We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Best Western I've stayed at!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany
Ranked #23 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best Best Western I've stayed at!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2009

I had a work related conference in Albany, New York and I've stayed at the Best Western Sovereign Hotel in the past because it is in a great location and I was very impressed this time round. Apparently the hotel is under new management and the new owners have really done some great improvements. The overnight room I stayed in had new carpet and the walls were upgraded. The housekeeping service is excellent and the customer service from the front desk is fantastic. I'm looking forward to my next visit to Albany and this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 22Fur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    254
    193
    115
    88
See reviews for
314
183
74
232
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2009

We stayed in this hotel for one night on the way to Canada and it was terrible! Firstly they put is in a tiny room with hardly any space for the four of us and the paint was peeling off the walls with damp. When we asked for a roll out bed they offered to move us to a larger room for free to accommodate the bed. The second room was worse that the first! There was a fowl odour of cigarette smoke right down the corridor and when we got to the room it smelt like someone had just been smoking in there! The walls were worse that the first one with patches of black damp and the curtains looked as though they had been there since 1900. There was also a blood stain on the bedding on one of the beds. The bathroom was tiny with no space to move at all and there was no fan so it steamed up quickly. The pull out bed had a spike at the top where it secured itself when folded up and could easily have killed someone if they fell on it in their sleep. Overall a terrible stay and i am glad we only booked it for one night. The guy on the desk when we first arrived was fab but when we checked out, a different guy was very strange. Did not give us a great impression of Albany overall would not go back.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Rachel-traveller11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiverton RI
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2008

My husband, daughter and I stayed here over Thanksgiving weekend. I was completely freaked out when I saw a cockroach in the bathroom. I spoke to the desk clerk, and they gave us a room on the top floor. I don't know what difference that was supposed to make, since the infestation would be throught the building, unless they were appeasing us by giving us a larger room. Unfortunately, the toilet didn't flush and the TV remote didn't work in the bigger room. I was so worried that we would bring home roaches. What we did bring home was a large tick on my daughter's back (the hotel allows dogs). We have stayed in hundreds of hotels all over the world, and have never had such an awful experience. The only positive thing I can say is that the pool was very nice, but they couldn't pay us to stay here again.

  • Liked — pool
  • Disliked — bugs
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Katort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Placid, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2008

My partner and I stayed at the Best Western Sovereign Hotel in mid october. The hotel on a whole is average, I do not have many complaints...the rioom itself was very clean as was the hotel interior and exterior. They have an indoor heated pool which was very nice and always clean and maitenanced.

The hotel offers a hot breakfast with your room and includes eggs, sausage, hot oatmeal and make your own belgian waffles. We took advantage of this on Friday morning only but the setup looked to be plentiful and the food was very good.

Onsite restaurant has very good food and the service is good.

The only problem I had was with the room bathrooms, the hot water was not hot, and there seems to be miscommunication in the housekeeping department as some days amenities were provided and other times they were not. Since we brought our own bathroom supplies this wasn't a problem but had we not this would have been an issue. Called the front desk twice about the hot water situation and it was never rectified.

Overall for the price of the room this is not a bad deal just make sure you do not want to take a hot bath or long shower you may or may not have hot water and if you do you won't know how long it will last.

Hotel is convientiently located about 1.5 miles from Crossgates and Steuyvesent Plaza and is a nice walk on a good night.

  • Liked — Location and accesibility
  • Disliked — Bathroom
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lpvacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2008

Recently spent 7 nights here due to a family wedding in the area and found the hotel to be of a good standard and excellent value,with Complementory shuttle service and an Indoor Pool also for adults a complementory breakfast was a pleasant bonus.
Staff at reception and cleaning staff were friendly and very helpful Only one minor blemish from one man working in the breakfast room who either should take a holiday or leave as he is not best suited to cusotmner service and it appeared all too much for him.
Though in truth it did not affect us at all and we had 10 rooms approx and nobody complained about the hotel at all and the Hotel offered a good price for our stay, even in their high season,much appreciated
The Grill and Bar Area provided us with very good food at a reasonable price and the bar staff were lovely too.
I would be pleased to say here anytime and will again no doubt on family trip in future.

Helpful?
1 Thank JohnGEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upstate NY
Level Contributor
88 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2008

I stayed here with my daughter and 2 other teenage girls for one night when they went to a concert at the Times Union Center. The hotel is directly across from the entrance to SUNY Albany which was nice as I was able to take them for a drive around the campus. Also liked that the hotel was right on route 20 so I could easily get to downtown Albany and the TU Center without having to get on the highway. We had a standard double room which was roomy enough for us. I did have trouble with the TV remote and it was immediately replaced but that didn't seem to be the actual problem. Breakfast buffet in the restaurant was included and pretty good - including eggs, sausage, make your own waffle station... The best thing was that the price was right - the AAA rate was under $80.00 pre-tax.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Upstatefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2008

Very pleasant and comfortable -- big room, comfortable beds, good-sized fridge, microwave, coffee maker. Extensive breakfast buffet, and they gave us water bottles and fresh cookies at check-in. Only complaint is the erratic Wi-Fi system -- most of the time we couldn't get on.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank rtobinma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albany hotels
1.0 mi away
CrestHill Suites Albany
CrestHill Suites Albany
#25 of 50 in Albany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Albany Airport Inn
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Albany Thruway
2.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Albany
Ramada Plaza Albany
#37 of 50 in Albany
3.0 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany

Property: BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany
Address: 1228 Western Ave, Albany, NY 12203
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenience and value come together at the Best Western Sovereign Hotel in Albany New York. This full service Albany Hotel offers complimentary Full Hot American Breakfast, Free Wi-Fi and Shuttle Service. All rooms have refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers. Hotel has an indoor heated pool, sauna, fitness room, restaurant, and business center. The hotel is located at the entrance of U-Albany and is minutes from Times Union Center, Downtown area, Crossgates Mall, and Airport. The Best Western sovereign is currently renovating the Lobby area. We look forward to offering our guests a new and updated Lobby with comfort and convenience. We expect the lobby renovation to be completed by 04/30/15. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albany Best Western
Best Western Albany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing