We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany
Ranked #22 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Wantagh
2 reviews
“Good Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

The hotel is conveniently located if your visiting the U of Albany. It is really right across from one of the school entrances. Room was clean and comfortable. The restaurant closed very early and had to leave the hotel to get food.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    253
    191
    114
    88
See reviews for
313
182
73
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
130 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

The hotel itself is a weird mix of outdated and updated. The room was fine, the beds in good shape with updated linens, and comfortable. The cube minifrig was probably 40 years old. The bathroom had a comically oversized toilet tank lid and a shower curtain rod that was dramatically curved - but the tub was rectangular - leaving lots of space between. The shower head was updated and a wide shower type, though it took time to get up to temp.

The fitness center is small but the pool was in a sunny indoor courtyard and clean. No whirlpool but there are saunas in the changing rooms.

The included breakfast was a decent variety of scrambled eggs, sausage, breads, fruit, juice, cereals, and coffee. I heard a hilarious exchange where a guest complained that the waffle maker did not make enough waffles at one time. The manager replied "people will make four at once and throw three away."

The hotel is laid out in an ungainly fashion. We had a long walk to our room from the elevator. Housekeeping banged on our door while we were asleep in the morning. On the whole, though, I found staff to be very friendly.

I like the neighborhood. The strip has a funky 70's-80's feel with neighborhood bars, pizza and ice cream places, and is in a good area of town. We recommend the "Across the Street" bar next door. Unfortunately, we did not have an opportunity to order delivery from "Mild Wally's" from the menu in the room.

As a place to stay overnight en route to another location (Boston in our case) it was more than adequate. As my daughter summed up, "It doesn't matter. We slept here, we're alive."

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BaddMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omond Beach, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

Family atmosphere with all the respect and service you could want. Restaurants nearby and affordable. Close to wo shopping malls as well as across the street from SUNY Albany. I would recommend this hotel to any one needing one in the area for short or long term.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Ellyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

This property looks a little old from the outside but inside is very nice.
The rooms look newly renovated and have very comfortable bedding with a nice selection of pillows. There is a microwave and small refrigerator.
The breakfast area is wonderful, a real restaurant with private booths and tables decorated in rich colors. The selections are extensive with eggs, sausage, cereals, waffles and fruit, oatmeal and juices with fruit and bagels, muffins, pastries, etc! It feels like you are in a regular restaurant and not a breakfast room with a small selection!
There is coffee, tea and hot chocolate ready anytime in the lobby, which has comfortable chairs and sofas.
I recommend this for a place to stay in the Albany area! It is convenient to all of the major highways but is very quiet!

Room Tip: I had room 408 not far from the elevator and it was extremely quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joey1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

I attended a conference held there. There was a wad of long hair and glob of spittle in the toilet when I arrived. My room had a musky smell so I had to keep the noisy fan running. The Wi-Fi only worked in the restaurant area not in the room or conference room. The third floor rug was FILTHY and the entire facility shows conspicuous signs of wear and neglect. Overall, it's a shabby hotel that needs an upgrade! You get what you pay for.
On a positive note, the breakfast and restaurant were good and convenient, particularly since it rained most of the time I was in Albany.

Room Tip: You should choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wen0na
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Horrible room and smell. Bathroom was not clean. The carpet in the room had big stains. The hallway had a musty smell in the morning. I would never stay at that hotel again. The people in the next room check-in at 1am and kept us up until 2:30am with their "partying" Called receptionist and was told that she went up to the room but by the time she got there they were sleeping.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Monique L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, IL, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

Great staff - very helpful and friendly. That was the best part, and is probably the hardest part to get right. So, full marks for great staff. Comfortable & clean room. Breakfast selections not so good. In-room free WiFi extremely slow. Fax machine at front desk didn't work, and I needed to send an important fax. Thin walls with lots of noise from hallway and adjoining rooms. Overall experience was good for the price, but I might look for a different place next time.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albany hotels
1.0 mi away
CrestHill Suites Albany
CrestHill Suites Albany
#25 of 50 in Albany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Albany Airport Inn
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area
0.0 mi away
Days Inn Albany SUNY
Days Inn Albany SUNY
#32 of 50 in Albany
3.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Albany Thruway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany

Property: BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany
Address: 1228 Western Ave, Albany, NY 12203
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenience and value come together at the Best Western Sovereign Hotel in Albany New York. This full service Albany Hotel offers complimentary Full Hot American Breakfast, Free Wi-Fi and Shuttle Service. All rooms have refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers. Hotel has an indoor heated pool, sauna, fitness room, restaurant, and business center. The hotel is located at the entrance of U-Albany and is minutes from Times Union Center, Downtown area, Crossgates Mall, and Airport. The Best Western sovereign is currently renovating the Lobby area. We look forward to offering our guests a new and updated Lobby with comfort and convenience. We expect the lobby renovation to be completed by 04/30/15. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albany Best Western
Best Western Albany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing