We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty hotel - uncomfortable bed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Albany University Area
Ranked #25 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Pretty hotel - uncomfortable bed”
Reviewed 20 May 2009

Cashed in my points for a free 1 night stay. Got a nice room with sofabed on the first floor.

When the room next door, or may have been upstairs, used their shower, it was Very noisy. More so than normal.
Our bed was extremely soft and uncomfortable. For a relatively new place, the mattress felt 'old'.

Free computer in the lobby.
Free breakfast.
Outdoor pool.
Friendly front desk staff.
Free parking.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dhammer53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    54
    25
    16
    8
See reviews for
84
21
6
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2009

Had a wonderful weekend in Albany and was completely satisfied with our stay over at the Marriott Towne Place Suites. We stayed in a Studio suite that was comfortable and clean.The staff was friendly and I would definately recommend to any couple or family for any visit to the Albany area.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Seneca, NY
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2009

The rooms are smaller than the other Marriott properties, but offer more flexibility. I got a two bedroom, and for the price, you just can't beat it. The breakfast has enough options for everyone. With the kitchen in the room, you can cook a meal without any trouble. Friendly staff.

Beware Marriott Point Collectors - You only get 5 points / Dollar - But you save a lot of Money!

  • Liked — Price!
  • Disliked — Only 5points/Dollar
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank hotelsrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2008

The suites were very clean and presentable. This would be a good place to stay with a large family.

  • Liked — The value was good for the accommodations.
  • Disliked — The carpets were cleaned after we had checked in and went out for the afternoon - carpet stayed wet all night.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CindyKayeOklahoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2007

Great location for university, government, meeting or business travel. If driving, get good directions as the hotel can be tricky to find. Townplace Suites consist of a large room with a built in kitchen - a stretch to call this a suite. Pricing is budget as are the materials used to built the hotel. Room doors were scuffed and hallways were in need of vacumming. Housekeeping is on request and not every day -- our housekeeper was excellent and even provided extra service above and beyond. Room price includes a breakfast buffet - better than average. Lobby has internet access and a small convenience shop.

  • Liked — Location, Built in Kitchen
  • Disliked — Property Maintenance
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Railhistoryfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft.Lauderdale
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2007

I have stayed at this hotel many times over the past two years, as my daughter goes to SUNY Albany, which is right across the street. I have NEVER once been disappointed in its cleanliness, staff friendliness, or great value for the cost. I usually stay in one of their 2 bedroom suites, and my whole family enjoys the stay. The rooms are spacious, the amenities, such as continental breakfast, free internet wireless, flat screen TV, all add up to make this hotel by far the best value I've experienced.

  • Liked — Spacious Rooms
  • Disliked — DIstance from Restaurants
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RosieLeeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2007

We've stayed at Towneplace Suites all over the country and I have to say I was surprised by this one. It was dirty and lower end.

Right away I was taken aback by the lobby which normally has a standard look - this one reminded me of a burger king from the 1970s.

When we walked down the hallway to our room I knew we were in trouble as the doors for EVERY room were dirty. Not a good sign.

Every wall and door surface in our room was dirty with splats of who knows what. The most disgusting was the bits of old food and other dirt on various surfaces in the kitchen and the bathroom door which was filthy particularly around the handle - not so nice to see a large dark brown smudge of ?? there. Really shoddy cleaning.

The other difference at this Towneplace Suites is that cabinets and counters in the bathroom and kitchen are about the cheapest around. Normally they use granite counters but here it was some really cheap synthetic material and did not even look professionally installed. There was rotting areas along the edges in the bathroom from water damage. It gave the whole place a low end feeling. Yucky!

The furniture and carpeting though was the same stuff as at all Towneplace Suites.

They also cut corners in other ways. For instance normally at Towneplace Suites they provide a laundry basket in your room to carry your stuff around - not here, we had to carry our laundry in our suitecase. And usually they provide the laundry detergent for free, but here you have to buy it. Just more of a hassle.

I rely on Towneplace Suites for a certain standard of cleanliness, that's why we always stay there but I wouldn't stay here again at all. It was unpleasant.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — filthy
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank wendywendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Albany University Area
0.3 mi away
CrestHill Suites Albany
CrestHill Suites Albany
#23 of 50 in Albany
463 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Albany Thruway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Albany - SUNY
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
1.9 mi away
Residence Inn Albany Washington Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Albany University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Albany University Area

Property: TownePlace Suites Albany University Area
Address: 1379 Washington Ave, Albany, NY 12206-1009
Region: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Albany University Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TownePlace Suites by Marriott SUNY Albany hotel provides the perfect location when traveling to Albany for business, relocation, or pleasure. Our Albany hotel is central in the capital area and is only minutes to most everything. Conveniently located off I-87 and I-90, next to SUNY Albany and only minutes to shopping centers, downtown Albany and Albany International Airport. TownePlace Suites by Marriott Albany hotel offers uncomplicated living with your budget in mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your TownePlace Suites Albany University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites By Marriott Albany: Suny Hotel Albany
Albany Towneplace Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing