We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some good, some bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany
Ranked #29 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The inside is a lot nicer than it looks on the outside. The lobby is clean and in good shape but the rooms could use some updates. The bed in our room had a broken spring sticking out of the mattress and the bed itself was flat, hard and very worn. The breakfast area was messy and not stocked very well. The pool is ok but it's got a weird smell and taste. The internet worked great though!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (988)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

574 - 580 of 988 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

I enjoyed my stay at this location. We were minutes from sights and good food. Peasant's pizza is a must for delivery.
The maids, maintenance, and food staffs were attentive to our needs. Unfortunately, some needs should not have been required; new mattress, mattress frame on other bed a tripping hazard, refrigerator turned into a freezer with broken knob.
The WiFi was great. They have a hub on each floor that is directly wired to at least 3 access points down each hallway stretch (they're made to look like smoke detectors) which makes for instant and clear access.
That and other recent renovations before our arrival (Some still ongoing, at least on second floor) look pretty good. Not sure if bathroom vents could have been added, but the timer switch for the no longer heat lamp is still in the wall, and a vented slot above the shower head just leads into the false ceiling. The extension added to the shower head for taller people, is backwards making for only 2 inch increase in height.
I don't know the pool cleaning schedule but the outlets could use a touch along with the rust drips along the walls. And I wouldn't swim in the one corner where the ceiling looks like it is about to cave. The sauna's handle was not there, and unsure if that was in a men's pool room since I can only see the women's'.

Room Tip: Someone in our group mistakingly started on the 5th floor and they said it was hotter than hot.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldTraveler31483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

There are many e-plugs to use in room. Chinese restuarant placed with good taste at about 200 m away. BW location is to easy to go to any attractions in Albany. Tip : BestWestern member shoud be apply there if you have time enough, asking front or check in for more information

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank kamonards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This hotel has been refurbished and the rooms were excellent. The bed was comfortable and gave a great nights sleep. The only downfall of this hotel was the complimentary breakfast. The offerings were very poor, but this shouldn't stop you from staying at a very, clean , friendly and affordable place. I would stay here again, but choose to go out for breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Douglas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

As travelers that get away about twice a month we were impressed with the hotel. Our room was clean and in good shape. They have been updating rooms and have been doing a great job. Location is close to anything you would want to see and the staff does a great job on selling the area to guests. You naysayers out there need to come back and give them a try again, you won't be sorry you did. From the front desk, to sales, to maintenance, to cleaning staff, and to their head chef -I say"JOB WELL DONE"..

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MSO426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Have a Military Reunion? Large family gathering? Wedding etc? THIS is the hotel to come to. To put it succinctly, This Hotel offers Everything you could want. Top Notch sales staff, Great General Manager, Personable, Helpful and Accomodating Polite staff who all bend over backwards to see to it that your every need is covered. We arrived early in the week for our Navy MSO Association Inc Crew Reunion and stayed late and every need we had was more than adequately covered. Now I won't tell you that the hotel is the Taj Mahal, However it is clean, It has it's quirks and it feels like home when you are on extended stays. Even if you have a problem they are quick to correct it. Give it a try you won't be at all sorry you did. Don't beleive me? There are about 20 others and their spouses that will tell you pretty much the same thing.

Room Tip: If you are picky about everything looking pristine and brand new Don't stay here, It is clean, I...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This is a charming stop en route to NYC - the staff is great, there is a nice pool, coffee waiting for you on arrival and nice clean rooms ! Our family stays there at least once a year as we travel - its a good middle stop, great location and the staff is very pleasant and helpful. This hotel deserves to be part of the Best Western family. The breakfast included waffles and strawberries with cream - my daughter was in heaven! I highly recommend this best western - Deborah

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank 520deborahs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albany hotels
3.6 mi away
Best Western Albany Airport Inn
1.0 mi away
CrestHill Suites Albany
CrestHill Suites Albany
#23 of 50 in Albany
466 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area
0.0 mi away
Days Inn Albany SUNY
Days Inn Albany SUNY
#33 of 50 in Albany
517 reviews
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn Central
Quality Inn Central
#28 of 50 in Albany
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany

Address: 1228 Western Avenue, Albany, NY 12203-3326 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Price Range: £68 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenience and value come together at the Best Western Sovereign Hotel in Albany New York. This full service Albany Hotel offers complimentary Full Hot American Breakfast, Free Wi-Fi and Shuttle Service. All rooms have refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers. Hotel has an indoor heated pool, sauna, fitness room, restaurant, and business center. The hotel is located at the entrance of U-Albany and is minutes from Times Union Center, Downtown area, Crossgates Mall, and Airport. The Best Western sovereign is currently renovating the Lobby area. We look forward to offering our guests a new and updated Lobby with comfort and convenience. We expect the lobby renovation to be completed by 04/30/15. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albany Best Western
Best Western Albany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing