We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cleaned and comofortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
Ranked #9 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
Albany, United States
1 review
“Very cleaned and comofortable”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I booked a few rooms for my family recently at this property and they were all very, very happy. The accommodations are very clean and comfortable. I usually stay in a Hilton Garden Inn and up to now I have not been disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Alma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki S, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you Alma for your great review! We are so glad your family had a nice weekend here, we hope to have you all back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    190
    68
    32
    12
See reviews for
231
103
38
206
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, United States
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We booked a weekend stay while visiting relatives in the area. This hotel was a pleasant surprise. The room was clean. The pool and area around it was also very clean. But what stood out most was how friendly the staff was. We were greeted and made to feel welcome by everyone, from the front desk to the restaurant to the housekeeping staff in the hall. Free coffee, tea, cookies and fruits is a nice touch. The free wifi worked as flawlessly. Parking was also convenient. In addition to the outdoor parking, there is a garage under with direct elevator access from the all floors. My only real complaint is that the toilet paper is mounted in an awkward position. You have to be contortionist and a tall one at that to reach back there. I suppose the relatively roomy bathroom has something to do with that.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki S, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Peter, thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor! Thank you for recognizing that we have a very friendly staff and we are so happy that you had such a positive experience. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Albany!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2014

This Hilton Garden Inn was similar in quality to other HIlton Garden Inns. However, the staff was superb. we had car difficulty when departing and the staff was very accommodating while we waited for AAA. The wait staff at the restaurant was very friendly and attentive for both breakfast and dinner. We will definitely stay again at this location when in the area. The air conditioner was noisy but not obnoxious.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Lee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki S, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Hi Lee, thank you for your review, we are so glad you had a good stay and enjoyed dining in our restaurant. I'm sorry to hear you had car trouble but I'm glad that we were able to help you with getting on your way. Please come see us again should you visit Albany in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishkill, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

This by far will be the easiest review to write. We were traveling to spend an overnight with our daughter. The hotel location was in the middle for both of us traveling. It was easy to get to and minutes off the highway. It is located across form Albany University. There is also a Dunkin Donuts next door.

From the moment we checked in the Front desk was warm and inviting. I went to give them a phone number to reach us since we arrived very early. In seconds, she offered the room and said it was available for us now. The front desk also offered a nice dish of Andees candies for your enjoyment. ( Major improvement from your average mints). The lobby had complimentary coffee, tea, apples and cookies all day.

The room was clean and the staff was extraordinary. We took advantage of spending extra time and requested late check out and of course it was not a problem. I was so impressed with the hotel we decided to dine at their Grill for dinner. The American Grill is located in the lobby. I wasn't impressed with the waitress at all, let's hope she was having a bad day. The food was fine but nothing to write about. There are plenty of dining choices near by but know you have the convenience of staying on site.

The pool and hot tub area was very enjoyable and convenient with late hours.

If and when I return to the Albany area, this is where we will stay!

Room Tip: All rooms require an elevator so they are all equal to me. The hotel has everything you need includ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SGZ0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki S, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review about your stay with us. It is so nice to hear about all of the amenities you got to enjoy while here! We certainly hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
149 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed here a few weeks ago while visiting family in the area. The location is excellent for SUNY; and the front desk staff were fantastic. Everyone was very friendly and professional. It is a good hotel - the room and bathroom were super clean, and the bed was reasonably comfortable. But for whatever reason - perhaps because the hallways seemed to be a bit dimly lit and the room decor fairly simple - it just didn't have any special quality. Also, the room was very noisy - heard the traffic from the highway all night long (when the heating unit cycled on, the highway noise was reduced somewhat). One of the nice features is that there are complementary warm beverages (coffee, tea, hot chocolate) in the lobby around the clock. We did not try the restaurant for breakfast, but it looked like the people who did were enjoying their meal.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that does not face the highway - perhaps it is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank explore with more
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki S, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, and thank you for the good scores! Next time you stay with us please request a room away from the highway and we will be happy to accommodate you. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 27 December 2013

From the time I made the reservation till checkout, all staff was wonderful. The Lobby had coffee/tea fruit and cookies 24 hours. The food in the restaurant was excellent. I would definitely go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki S, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give our property an excellent review! We are happy that you enjoyed our complimentary refreshments, as well as dining in our restaurant. We look forward to having you back on your next trip to Albany!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beavercreek Ohio, United States
1 review
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Not up to par; not Diamond Service. I have reasons to go back to the Albany area and will not use this HGI for the future. I will try other Hilton properties in 2014. Heating/Thermostat not working properly; garage and parking not adequate; staff not overly pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Raymond R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki S, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Raymond, thank you for sharing this feedback on your stay with us. We are glad you chose our hotel during your visit to the area and we apologize that you had an issue with your heating unit. This is not typical and we hardly ever experience issues like this, and I once again apologize that you encountered this. Thank you so much for giving us another chance, I heard that your more recent stay was an excellent one! We look forward to having you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albany hotels
1.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany
0.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Albany Thruway
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
Address: 1389 Washington Ave, Albany, NY 12206-1009
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Albany
#3 Business Hotel in Albany
#4 Family Hotel in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / Suny Area Hotel Albany
Hilton Albany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing