We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate for a quick night sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown
Ranked #15 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed in this hotel for one night when we were traveling across the East coast. The staff was very friendly. The room was clean with a comfortable bed, however the building is old and musty. It was a 5-10 minutes walk to some unique buildings but with one or two wrong turns, we felt like we were in a very uncertain neighborhood. The free breakfast was ok, nothing special. It is lacking of surrounding restaurants and we had to drive to find some dinner. If you need a convenient location for a one night stay it is ok, but wouldn't suggest staying otherwise.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol R, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Kyle C,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience here at the hotel. Please note that we do also offer a complimentary shuttle to our guests that can take you to and from local area restaurants, it is based upon availability.

We do pride ourselves on our staff, it is one of our most complimented areas in the hotel.

Safe and happy travels~
Carol Robinson
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (493)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

248 - 254 of 493 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

The best part of the 4-day stay was Brittany at the front desk. Super friendly and helpful. The room was clean - nice sheets and towels. But the location (between the bus depot and the freeway) left little to be desired. It's listed as convenient - true - you can get on the freeway to go anywhere - and you should. This is not the neighborhood to be walking in at night or on a weekend when there are very few people around. My biggest issue was the ipod dock/alarm clock which for some reason was set to go off every day at 7:30 am. I'm pretty tech-minded but I couldn't for the life of me figure out how to disarm the alarm so finally just unplugged it. Typical Holiday Inn Express breakfast. Why they charge you $20 for parking is beyond me - that should be standard with hotels like this. Never did use the pool although I saw lots of people in it. Indoor pools just don't do it for me.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the freeway, as high up as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoCalEncinitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear SoCalEncinitas,

Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review of our property. I am delighted to hear that you found our room clean and I am particularly appreciative of your comment about our front desk staff. It is always hugely motivating on our end to receive commendable feedback from our valued guests like you.

I am very sorry that you were dissatisfied by the in- room amenity. I have taken note of your comments and we will address these points to improve upon our service.

Thank you for your time and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again here in Albany.

Best Regards,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Located in downtown Albany right next to the Greyhound terminal, I found this a nice place to stay, but...

A charge of $5 plus tax was attached to my bill for self-parking outside the reception area under a canopy. The lobby was smallish, with no place to sit. My room was okay, but the window looked out on a Interstate ramp and nothing else. Noises were muted, but still, the outside scene was disconcerting. A free breakfast buffet was good consisting of eggs, bacon, sausage and plenty of donuts.

A major negative of this motel was there was no fridge as is common in most facilities. You had to rent a portable one, but the four days I as there, none were available. Good-bye to keeping insulin chilled or sodas cool.

All together, it was an adequate place to stay in downtown Albany, but...

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimAlbany_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Other reviewers have touched on what might turn off some travelers about this hotel -- a charm-free location in the shadow of the urban spaghetti of elevated highways, and a chlorine-y smell pervading the lobby area from the adjacent pool. But if you can look beyond these issues, the Holiday Inn Express is really a lovely little spot that does what it does very well, we found. The location is convenient. We were staying overnight for a road race, and found it easy to walk everywhere we needed to -- restaurants, the race, downtown attractions, etc. Our rooms were very comfortable, spacious, perfectly clean, and included everything we might need. Breakfast was ample and tasty. And best of all, to my mind, the front desk staff was good-natured, helpful, and friendly. For instance, we needed a last-minute adjustment of our rooms, and they quickly accommodated us with a room switch. We enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I found the Holiday Inn Express in downtown Albany to be a good find for an overnight or two, its location is close to all downtown restaurants, Amtrak, and the sports arena. The staff were all friendly and attentive. The room was clean and reasonably updated for the price. I found the shuttle very helpful, they allow up to a five mile destination, Sal my driver was very courteous and helpful in this regard. Overall an excellent experience and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Recently stayed at this hotel for a graduation weekend. The location was very convenient, right off the highway and walking distance to the Times Union Center. The staff was very nice and helpful, rooms were clean and spacious with a nice size bathroom. There is a pool right off the lobby with a severe chlorine smell that seems to permeate through the entire hotel. There is no bar or restaurant, but a complementary basic breakfast is provided. Plenty of parking provided for a small fee.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor to get away from the chlorine smell....it was still pretty strong on the seco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maryleb0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Maryleb0ne,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for leaving a review of the property. I am delighted to hear that the hotel's location is very convenient for your needs and that you found our rooms and hotel staff highly commendable.

On the other hand, please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience the chlorine smell may have caused you. We greatly appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Again, thank you and we hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to the Albany.

Best Regards,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We reserved a room with two queen beds for a one night stay while traveling with three adults. Arrived late due to stormy weather but had no issues with checkin. Desk staff was very helpful, we were graciously helped with our need for a mini-fridge and the assigned room was just as reserved. We found the room to be clean and all in good shape. Our stay was, as noted, just one night but we appreciated the staff's helpfulness, found the breakfast to be ready and well stocked, and the location great for us (problems with the downtown location noted by other reviewers were known, but we selected the downtown spot purposely and found it to be great).

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
5.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
0.4 mi away
Hilton Albany
Hilton Albany
#24 of 50 in Albany
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Albany Hotel
4.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
5.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Albany - Wolf Road (Airport)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown

Address: 300 Broadway, Albany, NY 12207 (Formerly Red Carpet Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Price Range: £76 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Albany-Downtown. Guests looking for a convenient downtown Albany hotel will find this Holiday Inn Express, located close to the Riverfront and the Empire Plaza, the ideal location. For doing business in town, our Albany downtown hotel is close to The Times Union Center, Albany Capital Center,The State Capitol, Empire State Plaza and the Port of Albany. Our courtesy shuttle runs from 7am-11pm Monday through Friday and can pick you up at the Rensselaer Amtrak Station or airport for free! We are easily accessible to I-90, NYS Thruway I-87 and I-787. We have the only free hotel parking in Downtown Albany. Leisure travelers will find our downtown Albany Hotel, with its historic downtown location, close to many major attractions. City Center tours, professional theatres, parks and the Hudson Riverfront are all just minutes from the Holiday Inn Express Albany-Downtown. Newly updated guest rooms and public spaces will make your stay memorable. With many restaurants within walking distance of our Albany hotel, you can have the choice of fine or casual dining. To stay in touch, our WIFI is throughout the Hotel and FREE. When you're looking for Albany lodging, stay with the Holiday Inn Express Albany-Downtown. Albany is a city with 400 years of history within your reach. Come experience the downtown difference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown Hotel Albany
Albany Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing