We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”

Capital Q Smokehouse
Ranked #107 of 687 Restaurants in Albany
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Takeout
Albany, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

One of the best BBQ places in the area, certainly better than Dinosaur. I always used to get the pulled pork but then I tried the brisket and that's all I order now, it's great. They have a lot of choices for sides and they are all great as well. And they give you cornbread with some sort of honeybutter that's phenomenal. I wouldn't call the prices a bargain but you get alot of good food.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gehoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    12
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best BBQ in the area”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I have gone to all of the local bbq joints within 20 miles of here, troy, latham,saratoga, schenectady and the flavor here is the best, i have gone out of my way to eat here

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank azezzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
320 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Tasty meat, but not perfect”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

On a recent visit to Albany, I had the Okie pulled pork sandwich. The delicious sauce had a little spice kick in addition to the sweetness, but the sauce overwhelmed the meat taste. The mac and cheese wasn't very good. It was gummy and too rich to finish, without having much real cheese taste. I'd go back, however, to try the other dishes. There are several regional styles of BBQ from which to choose.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ConnecticutLocavore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A taste of the South”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Enjoyed getting a taste of each of the styles of sauce on the pulled pork before ordering. The pork was succulent, and the 3 types of sauce enabled each of us to get exactly what we liked. The rolls the sandwiches were served on were fabulous! We each got the mashed sweet potatoes for a side, which was a bit too much sweet potato. Wished we'd each gotten a different one and shared.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank nhoetker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good & Bad, feel ripped off on the brisket”
Reviewed 27 March 2013

I no longer eat there. Used to stop there every time we got to Albany. Got two takeout orders of brisket, this time, sides are as good as always, flavor is great, but we both had unacceptably large chunks of fat in our brisket...and we LIKE it fattier, not lean. But it was waaaay too high a % of fat...some pieces more fat than meat.

Not at these prices for brisket.

Everything else is usually very good, though.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Moe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Capital Q Smokehouse also viewed

 

Been to Capital Q Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing