We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“UPDATE: Second stay, even better than the first!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We now consider the Holiday Inn Express Western Ave to be our go-to hotel when visiting family in Albany. This was our second visit to the hotel, and the experience was FAR better than our first. The service is first-rate: friendly, supportive and immediately responsive. We did not take advantage of the breakfast service, so that's no longer an issue for us. The location cannot be beat: anything you want from shopping, fine dining, quick meals, highway access and other amenities are within a very short drive from the hotel. In fact, some wonderful restaurants and coffee shops are DIRECTLY across Western Avenue from the hotel. (Not a walkable distance, but an easy drive.

The best news? It's QUIET! Given the central location, you might think noise would be an issue. The hotel is set back off the main road and nestle around residential neighborhoods and office parks. We did not hear a THING at night; you would have thought we were in the woods.

I just don't understand why this Holiday Inn is #2 among Albany area hotels. It should be #1.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ontheroadtoomuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAlbany_NY, General Manager at Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

We TOTALLY agree on the #1 thing and we are trying hard!! LOL ;)

Very happy to hear that this second trip was so much better than the first. The team here really does listen to our guests and when something is wrong, tries to make it right or when we get a great suggestion, seriously considers whether we can implement it.

Come the end of April we will have some new items on that Breakfast Bar...even more choices for our guests. The eggs will still be the same, real - still pre-cooked, and there will be a turkey sausage added to the hot offerings.

Also, if I didn't mention it last time.....the bagels are super yum from a local kosher bakery

Hospitably yours,

Kathy Tabora
General Manager


.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (907)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

580 - 586 of 907 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

Many Holiday Inns are tired looking rather smelly hotels. This one is super clean and "fresh" with an excellent breakfast. Only negative is the outdoor parking which in the winter can be a pain but staff says they clean off the cars. Staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mjekl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAlbany_NY, General Manager at Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience here on Trip Advisor.

Honest! We really do clean off the cars in the winter. It can definitely get ugly sometimes when the snow falls; this year I kept reminding myself of how much more I will appreciate the spring, summer and fall after making it through the polar vortex!! :)

At least the parking is all around the building so fairly close to every entrance!

Look forward to seeing you again.

Hospitably yours,

Kathy Tabora
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

We had a girls weekend in Albany and had no idea where to eat/drink, etc. The staff was incredible, the concierge, Tyler, Laurie and Jafar gave us great recommendations on restaurants and their overall attitude and personas were incredibly willing and eager to help us book reservations and find great spots. The cleaning staff was also extremely friendly and prompt with getting our room clean. We would highly recommend staying at this hotel. Thanks very much to the concierge!!! Keep it up you guys are great!!!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAlbany_NY, General Manager at Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience and for the compliments to Lori, Jafar and Tylor. The hotel team works very hard and, while they often get great comments, there isn't enough we can do to say thank you to them. When it comes form a guest, well, it just means even more!!

Hope to see you again soon!

Hospitably yours,

Kathy Tabora
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Hotel is clean and reasonably priced. Breakfast was good they always have fresh coffee in the lobby day or night. We especially would like to thank Lori and Kennette for all there kindness. They were a great help to us. I think the name was Mary in your dinning area even made a point of telling us hello at Cracker Barrel when we ate lunch there. She was always so friendly with a smile on her face as was Lori and Kennette . They never failed to say good morning or hello when they saw us. I will stay here on every trip to Albany just a great place and great people

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAlbany_NY, General Manager at Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Oh that was Cathy! She mentioned seeing you there! Those kinds of run-ins are always fun for us!
(secretly I've always thought she looked like a Mary btw!). And Lori and Kenette area valued part of our rock star team as well!!


Thank you sharing it online and we look forward to seeing you again.

Hospitably Yours,

Kathy Tabora
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

My husband and I stayed one night in a King Room with Sofabed, Fridge, Microwave and Coffee Maker. We found it to be very clean, modern and comfortable. At our request, they placed us at the far end of the hotel on the quietest side of the building. And indeed, we slept well and uninterruptedly. Located conveniently close to the expressway, SUNY Albany, College of Saint Rose, church, downtown restaurants and a shopping mall. I will look to stay here in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank df f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAlbany_NY, General Manager at Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience online. We truly do appreciate each and everyone of these.

Looking forward to seeing you again. If you have any suggestions on what we can do better, we are always looking to see what we can improve upon.


Hospitably yours,


Kathy Tabora
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

First visit to Albany, my stay was a great experience at this location. The staff were wonderful and especially Lori. She was extremely helpful and ensured our needs were met. I will always stay at this hotel and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AhmadFakih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAlbany_NY, General Manager at Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Thank you for the review. Lori works hard and in her heart truly wants to make sure everything goes well. She fits in great with our service philosophy!!

So happy she, and we, made your first trip to Albany pleasant!!


Hospitably yours,


Kathy Tabora
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We were coming from PA with a drive of just over 3 hours for a martial arts competition. Because of the recent snow (and snow-snow-snow), I waited until the last minute to book in case the tournament canceled. The competition was not canceled and I needed to find a nice hotel within a short distance of the venue and all for a good price. Your hotel price for the night was excellent compared to others in the area. It was very easy to get to, even for a directionally challenged person like myself. The hotel clerk was very nice and our room was great. The beds were very comfortable and being a light sleeper I appreciated the heavy blackout curtains. The hot continental breakfast was good and the pancake maker was pretty neat even for me. Our family had a great stay at the Holiday Inn Express Albany Western Ave University and will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phatbotum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAlbany_NY, General Manager at Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

I'm still looking at all that snow from the window!! Thank you for having chosen us for your visit to Albany.

That pancake machine is pretty neat! We've also got some new surprises coming for the free breakfast. Hopefully all will be in place by the end of April!!


Hospitably yours,

Kathy Tabora
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albany hotels
2.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany Medical Center
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Albany - Wolf Road (Airport)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area

Address: 1442 Western Avenue, Albany, NY 12203
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Albany
#3 Family Hotel in Albany
#4 Best Value Hotel in Albany
#4 Business Hotel in Albany
#6 Romantic Hotel in Albany
Price Range: £97 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Albany, NY hotel that is as smart as you are. We built this hotel in the right location, outfitted our rooms with up-to-date amenities, and hired a staff that delivers award-winning service. All together we provide a fresh, clean, comfortable stay with solid value. We know how important it is to be in the right spot in upstate New York. Our suburban hotel is located within 1 mile of the University at Albany, College of St. Rose, and Albany NanoTech. With easy access to Routes 87 and 90, this Albany hotel is the smart spot for a rest during your trip from New York City, Boston, Montreal or Syracuse. Only 4 miles from downtown Albany, you can visit the New York State Capitol, Empire State Plaza and Times Union Center.The Hampton Inn Albany offers our guests beautifully appointed guest rooms that welcome them to a traditional space. We have created a friendly environment designed with our guests' needs in mind.ADA accessibility is important to us. Be sure to let us know your needs and we will provide the right accessible room choice for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Albany-Western Ave University Hotel Albany
Holiday Inn Albany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing