but she made the hotel booking process really easy for my group. Emily responded very fast to my emails and accomodated me with whatever I needed. She was a pleasure to work with. The front desk staff were really friendly and efficient. Even though we were coming in late on Saturday night, they brought us bottled water while we were congregating in the lobby without us even asking!

The complementary continental breakfast was great! It had hot scrambled eggs and sausage links, bagels, english mufflins, fruit salad, oatmeal, yogurt, coffee and juices. Everything was being replenished in a timely manner even though the hotel was sold out and the breakfast area was really busy. The breakfast attendant even made the Belgian waffles for us!

The hotel's free WiFi was definitely appreciated. I am not usually a fan of the Choice Hotel network of hotels but the rooms at 74 State were really nice. Beds were super comfortable, plenty of electrical outlets, and had a couple of comfortable chairs as well. The bathroom was great, with a big shower.

Plenty of free on-street parking in downtown Albany after 5:30pm, so you didn't even need the valet.

You can tell the management and staff take really good care of the property. All of my 14 guests with the Bachelor Party were all really impressed with the property and the service!! I would highly recommend staying here if you are visiting the Albany area. If you need multiple rooms, then I would definitely trust Emily in Group Sales with making sure everything is taking care of!

Room Tip: Rooms to the back only have a small window, so if you can request the rooms up front, but even the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Albany Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Adam T,

Thank you for the glowing review about your recent stay. It was pleasure hosting you and your friends on this important occasion. We hope to see you again soon, and congratulations on your upcoming wedding!

Sincerely,

Andrew Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

My son and I stayed at this hotel while on a road trip. Check-in was fast and efficient. The lady at the front desk was terrific during our entire visit. We had a problem with the phone, and she took care of it right away.

The room was fine, but we had a tiny, half window with no view. It made the room quite dark and gloomy. Everything about the room was fine, but because of the darkness, it just wasn't cheery. The walls were a bit thin as I could hear the "bedtime" activities of the couple next to us.

The restaurant on the second floor has closed, but the breakfast in the morning was great. They had my Greek yogurt, which made my day.

I was happy to know that I could park on the street on the weekend. Too bad I went to dinner Saturday night and lost my spot.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Ttttraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Albany Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Ttttraveler,

Thank you for reviewing us about your recent stay. I'd like to start off by thanking you for staying with us. I'm glad to hear the issue you had with your phone was remedied. I would also like to apologize for the loud guests next door as well as the size of the window in your room. When you stay with us in the future, please let us know so we can put you in a room that has a larger window, since we do have a few rooms that have smaller windows due to historic preservation.

If you'd like to reach out about anything further for your stay, please feel free to reach out to me at (518) 434-7410 or at asmith@visions-hotels.com.

Sincerely,

Andrew Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed at 74 State before a concert at The Palace Theater. When we arrived we were greeted by welcoming staff who provided us with directions to local pubs, gave us free bottled water and helped us figure out parking and free wi-fi. Our room was very roomy, the bathroom was enormous and the beds were clean and comfy. They had cookies and snacks in the afternoon in the lobby and coffee and tea 24 hours! We were there on a Sunday so not much was open in the area but it was easy walking distance to the theater and dinning. Desk staff even helped us order a pizza for late night delivery AND brought it to our room! Check out was at 11 and we enjoyed the delicious and plentiful continental breakfast that was included in our room rate beforehand. They even had a waffle station! All in all it was a marvelous stay with the only downside being no view from the room and not much open in the area on a Sunday. If I ever go back to Albany I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Albany Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Michelle M,

Thank you for taking the time to review 74 State, we really appreciate it! Reviews like this really keep our staff motivated to continue giving our guests the best stay possible. We can't wait to see you again!

Sincerely,

Andrew Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Great location for events at Times-Union Center, spacious rooms and the most comfortable beds ever! Service and Staff were excellent and very friendly. Free breakfast, too! The only reason this review isn't even better is because there is no longer a working bar or restaurant on premises. Overall an excellent choice!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Gary Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Albany Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Gary Z,

Thank you for your response about your stay with us! We would also like to once again thank you for choosing us for your trip to Albany, NY! We can't wait to see you again in the future!

Sincerely,

Andrew Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Booked this hotel for an overnight stay after dropping off rental car at airport and before catching the train to NYC. Arrived well before check-in time but no problem about access to room. Staff very friendly and helpful and pointed us in the right direction with some restaurant recommendations. Would recommend anyone going to Albany to book this hotel. Very reasonably priced and included a basic breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank qwerty165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Albany Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear qwerty165,

Thank you for the kind response regarding your recent stay with us. It means a lot to us when we hear our guests enjoyed staying with us. We'll see you the next time you're in Albany!

Sincerely,

Andrew Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed at 74 State on a recent trip to Albany for an event at the Times Union Center. Staffers were exceptionally friendly and helpful and the hotel itself was very nice. We had a junior suite that was terrific, especially the bathroom. The location was perfect as the Times Union Center was right around the corner and there are a variety of eateries within walking distance. As we arrived on Friday afternoon, we parked on the street right in front and only had to feed the meter for a couple of hours as parking was free Friday evening and for the rest of the weekend. We parked the car and it never moved until we checked out on Sunday... very nice! The included breakfast was basic but fine. We would stay here again! Overall it was a much better experience than the run of the mill chain motels that we usually stay in!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HockeyVoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Albany Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear HockeyVoice,

Thank you for the great response regarding your stay with us! We definitely enjoyed having you with us. We can't wait to see you again the next time you are in Albany!

Sincerely,

Andrew Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Albany Hotel
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Albany
Hilton Albany
#24 of 50 in Albany
1,198 reviews
5.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
4.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Albany Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Albany Downtown

Address: 74 State St, Albany, NY 12207-2525 (Formerly 74 State Hotel)
Region: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Albany
#7 Romantic Hotel in Albany
#13 Business Hotel in Albany
Price Range: £87 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Albany Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travel with confidence by checking into Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott(R), a hotel with outstanding service to make all of your travels easy and comfortable - at an exceptional value. We are always ready to welcome you with amenities like thoughtfully designed guest rooms and suites that allow you to work and relax, free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel to stay connected during your stay, and fitness facilities. You'll find it easy to settle into our vibrant lobby, with spaces to gather, relax and work. Jump-start your day with our free breakfast, now with more hot choices like scrambled eggs, sausage and oatmeal, plus favorites including fresh fruit and yogurt. You'll always find the courteous service you deserve, plus all the little things you expect from Fairfield Inn & Suites to help you get it done when you travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Albany Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
74 State Hotel Albany
Ascend Collection Albany
Ascend Collection Hotel Albany
Clarion Albany
Albany Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing