We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
Ranked #9 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
Chesterfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
Reviewed 2 May 2011

My co-workers and I stayed here for 3 nights on business, and I would highly recommend this hotel. It is fairly new, the rooms are very nice, they have coffee/tea to go and a decent restaurant.
Only glitch we encountered was that after working all day, we were very hungry and tired, got to the restaurant, and only one person was on duty. He had to wait tables plus deliver room service, and because the evening started out slow, he sent his co-worker home, and a huge rush started. We had to a wait awhile before he could even take our orders, but he was very nice and we sort of felt sorry for him. That situation doesn't influence my ratings of this hotel because that can happen anywhere....all in all, great place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SandyKMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    189
    68
    32
    12
See reviews for
229
102
38
205
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2011

This was our second stay here, having been the previous year. Both times it was for a one night stay, and both times we were more than happy. Rooms are clean and comfortable, and there are amenities on-site, although we didn't use them. Coffee plentiful and free cookies at reception were a nice touch.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank max761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2011

The Hilton Garden/Suny was very nice, clean, updated. The breakfast waitress was extremely friendly and always happy and helpful. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful as well. The business center was always available and working. Would stay here again. Able to get a AAA rate of $89 per night. Great deal for a nice hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FTMNorthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2010

Do not use this hotel unless you're happy with them applying eroneous charges to your credit card! I stayed here on the 19th of Oct and despite the trip being arranged and paid for via a travel agent the hotel decided to charge my cc without informing me! 2 months later and both the agent and myself have had no sucess in recovering my money. Beware of stories of computers being down and make sure you check cc statements!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MakemJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mfitzsimons1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area, responded to this review, 20 December 2010
I apologize for the problems experienced with your payment. Unfortunately the travel agency you used in London did not inform us the room was prepaid on the card used to hold the room. When we submitted the card for payment it came back to us as declined. As we discussed when you checked out, the charge on your card would be reversed as soon as we received a new card from the travel agency. Unfortunately, it took several weeks for them to respond and when they called with the new card, it too was declined. The agency called me again a week or two later with another card that did go through and your card was credited back as promised.

I hope the rest of your trip to the States was enjoyable.

Mary Fitzsimons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2010

Stayed two nights for graduation @ SUNY Albany, booked two rooms. Hotel was immaculate, lobby was very nice to hang out w/ fire place and bar nearby. Also had breakfast and snack from restaurant- prices reasonable and quality very good. Would highly recommend staying here if in the area.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2010

The title says it all. After staying at every Hilton property in the area, this is easily the best one. The staff was awesome, and I don't say that very often! They were so polite and went above and beyond for everyone at the property. The property itself is very well-kept, but the staff is what makes a difference at this hotel. I will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Disappointed73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chciago
Level Contributor
431 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2010

My sister and I stayed here on a recent fall colors trip. It was beautiful! The room was well appointed and large. Beds were immaculate and plush. I was worried, because I had read something about the possibility of bugs in a review, but there certainly was not. In fact, the hotel is so modern and nice, it is hard to believe that kind of thing would exist.
The location is very near the airport, but we did not hear any air traffic sound. The lobby is very nice and has computer usage. There is not a lot of businesses close by, so it is good to have a car unless your stay there is short. A restaurant is on the premises and it is quite nice.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boystowtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albany hotels
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
1.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany
4.1 mi away
Hilton Albany
Hilton Albany
#15 of 50 in Albany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Albany Thruway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
Address: 1389 Washington Ave, Albany, NY 12206-1009
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Albany
#3 Business Hotel in Albany
#4 Family Hotel in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / Suny Area Hotel Albany
Hilton Albany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing