We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Third time and great at always!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Albany-Colonie
Ranked #13 of 50 Hotels in Albany
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Third time and great at always!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Our third time at Springhill Suites with great service, terrific efficient staff and good breakfast. Rooms were good and clean as usual. We really like staying here and are disappointed that there are no rooms available for our next upcoming weekend in Albany.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smcdyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie243, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Albany-Colonie, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay with us. I'm delighted that you find our hotel perfect for your needs when travelling to the Albany area. Keep trying for that next date you're looking to come in, something may open up! We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Thank you,
Carrie F.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    128
    39
    14
    10
See reviews for
158
63
17
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Forest Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Marriott Platinum member review:

I have traveled to Albany consistently all year and have had the opportunity to try many of the Marriott properties in the Albany area. The staff here was fantastic and I can't say enough about the politeness and enthusiasm that they have when talking to their guests. The staff would be a reason to stay just for their kindness alone.

I might be a one off on the rooms as I had a extremely dirty room with an odd design. My shower was dirty with another person's hair throughout when I got to the hotel and the water that was laid out for guests was already drank and left there without the maid replacing and providing a new bottle. The staff was fantastic about dealing with them, but it's hard to make up for getting into a shower only to realize that you are already surrounded by a fur rug on the walls.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Derek D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie243, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Albany-Colonie, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest,

I am terribly sorry to hear of these problems you experienced in your room during your recent stay with us. I assure you this is not the norm at our property and I am taking the necessary actions to ensure another guest does not have the same experience as you did.

If you would like to discuss your experience further, please feel free to contact me directly at the phone number listed below. Once again, please accept my apology. We would like to regain your trust and we hope you will allow us an opportunity to provide you with an exceptional guest experience when your travels bring you back to this area.

Thank you,
Carrie F.
General Manager
518-724-7999
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highand Mills
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Hotel and rooms were clean, service attentive, and a great value for the price and area. Hotel is not far from SUNY Albany, Several Shoping Centers (Crossgates Mall, Colonie Mall, and Stuyvesant Plaza). It is a short car ride the the State Capital, the Egg, and State office buildings.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYTraveler051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie243, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Albany-Colonie, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for letting us know about your stay with us. I am glad your stay was enjoyable and that you found our location to be ideal. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Thank you,
Carrie F.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Hotel is very clean, when i was checking in I was given a room upgrage without even asking for one. The room was nice and clean and the bed was so comfortable. The breakfast was better than average with the eating area being kinda small

I would stay again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottWanke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie243, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Albany-Colonie, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your upgraded room and our breakfast buffet. I hope you will choose to stay with us again should your travels bring you back to the Albany area.

Thank you,
Carrie F.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Hotel made a mistake on my receipt when I checked out. The rate was listed on the receipt at $169 but they charged me $199 for 2 nights. When I questioned this, the front desk clerk said she made a mistake and will credit my credit card the $60. She gave me a new receipt and I left. They then went back and charged my credit card $199 a night for two nights. I called the hotel and spoke with the manager who said it should have been $199. I told her my rate says $169 and she said that was a mistake. I called Marriott customer service who told me that the $169 rate was if I stayed that night. Who puts the rate for the night you are NOT staying on the receipt??? I disputed this charge with my credit card company. The hotel manager was very rude and I think this amounts to credit card fraud. You cannot bill me for something after I have left your establishment with a receipt. Marriott customer service was very unhelpful and made excuse after excuse as to why they overcharged me. Finally he just said, "Well, we have to stand by our branches." Terrible experience. I will never stay at a Marriott Hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mom036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie243, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Albany-Colonie, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Guest,

I apologize for the confusion surrounding the rates your group of rooms was booked at; I know if can be confusing when the rates change during your stay. This particular set of rooms was booked by one person who was aware that the rates were higher for Friday and Saturday nights than Sunday night; I can only offer an apology if this was not conveyed to you by the person who made your reservations. I do hope the rest of your stay was enjoyable.
Thank you,
Carrie F.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
199 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed here for two nights while traveling with our grandson. It is very clean and perfect for three people. The breakfast buffet is good and well maintained. They are constantly bringing out fresh food. The staff is very friendly. The pool is a disappointment. It is very small and the area has limited seating. There is an outdoor patio with lounge chairs. But, if you are watching children swimming, you need to be indoors with them. The hotel is near many restaurants and route I87.

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niti R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie243, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Albany-Colonie, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at our property. I am delighted you were able to enjoy our breakfast buffet. I do hope you will choose to stay wtih us again should you return to the Albany area.
Thank you,
Carrie F.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Well, if the hotels in Albany weren't sold out I would not stay here another day. There was a blood stain (small) on the white comforter. I called and asked for it to be replaced. Two guys came in wearing rubber gloves and literally threw the 'new' clean quilt on the bed (did not make it) and took the old one; I showed them the small but obvious tan blood colored type blood stain which was near the edge of the top of the quilt. There was also no 'do not disturb sign'. After looking over , it was clear the floor had not been vacuumed. They fixed this while I was out for 3 hours and after I asked, but ick. Having just stayed in a smilar Marriott hotel in PA 3 days ago this room has a worse layout, less helpful bedside lighting, lacks attention to detail. Most unlikely to stay here again since these basic issues should not be a problem. On the bright side was no mold in the shower.

Room Tip: Look before you stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank RocFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie243, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Albany-Colonie, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us and sharing your experience with the SpringHill Suites Albany-Colonie.

You indicated in your response that the cleanliness of your guest room was unsatisfactory. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit. I assure you we have already taken the appropriate measures to ensure this does not happen again.

If I may be of assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact me.

Thank you,
Carrie F
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
1.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany
1.3 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Albany Airport / Wolf Rd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area
1.0 mi away
CrestHill Suites Albany
CrestHill Suites Albany
#25 of 50 in Albany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Albany-Colonie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Albany-Colonie

Property: SpringHill Suites Albany-Colonie
Address: 8 California Ave, Albany, NY 12205
Region: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Albany
#9 Business Hotel in Albany
#10 Family Hotel in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Albany-Colonie 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your SpringHill Suites Albany-Colonie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Albany-Colonie Hotel Albany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing