We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Business hotel that treats everyone as special” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Albany Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Albany Marriott
Ranked #17 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
83 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Business hotel that treats everyone as special”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Perfect location near Albany Airport and a short drive into Albany or to Saratoga Springs. The hotel amenities include indoor and outdoor pools, a large lobby and an excellent concierge floor. Unfortunately, because this is considered a business hotel, the concierge floor lounge closes after breakfast on Friday and reopens Sunday evening.

Room Tip: Some rooms are hike to the elevators
See more room tips
Green Features: They will give you fresh towels everyday if you prefer but if you would prefer your towels can be reused another day.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Byron1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd R, General Manager at Albany Marriott, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Byron1944,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you were happy with the multiple amenities that the hotel offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    172
    118
    59
    23
See reviews for
86
76
37
221
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Middle Island, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

The lobby opens up to the lounge area, allowing business travelers the feeling they are never alone because it is always lively. There are two pools, an indoor and an outdoor, so Albany winters are never a factor and summertime brings one a pleasant choice to sun or to swim. The food is consistently good and the rooms comfortable. Location is great, for business or as a family stop over enroute to or from a northeast vacation destination. Staff are very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hawaiib0und
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd R, General Manager at Albany Marriott, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Hawaiib0und,

We are delighted that you were pleased with the stay. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Have had numerous business functions at this location and the event staff is SPECTACULAR. However, the rooms are dated, dirty, and in disrepair. Have had black water back up through the drains in the tub, stained sheets, dirty rooms in general, and broken items throughout. The location is very close to the airport without being disruptive with planes. The lobby is nice, but it doesn't make up for the rooms in the least bit. After staying here I actively looked for other locations in the Albany area due to the quality of the rooms. This Marriott is in dire need of a freshening up.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd R, General Manager at Albany Marriott, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that you were not completely enjoy your stay. I hope you will be back and we will be able to regain your trust.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhinebeck, New York
Level Contributor
115 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Recently had a business meeting at the Ahtoellbany Marriott which required an overnight stay. I have often stayed in this hotel the night before a very early morning flight (great proximity to the airport) but have to say this stay was not up to anticipated Marriott standards. Because of my schedule I was only in the room long enough to drop my suitcase before heading out for the evening. When I returned to the room later in the evening I noticed that the A/C unit seemed quite loud. Actually, it was like having a train running through the room all night long. Finally in desperation I turned it off, but then the room was stuffy and uncomfortable. Ok, I understand in older hotels A/C noise can be a problem. After a not great night (in spite of the super comfortable bed!) an early morning swim in a very nice pool seemed like a great way to start my day. What happened next was not so pleasant. When I pulled the shower curtain back to take a shower after my swim, I found dirty towels in the tub! (obviously from the previous occupant) YUCK! Upon check out I mentioned it to the desk clerk who seemed completely disinterested in my comments. I am a loyal Marriott customer and know they can do better. With many other hotel options in the area, I will have to rethink a return stay here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LP1247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd R, General Manager at Albany Marriott, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your review. We are happy that you were able to enjoy our pool. I wanted to apologize for the inconvenience with the cleanliness of the bathroom and the AC not working properly. We will make sure to address these issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level Contributor
301 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Was there for Baseball Hall of Fame Induction-- found everything to be first rate with the exception of the front desk... They were too slow at check in and could not find bill for incidentals when I was checking out-- shuttle service from and to the airport was outstanding-- breakfast was great, dinner not so great. Room was small but comfortable.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kwajkid007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd R, General Manager at Albany Marriott, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your review, we are happy that you were happy that you enjoyed your stay. I apologize that you were not pleased with the service upon departure and check in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Loved the comfortable beds and pillows. Rooms need updating especially the bathrooms. Our bathroom did not have a fan and the plumbing needed fixing. The bathtub did not hold water and the shower would not stop dripping when the faucet was on. When I turned off the faucet it continued to drip. I told the man standing by the desk on the way out and he wrote all the problems down. The staff were wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky63_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd R, Manager at Albany Marriott, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay on TripAdvisor. We appreciate you taking the time to mention out staff and apologize for the issues you had with your room. I am glad to hear that one of our associates noted your issues and I am sure that they were taken care of for the next guest. Thank you for your courtesy and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
119 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

I'd give a 3-1/2 if available, but it didn't deserve a 4. The entire hotel staff in all aspects is top notch, rarely have I found better service and management. However, the hotel is fairly run down, and actually not a very good value. The hotel is hard to find, there's a very small sign on the street (Wolf Rd.), but the hotel is set back from the road, and if you miss the sign, you'll never see the hotel. The hotel doesn't have the feel of a Marriott brand, at least not the one's I've stayed at. The room was very dated. A/C unit old and loud, carpet wearing, bathroom fixtures getting rusty, furniture not worthy of a garage sale. The bed however was very comfortable and restful. Ample, comfortable blankets and pillows

If you're in the area for business, this may be the hotel for you. Otherwise, there are better values in the immediate area.

Room Tip: The sign is very small and easy to miss because the hotel is removed from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 9999Tr_Av_El_Er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd R, Manager at Albany Marriott, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay on Trip Advisor. We truly appreciate that you shared this information. I am glad to read that you thought our staff was top notch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany
0.5 mi away
The Desmond Hotel Albany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany Airport
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Albany - Wolf Road (Airport)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albany Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albany Marriott

Property: Albany Marriott
Address: 189 Wolf Road, Albany, NY 12205-1123
Region: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Albany Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 359
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Revel in rare blends of style and structure at the Albany Marriott. Our conveniently positioned Wolf Road hotel is just a short trip from Albany International Airport showcasing convenience for all travelers. Our spacious, thoughtfully crafted hotel rooms feature top-tiered amenities built for relaxation and a ergonomic work area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Albany Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albany Marriott Hotel Albany
Marriott Albany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing