We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“for the price you pay it's not bad and the location is good...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn - Albany
Ranked #32 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    71
    76
    42
    52
See reviews for
95
53
39
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Brunswick, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2014

For the price, I don't think you can do much better. Plenty of space, good amenities (free wifi is always a plus, and it's fast too), good location - lots of places to eat nearby, and most of them will deliver to your room. I saw some other reviews that complained about it being dirty, or having a smoky smell in a non-smoking room - I didn't experience these issues. My room was always clean and tidy.

The staff here is very friendly too. I stayed here a few days a week over the span of a few months for work. I could have chosen a more upscale hotel, but decided to stick with this one mainly for that reason.

I really didn't have any complaints. The shower took a few minutes to heat up in the winter, and the continental breakfast could offer a bit more, but I think they're doing the best with what they've got.

Room Tip: Room 118 is where they serve the continental breakfast, so I guess go with 116 or 120 if you want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, New York, United States
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

was clean but badly in need of remodeling. staff was nice. ok for 1 night. location idea on a busy street . restaurant on site, only 2 miles from airport. big hotel lots of rooms but rooms do need lots of help

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, NY
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Do yourself a favor and keep driving. There are other hotels around that have to be better than this place. I was traveling for work and the company booked this for me. At first it looked fine, check in was quick, and there was even a restaurant/bar attached to the motel. That's where the good things ended. I was put in a room in the very back of the property, so it was very deserted. Walked into the "non smoking room" and was greeted by the smell of stale cigarette smoke. It was like it was a smoking room at one point, and they just tried to cover the smell. The room was freezing! No heat on at all. Turned the lights on and saw the stained carpet, stained bedspread, and the filthy refrigerator. At this point it was late and I was hungry, so I turned up the heat and went to the restaurant while the room heated up. The restaurant was nice, it is a Thai and the bar was well stocked and had decent food. Came back to the room and it still was pretty cold, but better. Walked in the bathroom and saw that the toilet seat was only half attached, and the floor was so sticky that my shoes were sticking to it. It was obvious to me that the housekeeping was basically non existent. I put 2 towels down on the floor to walk on. Besides having the stained bedspread, the bed was pretty comfortable. The best part came in the morning when I went to take a shower. I turned the shower on and it came out in just a stream. At first I was confused and thought maybe it was like a shower massage type shower head. When I looked up I realized there was no shower head! I had been taken off. I was able to make it through a shower without a shower head and went to the office to show them the video I took of the water coming out of the shower. At first they didn't seem to see the problem with it, until I said "there is no shower head". The woman told me "oh we must have missed that". You think? All she offered was that I could go take a shower in another room. No offer of a refund or anything like that. I told her I was fine and that I just wouldn't be staying there again. Do yourself a favor and go somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anthspin68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, Ohio, Usa
1 review
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Very disappointed....dirty .,,, old bedding and in need of a total rehab..will never stay at a Howard Johnson's again
It was a. Very negative experience.. Should be closed down or totally rehabbed

Poor excuse for a hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Central
Quality Inn Central
#29 of 50 in Albany
155 reviews
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Inn and Suites Albany
1.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Albany Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cocca's Inns & Suites Albany Airport
2.8 mi away
Days Inn Albany SUNY
Days Inn Albany SUNY
#33 of 50 in Albany
498 reviews
2.9 mi away
Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn - Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Albany

Property: Howard Johnson Inn - Albany
Address: 1614 Central Ave # 5, Albany, NY 12205-2463
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Albany 1.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Albany Hotel Albany
Howard Johnson Hotel Albany
Howard Johnson Albany
Albany Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing