We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed Bugs, Uncomfortable Beds, Smelly and Ugly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany
Ranked #27 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Syracuse, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bed Bugs, Uncomfortable Beds, Smelly and Ugly”
Reviewed 14 July 2011

This may be the worst hotel that I have ever stayed at. My party rented three rooms, and all three rooms had bed bugs. Even without the bugs, the beds were uncomfortable and the whole hotel was ugly, smelly, and generally unappealing. All of the ice machines were mysteriously missing, the wireless internet was completely unprotected, and I cannot think of a single good thing to say about the whole experience. Do not stay here.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Johnson48713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SovereignHotel, General Manager at Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany, responded to this review, 22 July 2011
Dear Guest,

Please accept my apologies for your disappointing stay. I wish we had the opportunity to improve upon your concerns while you were with us. Please know that our hotel has not had a verified instance of Bed Bugs in over a year. Do not hesitate to contact management for documentation to verify this. That said, your feedback is being taken to heart, and we will do our best to get better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    255
    198
    117
    95
See reviews for
320
187
76
236
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milton, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2011

This hotel is in dire need of updating,but,Many places I've stayed in are older,but at least have been maintain.This place just seems on it's last legs before a major reno.A shame because the staff I dealt with were very good,and for the location is great.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShortStayCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SovereignHotel, General Manager at Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany, responded to this review, 15 July 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your kind words about our staff and we will be renewing our efforts to update the property. A new round of renovations is being scheduled and will hopefully change your opinion for the better. We hope you give us another opportunity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westbrook, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Service was O.K., Pool was bad...it felt like taking a bath that was 90 degrees, and WAY to much chlorine. Something was stuck in the the toilet. Got a terrible night of sleep I bet it was the lumpy bed. Although, it was only for one night on our way to Niagara Falls, NY. TV was horrible, always fuzzy. Oh yeah the channel guide was wrong, when half of it weren't even the right channel numbers. Stayed one night and one night only.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crazybird524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SovereignHotel, General Manager at Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany, responded to this review, 11 July 2011
Dear Guest,

Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconveniences you faced while you stayed with us at our hotel. Know that we are focusing on improving and we hope that you give us another opportunity to change your opinion of our establishment. Do not hesitate to contact me personally when you return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Levittown, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2011

My 2 teenageers and I stayed overnight. The room was excellent and very clean. The staff was extremely friendly and the location was perfect. The conplimentary breackfast was fair but the coffee was excellent. Please keep the coffee. We plan on coming back in August and again in October of 2011.

Room Tip: Very clean. Not noisy at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JOANNE2725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Lambert, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2011

We stayed there one night with our 2 daugthers when we came back from Washington. It's a really nice hotel, clean with hot breakfast (scramble eggs, sausages, pancakes, ...) and also there's a grill restaurant just beside the hotel with great food for cheap. We really enjoyed our stay there and our daugthers really enjoyed the inside pool which is closing at 10 PM so we had time to go to the pool before dinner and we went at 8:30 PM. I would recommend this hotel to EVERYONE.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DominicD28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Tonawanda, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2011

We especially enjoyed a snack at the bar and talking with the most friendly bartender, Bob.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slick022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goshen, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

Stayed here overnight when I went to Albany to take my NCLEX exam. Hotel is very conveniently located and was easy to find. The hotel sits across from the Suny Albany campus and so is in a nice area for walking, shopping and dining. The front desk staff was very nice and took care of my check in/check out very quickly. The room was a little basic - nothing fancy, but had exactly what I needed. A nice big desk with a comfy chair, good internet access, an air conditioner that worked well, and one of the most comfortable hotel beds I've slept in. The hotel was quiet and the parking was ample. There was a very nice indoor pool (which I did not use) that was clean and well kept. There is also a nice restaurant accessible through the lobby that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Overall, a great value and I would stay here again when returning to Albany.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank getmetothebeach71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albany hotels
3.6 mi away
Best Western Albany Airport Inn
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area
1.0 mi away
CrestHill Suites Albany
CrestHill Suites Albany
#23 of 50 in Albany
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown
1.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Albany Thruway
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany

Property: Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany
Address: 1228 Western Avenue, Albany, NY 12203-3326 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenience and value come together at the Best Western Sovereign Hotel in Albany New York. This full service Albany Hotel offers complimentary Full Hot American Breakfast, Free Wi-Fi and Shuttle Service. All rooms have refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers. Hotel has an indoor heated pool, sauna, fitness room, restaurant, and business center. The hotel is located at the entrance of U-Albany and is minutes from Times Union Center, Downtown area, Crossgates Mall, and Airport. The Best Western sovereign is currently renovating the Lobby area. We look forward to offering our guests a new and updated Lobby with comfort and convenience. We expect the lobby renovation to be completed by 04/30/15. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albany Best Western
Best Western Albany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing