We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Value Priced Suite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Albany University Area
Ranked #27 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 September 2009

The rooms were clean but the furniture was a little abused. Our dining table was so shaky I was afraid my handicapped mother would fall if she leaned on it. The two bedroom suite was average. We all would have appreciated having two bathrooms in this two bedroom suite as we have had in other chain's two bedroom suites. There also was only a television in one of the two bedrooms of the suite. The breakfast area was small and could not seat all the guest who showed up for the breakfast buffet. My family and I had to get food and take it back to our rooms to eat. The breakfast buffet was average - nothing special with frozen french toast you had to toast yourself. They did have waffle machines. If you are looking for all the little extras or luxuries they are not here. If you are looking for clean, basic, value priced suites - that is what you will get.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pattilca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2009

We stayed in this hotel and loved it
Clean rooms - nice beds - lovely bathroom and friendly helpful staff.
Breakfast was good - and the young girl that cleaned up the breakfast
things was lovely and friendly (sorry didnt get her name).
Only thing was our Sat-Nav took us through a VERY seedy neighbourhood
- we were quite scared!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AUTISMSMITH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2009

A new hotel (about 9 months old as of this writing) near the Albany Medical Center, Townplace is an all-suite hotel, offering very reasonable prices for what you get: clean, large, two-room suites complete with full kitchen, two flat-screen TV's, King-size bed, and free breakfast. No luxury here-- no robes or fancy chocolates, no room service, etc., but what value! Staff was very friendly and helpful, as well.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MorrisDO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2009

Cashed in my points for a free 1 night stay. Got a nice room with sofabed on the first floor.

When the room next door, or may have been upstairs, used their shower, it was Very noisy. More so than normal.
Our bed was extremely soft and uncomfortable. For a relatively new place, the mattress felt 'old'.

Free computer in the lobby.
Free breakfast.
Outdoor pool.
Friendly front desk staff.
Free parking.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dhammer53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2009

Had a wonderful weekend in Albany and was completely satisfied with our stay over at the Marriott Towne Place Suites. We stayed in a Studio suite that was comfortable and clean.The staff was friendly and I would definately recommend to any couple or family for any visit to the Albany area.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2009

The rooms are smaller than the other Marriott properties, but offer more flexibility. I got a two bedroom, and for the price, you just can't beat it. The breakfast has enough options for everyone. With the kitchen in the room, you can cook a meal without any trouble. Friendly staff.

Beware Marriott Point Collectors - You only get 5 points / Dollar - But you save a lot of Money!

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank hotelsrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2008

The suites were very clean and presentable. This would be a good place to stay with a large family.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CindyKayeOklahoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Albany University Area
0.3 mi away
CrestHill Suites Albany
CrestHill Suites Albany
#18 of 50 in Albany
479 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Albany Thruway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown/Medical Center
1.9 mi away
Residence Inn Albany Washington Avenue
1.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Albany University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Albany University Area

Address: 1379 Washington Ave, Albany, NY 12206-1009
Region: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Price Range: £75 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Albany University Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TownePlace Suites by Marriott SUNY Albany hotel provides the perfect location when traveling to Albany for business, relocation, or pleasure. Our Albany hotel is central in the capital area and is only minutes to most everything. Conveniently located off I-87 and I-90, next to SUNY Albany and only minutes to shopping centers, downtown Albany and Albany International Airport. TownePlace Suites by Marriott Albany hotel offers uncomplicated living with your budget in mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your TownePlace Suites Albany University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites By Marriott Albany: Suny Hotel Albany
Albany Towneplace Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing