We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUTSTANDING service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown
Ranked #17 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“OUTSTANDING service!”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I recently brought a group of 13 people to Albany and stayed at the Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown for the first time. I have been making this trip each year always with a group of 12-20 people. From the very start my experience was a good one. I worked with the Director of Sales who assisted me with getting all paperwork in ahead of time so when we arrived we were checked in and on our way to our rooms in less than 10 minutes. Amazing.

Our rooms were all beautiful. The beds were great, all amenities that one could ask for were there.

The breakfast in the morning was memorable. Everyone was amazed at the variety of items and how delicious everything was.

We know where we will be staying in the future. We had no issues with parking, and if you have ever stayed in downtown Albany, that is no small fete. The hotel staff could not have been better. It was a great experience!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol R, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Sandra,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience with the hotel. It was a pleasure to work with you and I look forward to doing so again in the near future. Please feel free to contact me should you find yourself needing a place to stay here in Albany between now and then.

Safe and happy travels~
Carol Robinson
Director of Sales.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    172
    89
    40
    17
See reviews for
110
108
36
136
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at holiday inn express downtown Albany NY. Rose is an asset to your company. Since 4:30am this morning, February. 14, 2014, she did everything in her power to help us get to amtrak with the severe snow storm going on. I would like her supervisor to know this information because without her help we would have probably been stranded there. Rose Smith deserves so much credit and praise for her dedicated service in helping others!!! I will always ask for her when we go back!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank April509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol R, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear April509,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience here at the hotel We agree with your review, we are very lucky to have such a dedicated employee working with us. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future and your comments here have been shared with Rose and her supervisor.

Safe and happy travels~
Carol Robinson
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zillah, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

From the driver who picked us up, to Sam who checked us into this wonderful Holiday Inn Express experience, it has been an enjoyable experience. Mike was very helpful as our shuttle driver taking us to a local eatery for dinner. The hotel staff from house keeping to the staff who prepared breakfast were friendly and very helpful. Highly recommend this hotel for a short visit or longer vacation.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whistlepunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol R, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Whistlepunk,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience with the hotel and its staff. We are very fortunate to have Mike, Sam and other long term employees that work so well with each other and pride themselves on the job at hand. I will certainly pass along your feedback. we look forward to having you stay with us again the next time you are in Albany, NY.

Safe and happy travels~
Carol Robinson
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmer,Massachusetts
Level Contributor
110 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We recently stayed here while attending a concert at the Times Union Center. The rooms were adequate for a Holiday Inn X-Press, very clean, and the staff were attentive to our needs. They do have an indoor pool, plus a free continental breakfast, with a couple of hot items The BIG plus for us was the complimentary shuttle provided by the Hotel to our concert. The show was only 3 blocks away, but the night of the show was preceded by a snowstorm, and needless to say, the shuttle was invaluable. All in all, it was a nice getaway hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dziadzu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol R, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear dziadzu1,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience with you stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed yourself and we able to take advantage of our shuttle. We look forward to having you back as our guest the next time you need a stay in Albany, NY.

Safe and happy travels~
Carol Robinson
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Putnam Valley, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 December 2013

The staff was wonderful. They were more than helpful. My family and I have a Christmas tradition in Albany and always use this hotel. The location is wonderful. It is in walking distance to the show we went to and places to dine. Staff was very helpful with suggestions, etc.

Room Tip: Had a second floor room. Was very quiet. Room was nice size for a double and really large for a kin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theodora m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol R, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Theodora,

It was a pleasure to work with you and have you and your family as our guests. Thank you for taking the time to write us a review about your experience with us. I look forward to working with you again in the coming year. We hope you and your family have a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

Safe and happy travels~
Carol Robinson
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Location ideal for those with attending downtown meetings. Room was clean and comfortable.
Coffee maker needed to be changed , was dirty with old coffee stains. Need to ask for extra toiletries not enough provided. Breakfast not a great variety, was a bit disappointed. Holiday Inn members are usually given a welcome gift on arrival , here my sister had to ask , then only they offered the cookies.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chukki27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol R, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Chukki27,

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and thank you for taking the time to write us a review about your experience with us. All of your comments have been shared with the management team here. It is only through our guests honest feedback that we find ways to improve our customer service. We hope the next time you are in Albany you will stay with us again so you can see our improvements since your last stay with us.

Safe and happy travels~
Carol Robinson
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I've stayed here a few times visiting relatives. I might have rated it higher as the service is generally outstanding, but there were a few things in our last stay that bring it down to average. The place is clean and conveniently located. The block is sketchy and near a bus station, but it's also near downtown and the river-walk. There's a pool, exercise room, steam and sauna. The latest stay some of the equipment had issues. The televisions on the treadmills were broken and the bike didn't work. There are no free weights. On the good side, the room is open 24/7. The first room we were in had low water-pressure and the toilet didn't work well. They moved us on my request even bringing me the new key cards. The water pressure was better in the other room. My biggest gripe is with the breakfast. There was no fruit. None. Not even a lousy apple or a banana. The thing is, the hotel is located in the heart of New York apple country. Farm fresh apples are inexpensive around there. It would be great and local if they just had some real NY State apples, maybe even some local apple cider donuts? So I think it's the little things that make it average, rather than good or even great.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol R, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear MarionNYNY,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about tour recent stay with us. My sincerest apology to you for things not being to their usual standards here. We do have one treadmill that the television is not working on and we have called to have it serviced so hopefully this will not be an issue much longer. Our expectation is to have the other little things that you mentioned resolved, if they aren't already so the next time you are with us you will see our true level of service that you have had in the past. You are correct, the little things so make a difference. We look forward to having you back with us the next time you are in Albany.

Safe and Happy Travels~
Carol Robinson
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Albany Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hilton Albany
Hilton Albany
#16 of 50 in Albany
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany Medical Center
4.5 mi away
Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown
Address: 300 Broadway, Albany, NY 12207 (Formerly Red Carpet Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Albany-Downtown. Guests looking for a convenient downtown Albany hotel will find this Holiday Inn Express, located close to the Riverfront and the Empire Plaza, the ideal location. For doing business in town, our Albany downtown hotel is close to The Times Union Center, Albany Capital Center,The State Capitol, Empire State Plaza and the Port of Albany. Our courtesy shuttle runs from 7am-11pm Monday through Friday and can pick you up at the Rensselaer Amtrak Station or airport for free! We are easily accessible to I-90, NYS Thruway I-87 and I-787. We have the only free hotel parking in Downtown Albany. Leisure travelers will find our downtown Albany Hotel, with its historic downtown location, close to many major attractions. City Center tours, professional theatres, parks and the Hudson Riverfront are all just minutes from the Holiday Inn Express Albany-Downtown. Newly updated guest rooms and public spaces will make your stay memorable. With many restaurants within walking distance of our Albany hotel, you can have the choice of fine or casual dining. To stay in touch, our WIFI is throughout the Hotel and FREE. When you're looking for Albany lodging, stay with the Holiday Inn Express Albany-Downtown. Albany is a city with 400 years of history within your reach. Come experience the downtown difference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown Hotel Albany
Albany Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing