We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travel to New Hampshire”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany
Ranked #27 of 50 Hotels in Albany
redford, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Travel to New Hampshire”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Great Stay on our way to New Hampshire. The hotel was older but it provided a good nights rest. The morning breakfast was excellent. All the items were available and there was plenty of room to sit unlike most breakfasts at other chain hotels

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    257
    204
    122
    97
See reviews for
325
190
77
243
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We chose this hotel as it was one of the better rated economical hotels in Albany. It is an old place and the carpets are pretty seriously worn, the room we had was small and basically fit our king size bed and little else. We stayed here on a Thursday night and the hotel was full.
We could deal with the older worn part but it was disappointing that the bar fridge in our room was noisy but we couldn't unplug as it was plugged in behind a large wall unit. The bathtub was not very clean. For some reason the doors on the rooms are hard to close which result in people ending up slamming the doors. The back door to the hotel is supposed to lock but it was not working so anyone could come in the back of the hotel unseen which is a disappointing breach of security.
Having said all this, it was a very good value, the staff were all friendly and helpful and we would stay here again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york, United States
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2014

scratchy cable reception, late staff cleaning of room and extended cleaning of room on over two day stay, unable to communicate with russian staff, staff trying to enter the door while naked and sleeping after shower, no one explained the ualbany rate until after i had registered overnight for second night

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Wade C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton, New York
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Perfectly adequate when traveling for work, reasonably priced and a convenient location. Cheerful staff and pleasant enough rooms, though not quite as clean as I'd like (not dirty, just not squeaky clean and fresh).

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dulles, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Stayed for two nights on a business trip. Hotel has a dated and worn look, particularly the hallway carpeting, but the room was clean. Check-in staff was pleasant. Mattress was comfortable - pillows were numerous but flat. I was gone all day and when I came back hoping to relax at 6:30 pm my room had still not been made up - had to leave room shortly after that so they could work on it. Later in the evening a manager of some sort came to check on maid service, knocked on door and then entered the room before I could get up from my chair and check out of the peek hole. Breakfast was okay although staff had a difficult time keeping up with restocking. Location was close to SUNY Albany, downtown and highways. Experience was probably reasonable for the price but I would prefer to spend a little extra for a better hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey, United States
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The staff were nice, but the hotel needs some TLC. Lobby, hallways and bathrooms needs to be updated. The bedroom was ok, but it needed to be dusted and the carpet needed to be vacuumed. The room also had a musty odor. We had to purchase air freshener to spray the room. Also, the fitted sheets on both beds were too small, they kept slipping off exposing the mattress. I had to get up during the night to replace the sheets on both beds. In fairness, we never complained to the staff until we checked out. I'm sure they would have taken care of the problems had we told them. BTW, the chocolate chip cookies were excellent! Too bad we never received the bottled water they promised us for being Best Western reward members.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Maurice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Yerushalayim, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The room was clean, large and comfortable. The staff was accommodating and the complimentary breakfast very satisfactory. This hotel was better then average especially considering how reasonable priced it was for this time of year.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albany hotels
3.6 mi away
Best Western Albany Airport Inn
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area
1.0 mi away
CrestHill Suites Albany
CrestHill Suites Albany
#22 of 50 in Albany
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn Central
Quality Inn Central
#29 of 50 in Albany
155 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany

Property: Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany
Address: 1228 Western Avenue, Albany, NY 12203-3326 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenience and value come together at the Best Western Sovereign Hotel in Albany New York. This full service Albany Hotel offers complimentary Full Hot American Breakfast, Free Wi-Fi and Shuttle Service. All rooms have refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers. Hotel has an indoor heated pool, sauna, fitness room, restaurant, and business center. The hotel is located at the entrance of U-Albany and is minutes from Times Union Center, Downtown area, Crossgates Mall, and Airport. The Best Western sovereign is currently renovating the Lobby area. We look forward to offering our guests a new and updated Lobby with comfort and convenience. We expect the lobby renovation to be completed by 04/30/15. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albany Best Western
Best Western Albany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing