We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Best Western Ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany
Ranked #29 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Reviewed 13 December 2011

Very courteous staff...exceptional house keeping....especially from Ed..`Drain Guy`...this guy...hope I have his name right...fixed my drain and did a great job...this guy is an innovator...he even renovated the maintenance cart!!!...a real polite and hard worker....great breakfast...and the lobby lay-out is real practical and comfortable...Eg., T.V. sitting area and an area just to sit and relax away from the T.V.....rooms are descent....you always have little things go wrong but what do the staff do about it...well, here at the Sovereign....they do things RIGHT!!......
Thanks,
DavidO

Room Tip: Freezer may be loud....don`t unplug it without permission.....will defrost overnight and make a pudd...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared D, Manager at Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2011

Dear friend,

Thank you for sharing your great review with us on Trip Advisor. It is a great compliment when a guest points out how well staff handles the day to day duties. I will definitely share your comments with my entire staff during our next staff meeting and let them know to keep up the great work! Thank you again and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Safe Travels,
Jared DeMagistris
Director of Hotel Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (986)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

800 - 806 of 987 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2011

The Internet issue was a problem for me that seemed to be an ongoing issue. Staff are friendly and very accommodating. The decor is a little dated but it has everything you need for a night or even a week stay. The free breakfast was a nice perk to. Pet friendly too!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian31180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

Not up to usual Best Western standards.
On our way from Maine to Ontario we stopped at the Best Western Sovereign for the night. The receptionist, Jenny, was a real treat, friendly,smart, efficient and helpful. She gave us cupons for the restaruant, then told us the restaruant was closed, but open for breakfast only.
The room was OK, the bed was like sleeping on a brick.
Went to the indoor pool. The wooden roof structure was moldy, paint was peeling, and condensation dripped onto the common area.
The breakfast next morning was refreshing.
The building is old and remodeling is definitely required.
We would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared D, Manager at Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2011

Dear loyal traveler,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Best Western Sovereign on your travels through Albany. Also thank you for your kind words about our staff, rooms and breakfast quality. I apologize about the appearance of the pool area you encountered. We are currently in the works of updating the entire pool area to better suit our guests needs. I do hope you give us another chance to show you the changes we are making on your next trip through Albany.

Travel Safe,
Jared DeMagistris
Director of Hotel Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

The Best Western Sovereign Hotel is pretty much average across the board, except for the service. I have been very impressed with the staff there.

The hotel itself is really in need of refurbishment. There is nothing really great about the rooms, but nothing too bad either. It is nice to have a hot breakfast, but the eggs are (I think) from a powder, frozen french toast heated up, dry pastries.

Having said that, a very good value for the area I think.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZeldieIrishTerrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared D, Manager at Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2011

Loyal Traveler,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property with our friends at Trip Advisor. I am glad to hear you enjoyed our hot breakfast buffet and our staff as well. We are currently working hard to update our hotel in every aspect to meet the needs of our guests. We are making great strides to improve in all areas of the hotel and we hope you give us the chance on your next trip in to show you some of the changes we are making. Safe travels and we hope to see you again soon.

Jared DeMagistris
Director of Hotel Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

1. When I asked staff Internet access code number, she said no need this hotel. But it did not work.
2. Very thin wall - we could not sleep until midnight, next room people are talking.
3. Some people smoke cigarette in their room

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

This was the pits. The room was dingy, the bed was uncomfortable, and the restaurant was the worst we've ever encountered. We received a meal we didn't order, and no offer was made to correct it. I returned it and wasn't charged, but I had no dinner. The same thing happened at a neighboring table. Another member of our party was served after everyone else had finished. eating. She had ordered only a sandwich. Tnose who had dinners found the food served cold. Worst of all, the tip was already added to the bill. No tip was deserved, but we did pay it. Avoid this hotel and the restaurant.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared D, Manager at Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2011

Lindsey,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on Trip Advisor. On behalf of the hotel staff and the restaurant staff I would like to apologize for the mistakes that were made during your stay. We strive every day to create a positive, comfortable and enjoyable experience for every guest. We are currently in the process of many updates to our hotel rooms as well as our common areas. I do hope you give us another chance to prove to you that we've taken your occurances seriously and are doing everything we can to be sure this does not happen again.

We hope to see you on your next visit to Albany.

At your service,
Jared DeMagistris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

We booked this hotel based on our previous positive experiences with Best Western brand hotels and because they advertised they had a park and fly program that we intended to use. We had a party of 8 and booked two rooms on the Internet. I called the morning of our arrival to check on our reservation and confirm a ground floor room and our park and fly status. Upon arrival we found we did not have connecting rooms and when I went to book the shuttle for the airport, we were told that there was no driver thus no shuttle. When I asked why I wasn't told this when I called earlier in the day they said that the shuttle only runs "when available.". They comped us the additional park and fly rate (15.00 per room=30.00) and assured us this would be enough to cover cab fare to the airport. The cab actually cost 32.00 each(we needed 2...as there were 8 of us). Then, low and behold, on return to Albany, the shuttle was more than an hour wait! They are obviously advertising a service that they cannot supply so BEWARE if you are counting on them for this amenity! Otherwise, the hotel is in need of updating,(the rooms are dark and dismal),better lighting (the parking lot and halls are scary)and a more courteous
desk staff. We did complain to the manager who did give us a refund on the cab fare, so his compensation was appreciated but he does need to improve his hotel if he hopes to get positive reviews.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cruisingcoppertop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared D, Manager at Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2011

Dear loyal traveler,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on Trip Advisor. On behalf of our management team I would like to offer an apology in the lack of service you recieved during your stay with us at the Best Western Sovereign. We have made great strides in improving our Park and Fly service as well as gone through many updates to our hotel rooms and public areas. Thank you for providing the feedback needed to be sure occcurances like yours do not happen again. I do hope you give us a chance to show you the changes we've made. We look forward to providing the excellent level of service you and every customer deserves.

Safe Travels,
Jared DeMagistris
Director of Hotel Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albany hotels
3.6 mi away
Best Western Albany Airport Inn
1.0 mi away
CrestHill Suites Albany
CrestHill Suites Albany
#23 of 50 in Albany
465 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area
0.0 mi away
Days Inn Albany SUNY
Days Inn Albany SUNY
#33 of 50 in Albany
517 reviews
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn Central
Quality Inn Central
#28 of 50 in Albany
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany

Address: 1228 Western Avenue, Albany, NY 12203-3326 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Price Range: £68 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenience and value come together at the Best Western Sovereign Hotel in Albany New York. This full service Albany Hotel offers complimentary Full Hot American Breakfast, Free Wi-Fi and Shuttle Service. All rooms have refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers. Hotel has an indoor heated pool, sauna, fitness room, restaurant, and business center. The hotel is located at the entrance of U-Albany and is minutes from Times Union Center, Downtown area, Crossgates Mall, and Airport. The Best Western sovereign is currently renovating the Lobby area. We look forward to offering our guests a new and updated Lobby with comfort and convenience. We expect the lobby renovation to be completed by 04/30/15. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albany Best Western
Best Western Albany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing