We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany
Ranked #27 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A very pleasant stay!”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We had a pleasant one-night stay at this Best Western before catching a train to NYC. Reasonably priced, clean and included a free (no frills) breakfast.

Definitely recommend if you need a place to hang your hat for a short duration!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marmaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gil S, General Manager at Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Marmaz,

Thank you for your positive review. We are pleased to hear that your stay was pleasant.
We hope to see you again in the future!

Sincerely,

Gil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    255
    198
    117
    95
See reviews for
320
187
76
236
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We also enjoy staying here when visiting our daughter at college. It is very close to the SUNY Albany campus. Rooms are clean, staff is very friendly and courteous, and they serve a very good breakfast as part of the package.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Dennis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Münster, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Best Western Sovereign for 10 days while house hunting. The room was very clean, and housekeeping did a good job of straightening it up each day, especially because we were rather messy with 10 days worth of winter clothes and going in and out continually. The room itself wasn't ideal, but there was one good sized desk and a large flat screen TV. It could have used more space to walk around the king size bed, and also lacked a coat rack. The bed was comfortable, but a bit too soft for my taste.

They offered a decent breakfast, but it lacked variety. It got a bit old after a few days and I went next door to Starbucks and Dunkin Donuts a few times to change things up. But there was always a hot pot of coffee in the lobby. They offered free parking, which was priceless with how much driving we were doing.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hot water went out one morning and they had someone in the room within minutes. The window was drafty when we got there, but when we called the desk someone came and sealed it right away. It's not so nice to need maintenance right when you enter a room, but at least they were quick to address any issue we had.

The hotel itself is in a great location, with good freeway access and near a lot of restaurants and shopping.

One thing that was terrible about the hotel was the restaurant. When we arrived jet-lagged after a trans Atlantic flight, we tried the restaurant so that we wouldn't have to go out in the cold. The service was really slow and the waitress wasn't friendly, although not particularly rude either. But the food was extremely poor quality and quite over priced. Ten bucks for a hamburger that my wife didn't bother to finish!

While the hotel wasn't great, it wasn't particularly bad, and it was incredibly cheap compared to others in the area. I would recommend it, but only to someone who knows they are getting what they are paying for.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ethan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massapequa Park, New York
Level Contributor
140 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

The price to stay here is as expensive and probably more expensive then other more upscale hotels in the area. The rooms are small and one of the beds may have had the most uncomfortable mattress I have ever had in a hotel.
Taking a shower I had to duck under the shower head. I'm tall but only 6'2" I don't believe Ive run into this at a hotel before. Walking through the halls there was a smell of cigarettes that seemed to linger in the air. 2 elevators had wet floors signs laying on the floor that you had to step around from the afternoon we checked in, to the next morning. (Yes the floors were dry) . The restaurant/bar attached to this hotel is somewhere I would advise you to also avoid.
If you look at my previous ratings I try to be fair with hotels. I rarely give out a rating under average, most are very good or excellent, this is one of those hotels that sadly for the price fall short.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MisterMet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2014

The check in staff offers free bottles of water and homemade amazing chocolate chip / peanut butter cookies... The bathroom was spotless, loved the shower head. Like the bedding a bit stiff but all the sheets perfectly clean. The lobby was nice.. has a nice breakfast / area and a decent indoor pool small fitness center.. connected right to a bar/restaurant... nice lobby.. elevators and hallways/doors need work otherwise this hotel could get a Very Good Rating

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank DjEurotranz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ossining, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Very clean. Nice room. Very comfortable bed. Yummy cookies on check-in. Friendly, efficient staff. Mediocre (free) breakfast. Across the street from SUNY Albany. All-in-all an excellent value. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lahazo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gil S, General Manager at Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Lahazo,

The cookies are yummy indeed !! I am glad you enjoyed them and the entire team thanks you for acknowledging their effort and great work! As always, I will share your comments with everyone.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,
Gil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cortland, New York
Level Contributor
117 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

We paid $68 for a king room--not huge but adequate. Nice pool, better than average breakfast, very friendly staff. Will stay again. Lots of restaurants close by, very close to highways. 10 minutes from downtown.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank bwdailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gil S, General Manager at Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear bwdailey,

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we all thank you for recommending our hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely,

Gil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albany hotels
3.6 mi away
Best Western Albany Airport Inn
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area
1.0 mi away
CrestHill Suites Albany
CrestHill Suites Albany
#23 of 50 in Albany
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown
1.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Albany Thruway
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany

Property: Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany
Address: 1228 Western Avenue, Albany, NY 12203-3326 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenience and value come together at the Best Western Sovereign Hotel in Albany New York. This full service Albany Hotel offers complimentary Full Hot American Breakfast, Free Wi-Fi and Shuttle Service. All rooms have refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers. Hotel has an indoor heated pool, sauna, fitness room, restaurant, and business center. The hotel is located at the entrance of U-Albany and is minutes from Times Union Center, Downtown area, Crossgates Mall, and Airport. The Best Western sovereign is currently renovating the Lobby area. We look forward to offering our guests a new and updated Lobby with comfort and convenience. We expect the lobby renovation to be completed by 04/30/15. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albany Best Western
Best Western Albany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing