We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Certainly very good, but not extra special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
Ranked #9 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Certainly very good, but not extra special”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed here a few weeks ago while visiting family in the area. The location is excellent for SUNY; and the front desk staff were fantastic. Everyone was very friendly and professional. It is a good hotel - the room and bathroom were super clean, and the bed was reasonably comfortable. But for whatever reason - perhaps because the hallways seemed to be a bit dimly lit and the room decor fairly simple - it just didn't have any special quality. Also, the room was very noisy - heard the traffic from the highway all night long (when the heating unit cycled on, the highway noise was reduced somewhat). One of the nice features is that there are complementary warm beverages (coffee, tea, hot chocolate) in the lobby around the clock. We did not try the restaurant for breakfast, but it looked like the people who did were enjoying their meal.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that does not face the highway - perhaps it is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank explore with more
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki S, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, and thank you for the good scores! Next time you stay with us please request a room away from the highway and we will be happy to accommodate you. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    195
    70
    32
    14
See reviews for
239
108
38
210
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 27 December 2013

From the time I made the reservation till checkout, all staff was wonderful. The Lobby had coffee/tea fruit and cookies 24 hours. The food in the restaurant was excellent. I would definitely go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki S, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give our property an excellent review! We are happy that you enjoyed our complimentary refreshments, as well as dining in our restaurant. We look forward to having you back on your next trip to Albany!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beavercreek Ohio, United States
1 review
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Not up to par; not Diamond Service. I have reasons to go back to the Albany area and will not use this HGI for the future. I will try other Hilton properties in 2014. Heating/Thermostat not working properly; garage and parking not adequate; staff not overly pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Raymond R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki S, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Raymond, thank you for sharing this feedback on your stay with us. We are glad you chose our hotel during your visit to the area and we apologize that you had an issue with your heating unit. This is not typical and we hardly ever experience issues like this, and I once again apologize that you encountered this. Thank you so much for giving us another chance, I heard that your more recent stay was an excellent one! We look forward to having you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brossard
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We stayed there on our way back from Woodbury Premium Outlets on Black Friday, before shoppine some more in two great Malls in Albany; close enough to the Interstate but peaceful and quiet...excellent restaurants nearby, friendly staff at the hotel and comforting breakfast in the morning. We'll certainly go back there when we visit Albany.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki S, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Louise, thank you so much for your excellent review of our property! And how brave of you to shop at Woodbury Commons on Black Friday! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and had a nice breakfast before you were on your way. Please come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I stayed in this hotel twice in July and in Dec 13 on Business.
The room was clean and comfortable.
Breakfast was very good and the dinner was great too.

The Hotel staff are well groomed and very helpful.
I would be staying here whenever I am at Albany on Business.

Room Tip: Higher floors are good but the A/C noise is something a bit disturbing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arup D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki S, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Hi Arup, thank you for taking the time to review us. We are happy that you had a great stay and enjoyed dining in our restaurant! We look forward to hosting you again on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Met my daughter there to do some Christmas shopping. Very close to malls , nice location, clean room, comfortable beds,like having fridge and microwave in room , coffee was really good quality. We have stayed there in the past very friendly staff. will be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki S, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Thank you so much for the positive review! I'm glad you had another great stay at our property and that you got some holiday shopping done! Please come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Yes, I have stay at other Garden Inns and unlike the rest, this one was nasty. It smelled like funk in the room, and unlike other Gardern Inns, this one lacked things like glasses. The furniture was very questionable as well, cheap and worn down. Also there were food clumps on the wall.. Really gross stuff but what else can I do.. the Homewood Suites was booked...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Columnist_Berkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki S, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Thank you for sharing this feedback on your recent stay with us. We are glad you chose our hotel during your visit to the area and we apologize for the issues you encountered during your stay. As you can see from our other reviews, this is not typical and we hardly ever experience issues like this, and I once again apologize that you encountered this. I understand my GM has been in contact with you and that appropriate actions have been taken. Thank you again for staying with us, and we assure you that if you give us another opportunity, you won't be disappointed in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albany hotels
1.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Albany Thruway
4.1 mi away
Hilton Albany
Hilton Albany
#16 of 50 in Albany
1,118 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
Address: 1389 Washington Ave, Albany, NY 12206-1009
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Albany
#3 Business Hotel in Albany
#4 Family Hotel in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / Suny Area Hotel Albany
Hilton Albany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing