We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, but . . .”
Review of Albany Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Albany Marriott
Ranked #19 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Reviewed 26 August 2014

First, the good. Our room was large. Our room was clean. The front desk staff was outstanding. The housekeeping staff also smiled and said hello. It is nice to have both an indoor and an outdoor pool (though the indoor heated pool was more comfortable, even in August). The fitness center was not especially inviting, though it was well equipped and availability of fresh fruit and lemon water a nice touch.

On the other hand, our bathroom was small and dated and our air conditioning unit was loud, as well. We were not overly impressed with the Concierge Lounge offerings (soft pretzels, anyone?).

Overall: they certainly have the staffing right, but it is time to update and brighten the halls, rooms and pool and fitness areas.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd R, General Manager at Albany Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Linda K,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Albany Marriott. We are happy that you enjoyed the service and staff, as well as the indoor and outdoor pool.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (519)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 519 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

The great:
1. The desk staff and bartender were very knowledgeable and friendly.

2. The food at the restaurant was excellent. Kudos to the chef.

The not so great:

1. This hotel really needs an update. The furnishings and carpet are dated and worn. Most Marriott's invest in frequent redecorating/ remodeling. Not this one.

The terrible:
1. We waited 40 minutes after we called for the airport shuttle for it to arrive. The hotel is only 5 minutes away.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian30135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd R, General Manager at Albany Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you Brian for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are happy that you enjoyed the food in the restaurant and that you found our staff to be knowledgeable and friendly. I wanted to apologize for the inconvenience of having such an unusually long shuttle wait. We try to provide shuttle service from the airport in 15 minutes or less. We will make sure to address these issues.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I had stayed at this hotel numerous times in the 1990's for business, and now just recently stayed for a pleasure trip. The hotel was as good as I remembered it. The staff (front desk and housekeeping) are pleasant and attentive. The room was clean and up to usual Marriott standards.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoSpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd R, General Manager at Albany Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you NoSpin for leaving a review about our hotel on TripAdvisor. I appreciate that you took the time to give us a positive review. I hope we will see you on your next trip to the Capital Region.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

I booked over the telephone to make sure it was guaranteed I was going to get a king size bed. I realized that it wasn't cheap to stay there (over $150 per night) but my experience with previous Marriott (Boston) has been pleasant. I therefore thought this time would be the same. The check-in day I received an email giving me the option to check-in online, but I decided not to do that. When I arrived to the hotel, I was told that my reservation was cancelled. I didn't cancel it. There was no explanation for it, but they still gave me a room without a King size bed. I was told that although they offer king size beds (per written in my reservation paperwork) they do not guarantee you will get it. Excuse me? The only reason I reserved a room there was because I wanted to make sure I would get a King size bed to be comfortable sleeping with my husband. Needless to say, I didn't sleep comfortably and the room did not worth the prize. The furniture was old and the air conditioning was loud. Never again!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tochi4ever2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd R, General Manager at Albany Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you for your review Tochi4ever2000,

I am sorry to hear that there was a problem with the reservation and that you were not able to get a room with the king bed.

Please visit us again and we will make sure to gain your trust back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

The rooms are big and clean with comfortable beds. My only complaints are that it seemed as if the bathrooms hadn't been redone in at least 10 years and wi-fi is $12.95 a day. Overall, it is a nice hotel, even if a little overpriced for what you get.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd R, General Manager at Albany Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you very much Micheal H for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate that you took time to give us this review and hope to see you again the next time your'e in the Albany region.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Perfect location near Albany Airport and a short drive into Albany or to Saratoga Springs. The hotel amenities include indoor and outdoor pools, a large lobby and an excellent concierge floor. Unfortunately, because this is considered a business hotel, the concierge floor lounge closes after breakfast on Friday and reopens Sunday evening.

Room Tip: Some rooms are hike to the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Byron1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd R, General Manager at Albany Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear Byron1944,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you were happy with the multiple amenities that the hotel offers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The lobby opens up to the lounge area, allowing business travelers the feeling they are never alone because it is always lively. There are two pools, an indoor and an outdoor, so Albany winters are never a factor and summertime brings one a pleasant choice to sun or to swim. The food is consistently good and the rooms comfortable. Location is great, for business or as a family stop over enroute to or from a northeast vacation destination. Staff are very friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Hawaiib0und
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd R, General Manager at Albany Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Hawaiib0und,

We are delighted that you were pleased with the stay. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albany hotels
5.4 mi away
Renaissance Albany Hotel
0.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
2.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Albany Thruway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Albany Airport
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albany Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albany Marriott

Address: 189 Wolf Road, Albany, NY 12205
Region: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Price Range: £89 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Albany Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 359
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Revel in rare blends of style and structure at the Albany Marriott. Our Albany hotel's location is conveniently positioned on Wolf Road, just a short trip from Albany International Airport making us great for all travelers. Spacious, thoughtfully crafted hotel rooms feature top-tiered amenities built for relaxation and a ergonomic work area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Albany Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albany Marriott Hotel Albany
Marriott Albany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing