We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean and comfrtable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany
Ranked #29 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Reviewed 10 August 2014

fine place to stay breakfast was good clean and quiet!! fair for the money and helpful staff. maybe not best decorated] but a perfectly fine place to sleep. Breakfast has the waffle makers and baked goods fruit and yogurt and cereal and sausage and eggs it was fine. nothing spectacular but perfectly edible.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank 785barrieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (988)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

542 - 548 of 988 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

The location is convenient to major roads, shopping, and various parts of Albany and the vicinity. Room was spacious, good to have fridge and microwave (in every room). The check-in staff were able to accommodate our room preferences. As some others have noted, though, the pillows were very uncomfortable. Beds were hard, if you like that. Adequate and not noisy AC. Room was clean, if a bit old. Ample breakfast, though they were out of orange juice. It was difficult to contact the management about any issues or concerns.

Room Tip: Rear of the hotel, high floor are quietest.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank diotimadancing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I came to Albany to do some apartment hunting and have been staying at the Best Western Hotel. I paid $85 per night and while that seems steep, some Air B&B places were charging similar prices without the added benefits of complete privacy, heated swimming pool, gym area, free wi fi and breakfast. Breakfast here was much better than I expected. This morning they have eggs, sausage links, cereal, yogurt, pastries and coffee. The eggs were pretty good. My room is also pretty clean but small. I think for $85 a night this a great budget friendly hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Versus G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We have stayed here a number of times, and were always pleased enough with the hotel, but this trip was probably our last. The carpeting -- especially in the most utilized area--was very soiled and badly in need of removal and replacement, but even in the less traveled parts of building--pretty dirty looking. The switch to change from shower to tub didn't work, so had to run the shower to fill the bathtub. Breakfast buffet was near to average, but dropped below with the sign on orange juice dispenser--empty until the next day. Worst of all--the stains on the bed skirt, which I don't even want to speculate (or think) about origin. Even though it was not a particularly hot night, could not seem to get the air-conditioning to cool the room to a comfortable sleeping temperature. We always liked to stay here and enjoy chicken wings from Sutters (we once lived in the area, so are very familiar with surroundings) and found that Sutters is no more, closed for business. Of course, the latter is no fault of Best Western, but it surely was a disappointment! On the positive side--we found the staff pleasant and helpful. The bed was comfortable at least--this was a plus. This is one of the times I wish we could give a half-way rating, as if I could, would rate it 2 1/2, just under average.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greyhairedwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The hotel staff is very friendly and have been staying there for the past 5 years. We always get a nice room, usually on 5th floor and have never had any problems. Love the complimentary breakfast and the Hotel Manager Paul is alway very accomadating.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed for one night in this hotel on our way to a dance competition. I chose it because of the location and because they allowed pets for only $20 extra (unlike the usual place we stay in Albany that charges $75!!!). The hotel is a bit run down (carpets in hallways and rooms are in serious need of deep cleaning) - but the price more or less reflects that.

The first room I was assigned (120) was right beside the pool and noisy, also when doing my usual bed bug check, I found that the box spring had a huge stain (looked like blood and was funky smelling - did someone die in that room?) and the mattress had a sealant painted on that side that was all white and crusty - disgusting. I went back down and the very friendly and helpful staff relocated us to room 420. It was clean and much quieter - mattresses too!

The best thing about this place is definitely the staff and location. Hotels are hotels, the management make the decisions and the clients do things (noise, mess, etc), and the staff can't always do things about them, but what they can do is be responsive to the needs of their guests and make them feel welcomed, which the staff here did. The coffee maker in the room blew up upon plugging it into the wall, shortly after we arrived, and after speaking to the front desk, a new coffee maker was delivered in minutes. Great service.

The hotel was packed with families and wedding guests and others,on a busy long weekend, but the hallways were quiet and the beds clean and comfortable, so it was a good stay. There is an indoor pool that looks well maintained, but I didn't get a chance to use it. The breakfast was typical - a few hot items and lots of fruit, yoghurt, things to toast, and the coffee was not bad.

The hotel is located right across the street from SUNY Albany - beautiful campus, and so it was nice to be able to take the dog for a walk in the evening on the well maintained walking paths and trails. The total for the stay, including taxes, was $118, which is not a bargain, but that included the $20 dog charge. i would recommend it for a traveler on a budget, but check the mattresses first!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Anna67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Restaurant and Pool closed but there was no mention of this on the website when we booked, bad business practice. We would not have stayed here knowing the Pool and Restaurant were closed. That should have been on the website with and apology for the inconvenience

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albany hotels
3.6 mi away
Best Western Albany Airport Inn
1.0 mi away
CrestHill Suites Albany
CrestHill Suites Albany
#22 of 50 in Albany
465 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area
0.0 mi away
Days Inn Albany SUNY
Days Inn Albany SUNY
#33 of 50 in Albany
517 reviews
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn Central
Quality Inn Central
#28 of 50 in Albany
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany

Address: 1228 Western Avenue, Albany, NY 12203-3326 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Price Range: £68 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenience and value come together at the Best Western Sovereign Hotel in Albany New York. This full service Albany Hotel offers complimentary Full Hot American Breakfast, Free Wi-Fi and Shuttle Service. All rooms have refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers. Hotel has an indoor heated pool, sauna, fitness room, restaurant, and business center. The hotel is located at the entrance of U-Albany and is minutes from Times Union Center, Downtown area, Crossgates Mall, and Airport. The Best Western sovereign is currently renovating the Lobby area. We look forward to offering our guests a new and updated Lobby with comfort and convenience. We expect the lobby renovation to be completed by 04/30/15. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albany Best Western
Best Western Albany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing