We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I won't stay anywhere else”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Albany University Area
Ranked #18 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
illidelphia
1 review
“I won't stay anywhere else”
Reviewed 21 March 2010

The suites are big I loved having my own bedroom and still being able to watch after my kids. I wouldn't travel at any other hotel in Albany, the price for the 2 room was less than other hotels for standard room with 2 beds that were right on the same road. It's a bit older but it works perfect for our family.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhillySteak1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TownePlaceSales, Front Office Manager at TownePlace Suites Albany University Area, responded to this review, 13 September 2010
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review about our property.

We hope to have you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    52
    25
    16
    4
See reviews for
75
21
6
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2010

My family stayed here for one night while visiting family in the area. The location was convenient to shopping and restaurants. We had reserved a 1 bedroom suite and the telephone in our 1st room had no dialtone. THey upgraded us to a 2 bedroom suite which worked perfectly for our family. The furnishings were not brand new but everything was in good shape and very clean. I will definately stay here next time we are in the area visiting.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meghan2601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auburn ny
Level Contributor
215 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2010

Stayed one night at the SUNY Albany location. No problems. Nice, clean facility. Pleasant staff, ample parking (shares space with Fairfield next door). We had a One Bedroom Suite which features Queen bed and a sofa bed (didn't use, but it would probably just about abut the queen bed if opened. Full (though small) kitchen, good-sized fridge. Room furnishings are on the inexpensive side, but every was clean and fairly new looking. Free Buffet breakfast was ample. Would definitely stay again at this location. We had our one yr old granddaughter with us and had plenty of extra room for her playpen.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kickerAuburnNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
102 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2009

The rooms were clean but the furniture was a little abused. Our dining table was so shaky I was afraid my handicapped mother would fall if she leaned on it. The two bedroom suite was average. We all would have appreciated having two bathrooms in this two bedroom suite as we have had in other chain's two bedroom suites. There also was only a television in one of the two bedrooms of the suite. The breakfast area was small and could not seat all the guest who showed up for the breakfast buffet. My family and I had to get food and take it back to our rooms to eat. The breakfast buffet was average - nothing special with frozen french toast you had to toast yourself. They did have waffle machines. If you are looking for all the little extras or luxuries they are not here. If you are looking for clean, basic, value priced suites - that is what you will get.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pattilca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SE LONDON
Level Contributor
104 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2009

We stayed in this hotel and loved it
Clean rooms - nice beds - lovely bathroom and friendly helpful staff.
Breakfast was good - and the young girl that cleaned up the breakfast
things was lovely and friendly (sorry didnt get her name).
Only thing was our Sat-Nav took us through a VERY seedy neighbourhood
- we were quite scared!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AUTISMSMITH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2009

A new hotel (about 9 months old as of this writing) near the Albany Medical Center, Townplace is an all-suite hotel, offering very reasonable prices for what you get: clean, large, two-room suites complete with full kitchen, two flat-screen TV's, King-size bed, and free breakfast. No luxury here-- no robes or fancy chocolates, no room service, etc., but what value! Staff was very friendly and helpful, as well.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MorrisDO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
89 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2009

Cashed in my points for a free 1 night stay. Got a nice room with sofabed on the first floor.

When the room next door, or may have been upstairs, used their shower, it was Very noisy. More so than normal.
Our bed was extremely soft and uncomfortable. For a relatively new place, the mattress felt 'old'.

Free computer in the lobby.
Free breakfast.
Outdoor pool.
Friendly front desk staff.
Free parking.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dhammer53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.3 mi away
CrestHill Suites Albany
CrestHill Suites Albany
#23 of 50 in Albany
444 reviews
1.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Albany University Area
0.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Albany Thruway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Albany University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Albany University Area

Property: TownePlace Suites Albany University Area
Address: 1379 Washington Ave, Albany, NY 12206-1009
Region: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Albany University Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TownePlace Suites by Marriott SUNY Albany hotel provides the perfect location when traveling to Albany for business, relocation, or pleasure. Our Albany hotel is central in the capital area and is only minutes to most everything. Conveniently located off I-87 and I-90, next to SUNY Albany and only minutes to shopping centers, downtown Albany and Albany International Airport. TownePlace Suites by Marriott Albany hotel offers uncomplicated living with your budget in mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your TownePlace Suites Albany University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites By Marriott Albany: Suny Hotel Albany
Albany Towneplace Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing