We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, good location”
Review of Albany Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Albany Marriott
Ranked #19 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Good value, good location”
Reviewed 11 June 2010

This is an average Marriott with average facilities, staff, price and rooms. The rooms were the best bit. Food was good in the restaurant - breakfast and dinner but I noticed dinner was expensive (convenient and good so not complaining). Hotel has a small pool - very cold and could have been cleaner. Bar staff were great. Front desk staff seemed to be too busy to be helpful. What impressed me most was the fact everyone was spending time looking after a nesting duck outside the front door - good for them! Hotel is close to airport and has great restaurants and shopping nearby.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smt_RT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    173
    119
    59
    23
See reviews for
86
76
38
224
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2010

If you frequently stay at Marriotts and their peers, you pretty much know what to expect. You know that at their Marriott brand hotels they're still going to charge you for internet access in your room. You know you'll have a comfortable bed and pretty much clean rooms.

A couple of features stood out to me. The halls and area around the elevator bank weren't finished as well as I'm used to seeing. It was fresh, but their painter didn't appear to take much care in using a straight edge.

The lobby/bar/seating area was very nice and relatively lively the days I was there.

Why does a healthclub need to close at 11:00? It's not staffed/monitored anyway, so why do they care when I work out?

The climate control in my room wouldn't cool off sufficiently. The only blanket you get is a down comforter and I set the air as far down as it would go. I know I'm fine at 70-72. It wouldn't get cool enough, and it was cold/damp outside.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2010

First impressions of the Albany Marriott were favourable: very large room (two double beds) coffee machine, friendly staff...

However my stay was marred by the INCREDIBLY NOISY aircon which woke me up every time it came on during the night. In addition the coffee machine produced the most vile coffee I have ever tasted, infact I'm not sure it was coffee at all.

There were a few things that were good, such as a proper hair dryer and a newspaper on one of the two mornings I was there but other irritants such as the mirror being positioned so high on the wall that when you sit down you can't use it. So hair drying must be done standing up. And 24 hour internet access was $13.95. WHEN are hotels going to stop charging for internet, it's outrageous.

On the whole it was ok but I would have been unhappy if I'd stayed for leisure.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wheeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2010

I stayed in the Marriot this past weekend for one night. The parking is ok, a little crowded when there are events. The staff is quite friendly and helpful. The room was quite large, but not as clean as I would have wished. When I first walked into the bathroom I noticed hair in the sink. Faucet was dirty and speckled with toothpaste. The shampoo that hotels provide gratis was clearly used. I called the front desk and a house keeper came up to clean the sink again, when she left, there was still toothpaste on the faucet so I bought cleaner and cleaned it myself. There was also hair in the tub, pretty disgusting.

The bed was quite comfortable and the desk was huge. I was disappointed that we had to pay so much to use the internet, most places I stay provide wireless internet for free. The fitness center was GREAT! Large, plenty of machines, free weights and and a nice pool too. The restaurant was expensive but the hotel is surrounded with reasonably priced places to eat, Olive Garden & Red Lobster are right across the street. The hotel is right down the street from 87 so it is convenient to get to.

I don't know if I would stay here again, I think I would try one of the many other hotels in the area. I hate strange hair, but if you aren't easily skeeved like me, you might like it.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taraj65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2010

Was staying at this hotel for a 2 day convention- ordinarly stay when in Albany at the Courtyard across the street, but the room was part of a meeting discount, and would be getting more Marriott points, so I booked it.

Day one of the convention, left room 7:30am, came back 7:30pm. Loose change I had placed on the bureau holding the TV was gone. Took that in stride, at least until I went to bed.

The bedcover was neat as a pin when I came back, but when I pulled it down to go to sleep, found the sheets had not been straightened out, but had essentially been left unmade under the bedcover.

Reported both to the front desk last day of my stay. "BeBe" was shocked and appropriately chagrinned. However, i supect that this is not the first time such shenanigans had occured.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DOTDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yonkers, New York
Level Contributor
188 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2010

I had to attend a few seminars for school in early February. Really nice hotel. They did an EXCELLENT job with the food, great lunch and dinner and a pretty good continental breakfast. Great variety and plenty of vegetable options. Conference rooms were nice and well set up, but either boiling hot or cold. They had trouble regulating the temperature; I noticed this even when I’ve been to conferences in other hotels. Wireless is not free I paid for it in my room but it didn’t work in the conference room area. Attentive front desk, they called a cab for me which came immediately. Checking in was a little annoying I found a cheaper rate on hotels.com, it took 20 minutes for them to find my reservation because I didn’t go through the hotel website. The room was very nice, the only problem was the door was difficult to open, the door handle would stick a bit. Would stay here again but will deal with not using the internet, not worth the price.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank epoh84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chittenango NY
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2010

I attended the Empire State Tourism conference at this property in 2010. From the time I checked in to the time I left the staff was friendly, gracious, helpful and a joy to interact with. When we needed help setting up or tearing down, or ice for the hospitality suite, or an extra garbage can it was available almost immediately. I would highly recommend this property to anyone planning a meeting in the Albany area.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimwalter23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany
0.5 mi away
The Desmond Hotel Albany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Albany Airport / Wolf Rd
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Albany - Wolf Road (Airport)
0.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Albany Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albany Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albany Marriott

Property: Albany Marriott
Address: 189 Wolf Road, Albany, NY 12205-1123
Region: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Albany Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 359
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Revel in rare blends of style and structure at the Albany Marriott. Our Albany hotel's location is conveniently positioned on Wolf Road, just a short trip from Albany International Airport making us great for all travelers. Spacious, thoughtfully crafted hotel rooms feature top-tiered amenities built for relaxation and a ergonomic work area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Albany Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albany Marriott Hotel Albany
Marriott Albany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing