We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Massive renovations needed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Albany
Ranked #38 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Overall the hotel is not that bad and the hotwire price was cheap. But if ever a hotel needed some renovations this is it.
The bathroom is nasty, the tub has three knobs, each one indicating H for hot water...they also don't turn the same way. Stains and dead bugs are in almost every corner of the room.

I have a feeling that Ramada's are being phased because they are all in dire need of renovations.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JEFFREY C, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Albany, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

My apologies, we have been working diligently to upgrade every area of our hotel, We have all new carpets, Simmons Pillow Top beds, new bedding package and one of the industries best Free Breakfast. Our staff is also one of the best around. We pride ourselves in customer service and we will continue to do what is needed for all our rooms.We have also just ordered new drapes. We appreciate all our guests and work very hard to correct any issues as we work to have everyone's experience a great one!
Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (969)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

526 - 532 of 969 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
1  Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel is older and on the outskirts of the city (about 3 miles drive from downtown), but the staff are very helpful and regularly offer shuttle rides for free or a small fee to the airport and other places you might need to go.
The rooms are older (the bathrooms could use a remodel) and the A/C is quite loud, but everything is clean and the beds are comfortable.
The breakfast buffet is one of the better ones I've seen for an included breakfast - has almost everything you could want except for fresh fruit.
Overall a pretty good deal if you don't mind being not in the center of things.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 798suzannel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I was originally set to stay in a Marriott for the NYS Bar Exam and switched to the Ramada because I was told there was a shuttle to get to and from the exam in downtown Albany for a fee of $5 each way. Since I didn't wish to either rely on a taxi or drive myself, I felt this would be a great advantage and switched my reservation. Very disappointed with this property and wish I had kept my original reservation.

Pros:
-Decent breakfast
-Comfy mattress

Cons:
-The aforementioned shuttle. I was not told that the shuttle was first come, first serve, in person, when you checked in. Since I did not check in until 6:30pm the night before the bar exam, I was told that the later shuttle was all booked up and my only option was a shuttle set to arrive one and half hours before I needed to be at the exam. Considering you cannot take a phone or any reading material, this was entirely unacceptable. I should have been told this when I made the reservation but instead was surprised, angry, and upset the night before the bar exam. The shuttle time (6:30am) would have left me with no option to eat breakfast at the hotel since the hotel breakfast began at 6:30. I was forced to make other transportation arrangements, and this was not an experience one wants to go through the night before the biggest exam of their life.

-The WiFi was awful all over the property and especially the rooms. This is a big problem for anyone attempting to do business in the hotel, and was especially so for the bar applicants who were all trying to upload their exam files after the first day of the exam.

-I thought I would take a relaxing dip in the pool, but both the indoor and outdoor pools appeared to be unheated and were extremely cold

-The pillows were extremely uncomfortable. It was impossible to use two but using only one hurt my neck

-There were insufficient outlets in the room and we had to literally rearrange the furniture just to have both nightstand lamps working.

-The neighborhood is pretty terrible, as the hotel is right off the highway and there is nothing around it.

In sum: stay at another property. This hotel was extremely overpriced for what it was and I've got to imagine there are far better places to stay in the Albany area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank alb324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JEFFREY C, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Albany, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

I am sorry for all the issues you had. We found out Monday that everyone had received an email saying they were starting earlier than planned and staying later on Wednesday. We have been providing inexpensive transportation for years and it has always worked out for everyone. People always have the option of taking a cab. Our internet is the new 50meg from Time Warner and everyone tells us this is the best internet of any hotel they stay in. We ask people that if they have any needs to please call the front desk, as we will always go above and beyond to accomadate all guests. We all know the stress of taking the test and we try to do everything in our power to make it as comfortable as possible. Again my apologies!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This is an old hotel, renovated... I must say instead, redecorated, because it's still an old hotel.
The room was clean, the bed very comfy. New decor was nice. Still old bathroom, old plumbing (but a nice shower head), old wallpaper but new rug and recent paint.
As I say, the room was clean and comfy and the hotel was quiet.
The service was friendly, nothing bad to say but didn't ask for anaything special either.
The are 2 pools, one indoor and one outdoor. Polls were clean but pool area wound need a little more attention like basic cleaning (at least ground sweeping) overnight. The outdoor pool has plenty of sunshine but there is no long chair to lay under the sun (??).
Free included full hot breakfast was very good.
Location is good, fast access to 787, 87 and 90 highways.
Wi-Fi was very good.
I would stay here again if the price is right (I mean 95$ max).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben0844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I went to book a room on Expedia and was having trouble. I went to the front desk and they matched Expedia's room rate. Then I forgot the wall charger for my phone. The front desk charged my phone. The front desk was extremely helpful and nice. The bar had one gentlemen working. He was extremely nice, but the wait times were slow. He was serving food, cleaning tables and pouring drinks. The breakfast in the morning was very good for the price and for a Ramada. There were many food items to choose like eggs, waffles, breakfast meats, fruit, pastries, bagels and cereal. The room was clean. Would return if in Albany.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dirushalmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albany hotels
3.2 mi away
Best Western Albany Airport Inn
3.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Albany Airport
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn Albany University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
2.3 mi away
Days Inn Albany SUNY
Days Inn Albany SUNY
#32 of 50 in Albany
535 reviews
2.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Albany-Colonie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Albany

Address: 3 Watervliet Avenue Ext, Albany, NY 12206-1629
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Price Range: £58 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Albany 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Albany hotel offers that rare combination of great rates and friendly personalized service. With all new carpeting in the rooms,(Jan,2014) select comfort pillow top beds from Simmons and 32" flat screen TVs, we are confident you will not only be comfortable but have a great night's sleep. Centrally located in Albany just 10 minutes to downtown and the airport. The perfect location for unforgettable weekend escapes and elegant meetings and events. We pride ourselves in customer service with a well rounded knowledgeable staff that has consistently met all our guests needs. We offer a Complimentary upscale hot breakfast with fresh baked goods that guests rave about. Our restaurant offers American cuisine including New York center cut steak to our Certified Angus beef half pound burgers. All reasonably priced to fit anyone's budget. We guarantee the best experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Ramada Plaza Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Albany Hotel Albany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing