We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful bargain”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Albany Airport
Ranked #26 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Albany, New York, USA
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“A wonderful bargain”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I stayed at the Red Roof Inn in early April in my own city (Albany) because I had returned from vacation a week sooner than my wife, but had left my keys on the carpet in California. I needed a place to stay for a couple of nights while my wife Fed-Exed my keys to me, and I didn’t want to be out any more money than necessary. The Red Roof Inn on Wolf Road in Colonie, just outside the Albany city limits and just minutes from the Albany Airport, was perfect. As a walk-in, I paid just under $67 per night (including taxes) for a more-than-adequate room.

My room faced Wolf Road, with a row of trees and a little distance between so that the road noise was not noticeable. This is a better location than the other side, which picks up considerable noise from the Northway motorway. The room was most attractive. The flooring consisted of a light-colored ceramic tile made to look like a hardwood floor. The carpeting was short hair and limited to the bedsides and the entrance. The flooring was warm to bare feet. I really liked this. It is such an improvement over the dark green shag carpet that makes a typical motel room in this class of motels depressing. The room was well lit with ample space for working at one’s laptop or for reading. The room also had a standard plasma flat-screen television. The window in my third-floor room directly above the office looked out on an outside corridor, which means that you must have the curtains drawn for privacy. However I did not encounter or notice another person on this end of the third floor during my entire stay. The room can be accessed by climbing an outside stairwell, which I found refreshing in the brisk air of early April. Of course there is an elevator for those who are so inclined.

There are ample choices for eating on Wolf Road. I liked the diner accessed by turning left from the Inn and going up a block or two (it is on the right), and I also like Macaroni Grill, which is very close to the Inn.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Wolf Road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    148
    84
    32
    29
See reviews for
101
68
67
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome NY
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Stayed at this hotel for one night before taking a flight. Room was clean and bed was comfortable. Gentleman at the front desk as very nice. I was able to keep my car there as they have 24 hour free shuttle to the airport and came in handy when my flight got back at 1AM. Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sindra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This was the third RRI we stayed at on a recent trip, and the only one with some problems. Overall, it is good, inexpensive lodging. This particular property had some housekeeping issues--no toilet paper, hair in the bathtub, used washcloth on the shower rod. I addressed these upon check-out and received an apology and a discount on the rate. The bathroom in general could also use some work, particularly the bathtub, the enamel on which was chipping. However, I am willing to accept that the housekeeping issues may have been unusual and will be addressed by the management, so I would still recommend this motel. The rooms and the price make it a good choice in the Albany area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coolbreezeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Reserved a King superior room with fridge and microwave. Microwave did not work. I called front desk about 6:10 p.m. and she said she'd call maintenance. No one ever came. Next morning, I checked the milk and juice in the fridge and it was warm, because refrigerator didn't work either. When I checked out the desk handled my complaints very casually. "Oh we don't have a maintenance person on at night." Well, when I phoned the night before the desk should have told me that so I could have requested a different room. It was a "who cares attitude..."

Room Tip: Check the equipment and amenities before you unpack, or you'll be stuck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romney, West Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Great facilities and even better staff - professional and courteous - nice room layout - everything about our stay was good - will be staying there again and have already recommended it to/for others.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dackerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redroofinn112, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Albany Airport, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you for taking time to write our property a Trip Advisor post! At Red Roof Inn we pride our self on providing our guests with comfortable, clean and affordable rooms with great service.

It is good to receive the positive feedback. I am always delighted to hear such great things about our hotel and staff. I am glad you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms and our staff and myself delighted you doing your stay. We believe in great customer service and affordable prices. I do hope you get a chance to stay with us again when your travel plans bring you to Albany.

We truly thank you again for writing a post about your positive experience at our property! I will be sure to share your words with the staff. We look forward to seeing you in your future travels!

Chandrick Hayes
General Manager II
Albany Airport Red Roof Inn
i0112@redroof.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fishs eddy
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Great location and clean rooms.. redone rooms. King size room was nice .frig and microwave.and safe too. Room was on first floor and was noisy. Others customers were very noisy. Also air plane noise was annoying. I like the huge bed and tv. Lights are well located in room also

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redroofinn112, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Albany Airport, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you for taking time to write our property a Trip Advisor post! At Red Roof Inn we pride our self on providing our guests with comfortable, clean and affordable rooms with great service.

It is good to receive the positive feedback. I am always delighted to hear such great things about our hotel and staff. I am glad you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms and our staff and myself delighted you doing your stay. We believe in great customer service and affordable prices. I do hope you get a chance to stay with us again when your travel plans bring you to Albany.

We truly thank you again for writing a post about your positive experience at our property! I will be sure to share your words with the staff. We look forward to seeing you in your future travels!

Chandrick Hayes
General Manager II
Albany Airport Red Roof Inn
i0112@redroof.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I have used this location twice in the past two months once to go to Florida in February and again in March on the way back. This is a no surprise type of motel, close to the highway, but yet very quiet. A main attribute is the proximity to several restaurants. It is not frequent that you can walk to to your restaurant. We had a snow storm in February and had to stay an extra night. The staff was very helpful and the property was cleaned very fast.

Room Tip: The top floor is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank desjardi40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redroofinn112, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Albany Airport, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you for taking time to write our property a Trip Advisor post! At Red Roof Inn we pride our self on providing our guests with comfortable, clean and affordable rooms with great service.

It is good to receive the positive feedback. I am always delighted to hear such great things about our hotel and staff. We believe in great customer service and affordable prices. I do hope you get a chance to stay with us again when your travel plans bring you to Albany.

We truly thank you again for writing a post about your positive experience at our property! I will be sure to share your words with the staff. We look forward to seeing you in your future travels!

Chandrick Hayes
General Manager II
Albany Airport Red Roof Inn
i0112@redroof.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Albany Airport Inn
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Inn and Suites Albany
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn Central
Quality Inn Central
#28 of 50 in Albany
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Albany - Wolf Road (Airport)
1.3 mi away
Express Inn & Suites
Express Inn & Suites
#21 of 50 in Albany
219 reviews
3.5 mi away
Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Albany Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Albany Airport

Property: Red Roof Inn Albany Airport
Address: 188 Wolf Rd, Albany, NY 12205-1116
Region: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Albany Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albany is the capital city of New York State, located at the southern gateway to the magnificent Adirondacks and the northern edge of the scenic Hudson River Valley. Vermont and Western Massachusetts are less than an hour's drive away, we're midway between Syracuse and New York City along the New York State Thruway. At Red Roof Inn Albany Airport, we're proud of our city and its heritage, and want to make your stay here as comfortable as possible. We offer Wi-Fi Internet connectivity in all guest rooms, voice mail in all guest rooms, elevator service, and the convenience of exterior corridors. Take advantage of our meeting facilities, our proximity to nearby restaurants, pick-up and drop off laundry service, discounts at local fitness facilities, and our pet-friendly hospitality! When coming to New York's capital district, enjoy our convenient, remodeled Red Roof Inn Albany Airport, your best economy lodging choice in New York's capital district! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Red Roof Inn Albany Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Albany Airport Hotel Albany
Albany Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing