We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even with a few glitches, still excellent for the money!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 31 December 2013

As budget hotels go, this place is great. The staff is very professional and friendly. The breakfast is a couple of cuts above--with eggs and bacon and pancakes and everything else. The room was impeccably clean, and well appointed.The sofa bed was not made up, but they sent someone right away to do so. The comfort of the sofa bed was just okay, but sofa beds usually are. The bathroom was spacious and clean.
Only glitches: drain was stopped up, stopper didn't work so had to pull it out manually, and the shower curtain didn't block the water from going on the floor. I told the staff about these and they were very apologetic. Didn't tell them til next day (we only stayed one day), but I think if we would have told them earlier they would have fixed right away.
Other cool thing about this hotel is it's only one mile from the mall.

Room Tip: We always choose higher floor. It's much quieter than lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carefultraveler2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAlbany_NY, General Manager at Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

I wish we had the chance to fix those for you during your stay!! But thank you for your understanding and for such a lovely review.

Here at the Holiday Inn Inn Express our goal is to offer a quality stay at sensible pricing. In order to deliver value to our guests it is important to get it right for each one. Sometimes, it doesn't work perfectly. We really appreciate the fact that you let us know so we could make it right for the next person in that room.

I hope we get the chance to serve you again and to make it perfect this next time!

Hospitably yours,

Kathy Tabora
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (926)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

609 - 615 of 926 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2013

Thanks to previous TA reviewers. We found the hotel as good as reported. Friendly staff, both at check-in, morning greeting upon entering the lobby, and from the breakfast steward. Our room was very clean, comfortable, and quiet. We would happily return the next time we need a hotel in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oetbyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAlbany_NY, General Manager at Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you for adding to the reviews of our hotel! We are pleased to live up the expectations set by all of our reviewers.

We do hope to see you again in the future!

Hospitably yours,

Kathy Tabora
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

I have been there for one night week end, but sure sure I 'll return back there any time I go to Albany. very wonderful and helpful stuff. our room was spacious and very clean it smells freshness. the continental breakfast is good, every thing you need to start your day is there.as the hotel is non smoking , they have outside near the parking a beautiful place with chairs and tables for people who smoke or just to sit there and contemplate the trees around you.I saw a barbecue there but I don't know if customers could use it . It's close to malls . it 's a nice place to stay and recommend it strongly

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sally4get
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAlbany_NY, General Manager at Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

ooh! An opportunity to talk about our patio and grill! Thank you!!

Yes, our guests are welcome to use the outdoor grill at their convenience, weather permitting of course. :)

I recall one year when a lovely couple from Australia did shrimp and lobster out there. They paired it with some champagne..now that's grillin'!

Thank you very much for sharing your experience, we are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.

Hospitably yours,

Kathy Tabora
General Manager

.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We recently stayed at the Holiday Inn when visiting the University at Albany. The hotel was very conveniently located. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff was very accommodating. A great choice for any reason.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KnutsenNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAlbany_NY, General Manager at Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience here on Trip Advisor! I am blessed to have a staff that honestly wants to do their best whether it be keeping our free breakfast bar fresh and stocked or making sure the indoor pool is nice and toasty at 85 degrees.

A great staff and great guests! Lucky hotel!!

Hospitably yours,

Kathy Tabora
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Having a son in UA, I have stayed here quite a few times and thought it was time for another shout out about the staff. Upon arrival, during breakfast and even while departuring I was greeted by name! (nice touch) I was constantly asked how things were and if anything was needed, even late check out.. The breakfast gentleman was attentive and genuinely concerned that you were satisfied. The rooms as always were clean, quiet and well stocked with necessaties. Thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: I like rooms on 1st floor opposite side of check in counter, easy in/out access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAlbany_NY, General Manager at Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Thank you for posting again!! Jim has been helping us out at the breakfast while our Breakfast Bar Manager is away. He really has been doing a great job!!

We look forward to seeing you soon!

Hospitably yours,

Kathy Tabora
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Easy to find, clean and very avoidable. Clean rooms, friendly staff, convenient and pool. Who could ask for more? Rooms a little tight but manageable. Breakfast provided and basic.
Will return when staying in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeonardoG408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAlbany_NY, General Manager at Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Thank you for the review! We really appreciate your business and the extra time you took to share your experience.

Maybe next time we can get you into a King room, there is a little more space to be found in those.


Hospitably yours,

Kathy Tabora
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Staff was great! Jafar checked us in, very pleasant and accommodating.
We were in for a weekend of Lacrosse at Albany College.
We finished at 1pm on checkout day and they graciously extended our check out til 2pm.
Nice Pool, clean accommodations, pleasant staff and a complimentary breakfast with a clean dining area.
The college Lacrosse fields were less than a 5 minute drive down Western.
The Hotel is similar to most with its accommodations, but the staff and attention to detail (ex. cleanliness) separate it from the others.
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NUTN2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAlbany_NY, General Manager at Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Thank you!! Jafar has been with us for a very long time and is truly a wonderful member of our team. Not only does he do his job well, but his laugh is contagious!!

A great big thank you for sharing your experience, we know how busy everyone is and appreciate the time you took to post this. And you have caught on to our secret; we firmly believe that clean rooms and great service are what we need to focus on. Your are very right, it is the people that make the difference and enable us to be among the top!

Hospitably yours!!

Kathy Tabora
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albany hotels
2.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany
1.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Albany Thruway
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Albany - Wolf Road (Airport)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area

Address: 1442 Western Avenue, Albany, NY 12203
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Albany
#3 Family Hotel in Albany
#4 Best Value Hotel in Albany
#4 Business Hotel in Albany
#6 Romantic Hotel in Albany
Price Range: £95 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Albany, NY hotel that is as smart as you are. We built this hotel in the right location, outfitted our rooms with up-to-date amenities, and hired a staff that delivers award-winning service. All together we provide a fresh, clean, comfortable stay with solid value. We know how important it is to be in the right spot in upstate New York. Our suburban hotel is located within 1 mile of the University at Albany, College of St. Rose, and Albany NanoTech. With easy access to Routes 87 and 90, this Albany hotel is the smart spot for a rest during your trip from New York City, Boston, Montreal or Syracuse. Only 4 miles from downtown Albany, you can visit the New York State Capitol, Empire State Plaza and Times Union Center.The Hampton Inn Albany offers our guests beautifully appointed guest rooms that welcome them to a traditional space. We have created a friendly environment designed with our guests' needs in mind.ADA accessibility is important to us. Be sure to let us know your needs and we will provide the right accessible room choice for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Albany-Western Ave University Hotel Albany
Holiday Inn Albany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing