We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 1 June 2014

All around great experience, room was clean, staff was really great. The location is also perfect, 15 mins from the Capitol district, 5 mins to mall shopping and right off of the interstate for wherever else you may want to go.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAlbany_NY, General Manager at Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

We love hearing reviews like this!!

Thank you very much

Hospitably yours,

Kathy Tabora
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (945)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

607 - 613 of 945 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Great place, clean, friendly and modeI will definitely recommend and visit again. All the staff where friendly. Only down side is that it is.slightly out of the way but is close to.a park and ride to make travelling to York easy

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Rosie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAlbany_NY, General Manager at Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience!!

Hospitably yours,

Kathy Tabora
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Stayed while visiting RPI. Stayed in a King Suite. Clean, comfortable and quiet. What you would expect from a HI Express. Wireless worked without a hitch on all devices. Breakfast was OK and plentiful. Coffee was good. Within walking distance to a couple of nice restaurants as well as a TGIF and Starbucks.
One thing - the oversized bed pillows were extremely soft and made like a head wrap. Ha-ha. Not a big deal but prefer firmer pillows. Folded them in half to prevent them from wrapping around my ears.
Overall a nice quiet stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RussRuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAlbany_NY, General Manager at Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Ergh!! Those pillows are not supposed the be like ear muffs!! Our Housekeeping Manager has checked all rooms to make sure that we caught any nor offering two Firm and two Soft. Sorry we let that slip by us!!

But thank you for sharing the experience and giving us a heads (so to speak) up!!


Hospitably yours,

Kathy Tabora
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Our last stop from our 10 days tour , like all of the holiday Express properties,we stayed ,the standards are higher then my expectation. Albany property, impressed us even more , free breakfast , free Shutle to town for late night dinner , staffs are so friendly . The only message to Albany property is , our room was smoke free room , had sign on it and every thing , but the room had very strong smoke smell. Other then that very happy with the stay .

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Davone70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAlbany_NY, General Manager at Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience. I am very sorry to hear that the room was smokey; we really need to do better on our end to catch that before we check anyone into those rooms! Sadly, even our $250 cleaning fee doesn't distract all rule breakers.

Personally, I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall. I was in Australia, (Melbourne in fact) back in 2000. It remains the #1 on my list of MOST hospitable locals I have ever encountered. Happy to have been able to pay that back - in a way.

Thank you again!

Hospitably yours,

Kathy Tabora
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Nice HI express. Clean. Reasonably new furnishings and trim. Nothing wrong but nothing special.

Breakfast set up and replenishment was quite nice. I liked the pancake machine. Good coffee too.

But it's a bit of a walk (2-4 blocks) in a not pedestrian friendly stretch of road to get a drink or something to eat. Fine in nice weather but a bit unpleasant in the rain or cold as the side walks from an earlier era will get you sprayed. So if you are foot mobile after coming in by cab, it's not ideal.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank LakeGastonRetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAlbany_NY, General Manager at Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am saddened to hear that we did not strike a perfect chord with you during your stay. I'd really love to get some specific input on what we could have done better. It is actually a goal of ours to to really try and make everyone's stay special. i can be reached directly at the hotel or here through tripadvisor, if you have time.

Next time you are in try west of the hotel. The side walks are new, wide and they have updated the crosswalk over to Stuyvesant Plaza, a boutique mall with upscale or unique shopping and food options from cafe style to full restaurant dining.

Thank you again for sharing; I really hope to hear back from you!!

Hospitably yours,

Kathy Tabora
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

After reading so many wonderful reviews we decided to give this property a try. We were not disappointed in the least albeit this would be a 3 star anywhere but Albany. The front desk staff is wonderful and very hard working. Cross training is evident as managers were seen stepping in to assist at this very busy property. All the staff in fact are very friendly! Our room was modern, very clean, functional, and with two soft and two firm pillows on each bed--a very nice touch. On the down side the mattress was too soft(I woke up with a back ache) and the toilet does not appear to be ADA height which many properties have adopted. The breakfast was adequate but unremarkable. There was a very nice selection of breads, several juices, several flavors of very good coffee, yogurt, hot and cold cereals etc. etc. but I did not see any fresh fruit and the cheese omelets are best avoided. Lets be fair--would we stay again--Yes, if we must stay in Albany for one or two evenings; No, if we must stay in Albany longer!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the rear and on an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAlbany_NY, General Manager at Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your experience and for recognizing how hard the team works! We are blessed to have such a great group of people that really do give it 150% day in and day out.

I am very sorry to hear that the beds were not to your taste. Next time please let us know, we do have bed boards that we can slide in to offer extra firmness.

Those cheese omelets are definitely subjective, we have guests who love them and others who opt for one of the many other offerings. We also do offer fresh fruit daily!!?? Apples, bananas, oranges and grapefruit are delivered twice weekly to ensure optimal freshness.

We hope we do get to see you again next time you take a jaunt south!!

Hospitably yours,

Kathy Tabora
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We were in Albany for the day, for a family Baptism, and unexpectedly had to stay overnight. We showed up at this hotel with no reservations and nothing but the dressy clothing on our backs. The front desk was wonderful. Got a comfortable room at a great price (although we would have preferred a little firmer bed), and the front desk clerk gave us all the complimentary toiletries we needed (toothbrushes, toothpaste, deodorant, combs, razor & shaving cream). They couldn't have been nicer or more concerned, asking us if everything was OK each time we passed the desk. The breakfast had good variety (fresh, fruit, yogurt, cheese omelets, sausage patties, pancakes, bagels, muffins, cinnamon buns, etc.) and "doggie bags" if you wanted to take breakfast on the run. Room and bathroom were very clean, with lots of towels, microwave, refrigerator and in-room safe. Would definitely stay there again on our next "unexpected overnight stay" in Albany. By the way, other relatives who stayed at another (unnamed), big-name suite-hotel nearby, for more money, and were "upgraded" to a 2-room suite, were very disappointed in their stay. Guess they too will be staying at the Holiday Inn Express Albany-Western on their next trip to Albany!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ebos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAlbany_NY, General Manager at Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

What a nice review, brought smiles to our faces!!!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, and for having chosen us in the first place! Your business s sincerely apprecaited. We are happy we could assist you with your unexpected overnight stay and that the toiletries came in handy!!

oh! and blessings for the baptism!!

Hospitably yours,


Kathy Tabora
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albany hotels
2.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany
1.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Albany Thruway
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Albany - Wolf Road (Airport)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area

Address: 1442 Western Avenue, Albany, NY 12203
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Albany
#3 Family Hotel in Albany
#4 Best Value Hotel in Albany
#4 Business Hotel in Albany
#6 Romantic Hotel in Albany
Price Range: £95 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Albany, NY hotel that is as smart as you are. We built this hotel in the right location, outfitted our rooms with up-to-date amenities, and hired a staff that delivers award-winning service. All together we provide a fresh, clean, comfortable stay with solid value. We know how important it is to be in the right spot in upstate New York. Our suburban hotel is located within 1 mile of the University at Albany, College of St. Rose, and Albany NanoTech. With easy access to Routes 87 and 90, this Albany hotel is the smart spot for a rest during your trip from New York City, Boston, Montreal or Syracuse. Only 4 miles from downtown Albany, you can visit the New York State Capitol, Empire State Plaza and Times Union Center.The Hampton Inn Albany offers our guests beautifully appointed guest rooms that welcome them to a traditional space. We have created a friendly environment designed with our guests' needs in mind.ADA accessibility is important to us. Be sure to let us know your needs and we will provide the right accessible room choice for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Albany-Western Ave University Hotel Albany
Holiday Inn Albany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing